We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, good location and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel is an ideal location near the ferry which goes to Valletta and the bus stops that go to Valletta, the ferry port and the airport. The staff were polite and the breakfast was okay. The rooms are basic though but for the price paid, they were adequate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Preeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

The room was quite small and had 2 small windows with the view on a wall, it was dark at all the hours of the day and we weren't even able to understand what was the weather from inside.
They provide only 1 single towel per person.
The beds were confortable, average quality of the furniture, the cleaning service was ok, the staff was kind and helpful.
If you want to go to Sliema the location of the hotel is excellent

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the side of the x10 (ex 310 410 etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxximo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've just returned from a four day group holiday in Sliema, for the Malta marathon. This hotel was chosen by our event organiser, due to it's great location - right at the finish line, and opposite the ferry to Valetta.
We all arrived early, so we're invited to leave our baggage at reception so we could have a wander about. When we checked-in, it was a smooth and friendly affair, with lots of smiles. Our room was on the sixth floor, so we headed for the lifts. If you've read anything about the lifts, you'll already know that they're very small, so definitely no fatties with huge cases! They work, but if you're able, the stairs may be a better option. Apart from after running a marathon....
Out room was large, airy, and clean, with lovely views across to Valetta. It was also quiet, with little traffic noise.
The breakfast room has stunning views over Sliema, and across to Valetta. The food was plentiful, and the staff cheery & helpful. A few of the group grumbled, because they expected a full English fry-up. If you want a greasy, fried brekkie - go to Benidorm or stay home!! There was fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal (coco-pops!!!), toast, fruit bread, eggs, cold meats, cheeses, and cake. I can recommend the Maltese Pudding!
The hotel opened the breakfast room at 5.30am on the day of the marathon, especially for the runners! This was greatly appreciated - many hotels refuse - and we were very grateful.
I would happily return here. It's a small hotel, and every single member of staff - from reception to cleaner - were so friendly. Nothing was too much trouble! The location is perfect if you want to go sight-seeing. It's not what I'd consider a 'beach' type resort. There are plenty of cafés, coffee bars & restaurants nearby. Go off the beaten track for family run restaurants - I recommend Ta' Kris.
Pay a few extra Euros for a sea-view - seeing Valetta at sunset is worth every penny :-)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great Hotel in central area in Sliema. The staff was very friendly and courteous at the same time. The location is brilliant; right in the middle of all the best shops & shopping centres. Would definitely be back again! Very nice view & equipped with all the essential needs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KBDeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were a party of 11 just having returned from a stay at the Sliema Marina Hotel. All of us without exception thought the hotel was great. It was terrific value and the staff were excellent. There was some confusion over breakfast vouchers and communication between reception and the breakfast room but this was sorted out with much hilarity between us.There was a wide choice at breakfast - continental and cooked and the view was fantastic. The rooms were very well furnished with comfortable beds and fantastic views over the promenade, harbour and the Valletta skyline. My balcony was large with table, chairs and sunbed.Towels were changed daily. Its situation is perfect for bars and restaurants and for transport links to Valletta and the rest of the island.The Valletta ferry, the Grand Harbour cruises, the Hop on/ Hop off buses and local buses are very close by. We would all most definitely return.

Room Tip: It is most definitely worth having a sea view room and higher up as there is some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This must be one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. No lounge, no bar, a restaurant that only opened for breakfast. We were allocated room 509. I do not believe that such a room would be allowed in the UK, as it would be condemned by the health authorities. I just do not believe the reviews that state what a great place this is. What a dump. See the photo of the view from our room. Avoid this doss hole.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. We did but none available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bill186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A wonderful hotel in a perfect location. Situated right on the seafront, this great value hotel looks across the harbour, and has an amazing view of Valletta. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Everything you could possibly need is on your doorstep. Shops, restaurants, bus stops, taxis, tour buses, boat tours, harbour cruises, you have the lot. On my next trip to Malta, this is where I will be staying. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the building have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#9 of 28 in Sliema
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: £31 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing