We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We found the staff at this hotel to be very friendly and helpful,from the front desk, to the restaurant and housekeeping. We loved the balcony, and being central to everything,was a bonus.The buses,harbour tour boats and restaurants were very close by. I think the location is by far the best on the island. As for the cheeky chef.........................full of fun

Room Tip: Definitely go for a balcony room,the view is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    398
    244
    93
    75
See reviews for
130
502
94
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you need a cheap hotel to stay for a couple of nights this is the best choice. It is right across the bus stops in Sliema and the shopping streets.
The rooms are relatively clean but small and the bathrooms are old. But for this price you can't find anything better.
We only had breakfast so I can't really comment on the food quality - it was the same as other 3/4 star hotels. The restaurant has an amazing view.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deyan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We got an amazing room with a balcony facing the bay. The view from this balcony was spectacular. We could see Valletta from our room. We had breakfast in their penthouse room and the view there was even better. The breakfast was great. They had hot food as well as cold breakfast. We got a chance to take pictures from the balcony as well. The Hop on Hop off bus starts and ends right in front of the hotel across the street. The Sliema ferry also departs from the same location. There is a Burger King and McDonalds downstairs as well as an amazing Italian restaurant. The hotel recommended the Roma Hotel Restaurant for some authentic Maltese food and I tried Rabbit Stew for the first time and it was delicious. I would highly recommend the Sliema Marina Hotel to anyone on a trip to Malta.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed with a friend in Room 1022 for one week from 26th November to 3rd December 2013. I had been invited to a wedding of the son of friends who live in Malta.

I have stayed in this hotel previously with my Mum as I have been to Malta many times. It is of a very high standard and the staff led by Rita (Housekeeper) and her team were extremely helpful and friendly to us.

The hotel is in an excellent location in Sliema for shops, etc.

Room Tip: I have found all the rooms in this hotel very good and lovely and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had two rooms, the first night we stayed in a room to the back of the building, with no balcony - it was late when we arrived and we were disappointed. There was a false ceiling and the carpet seemed stained. There was a bad smell from the bathroom. In the morning it looked a little better, but there was still an undeniable smell from the bathroom. However it was a quiet room and the internet worked very well. We decided to upgrade, we moved to a room to the front with a sea view balcony. The view over the harbour was fantastic. The room was bright, airy and tiled and we were delighted to lose the carpet. The room was clean, the bathroom, while old was big with no smell. The linen and beds were clean and comfortable. The internet worked well for the first day but was a little patchy after that. When the poor Wifi was discussed with the desk, they promised it would be fixed, however the wifi did not return to a satisfactory level, it remained patchy and hit and miss. The cleaning staff in the hotel were very good and a great asset, rooms were cleaned to a high standard. We stayed in January and feel we got a good price an good value for our money. If you are afraid of small elevators your in trouble, I walked the stairs- all six flights a couple of time a day ! The hotel is central to all the shops, cafes and restaurants and is an excellent base for seeing Malta. There are a number of nice cafes directly under the hotel and a McDonalds. There is a gym accessible by day pass in the Fortina Hotel a short walk away, which is good relative to hotel gyms, a little old but has all the basic equipment, free weights and machines and the day price is reasonable. The boat to Valletta is in front of the hotel as are numerous bus stops. The promenade is across the road and you can have a lovely long walk in both directions. Would stay here again for the price we had, but would request the sea view.

Room Tip: Sea View is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabsCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

the hotel is newly renovated and you can tell. the décor is tacky (zebra? really? who green lighted THAT?) but not garish or over done.
The rooms are basic and clean. My room wasn't on the front viewing the bay. It was more like a closet. But you get what you pay for.
the free Wi-Fi is strong and fast. the new AC unit pumped out as much heat as I needed and my room was cleaned daily. I didn't get the breakfast...because with unlimited eating options near by who wants to be tied down?
The hotel lift is small and cozy. The front dsk staff is always friendly. Good hotel. Good price.

Room Tip: pay the extra and get the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TarheelFamily_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Silema Marina Hotel and it is a really nice hotel ,depending what room you are in .When we first arrived we were put in a small ,twin room with one small window which overlooked a building site.It was quite dark and was very noisy the following morning ,with drills and hammers starting at about 8.00am.We had requested a balcony but was told we had only booked an inland room so couldn't have one .The manager did say we could have a balcony within 2 days, at a small extra cost ,which is what we did .What a difference! The room was HUGE with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and the most fabulous view across Silema harbour and across to beautiful Valetta.
The manager,Pierre,and his staff are very polite and are keen to make your stay a pleasant one.
Silema is a shoppers paradise with all the high street names available ,which does make it more commercialised than we like ,but we did enjoy getting on the local buses ( 1.50 euro to travel all day!) and visiting all the historical attractions in Malta ,which was brilliant.The War Rooms in Valetta was interesting and the old capital of Medina is a must.
Night life is based round lots of Italian street cafes/bistro's, where pasta and pizza was the main foodstuffs .Some places sold rabbit dishes too. We ate mainly at the Tre Angeli ,which was on the front and had a wider choice on its menu. We enjoyed our stay at the Silema Marina and in Malta but probably wouldn't return as we have seen most of the island and it's sister island of Gozo.

Room Tip: A front room,with a balcony,overlooking Silema is a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#12 of 28 in Sliema
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Property: Sliema Marina Hotel
Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Lastminute, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing