We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our room was horrible. the windowless room. Yes it had a window but all you could see out of it was a concrete wall that surrounded and could not see any natural light. The plug in the bathroom was broken and disgustingly dirty. We went up to the 'sun terrace' and games room which had a puddle of yellow liquid who knows what that was and in the games room was a pile of hundreds of broken chairs and sun loungers.
When we asked to change rooms as we were really not happy, they said they were fully booked, but when we on the internet we could book another room for that hotel it would let us, so were they fully booked?
The lift was also tiny, you could fit one person and one suitcase in it - just! I'm sure there are some lovely rooms in this hotel but I didn't see them, and would you book risking getting the room with the concrete room?
We check ourselves out and found other accomodation in a much nicer, friendlier hotel. They didn't even ask why were were checking out and we will be getting our money back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a window where you can get natural light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    398
    244
    93
    75
See reviews for
130
502
94
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is very central, and if your not looking for frills this is the place to stay. The staff are so helpful and courteous they made our stay. The breakfast room overlooks the marina and luckily we had sunny days to enjoy it. The breakfast was fine not what we were looking for but a good selection all the same. Plenty to do and see from here an ideal spot for a gang of friends looking for a clean place to stay at an affordable price. Recommended for those on a tight budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eibhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

we stayed in the Marina hotel for a week. The room was small but more than adequate. It was spotless and was serviced every day. We got fresh towels every day and the bed linen was changed after three days. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful and very quick to deal with a couple of minor problems we encountered. The location was ideal on the seafront overlooking the bay. It was central to restaurants and shops and handy for buses and the ferry to Valetta. Breakfast was served in the rooftop dining area and provided continental and conventional choices. Overall a very satisfying experience.

Room Tip: there is constant traffic at the front so ask for a rear are quieter but no sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastmickeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurgena, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We got a good deal with this hotel at €26 per night room only, we knew it was a small inside room but it was clean and fit for purpose free WiFi was a bonus.
You could not get a better location, lots of restaurants bars and shops with ferries and buses just over the road, and the staff were very friendly.
My only complaint would be the decision to allow a party of school children to stay, as 06:30 is a bit too early for a noisy wake up call and the corridors were regularly used as a playground.

Room Tip: Better rooms are available, bigger and with balconies, but we were happy with the price we paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcazares48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel was perfectly located for tourism. All of the tourist boats, ferries and hop-on-hop-off buses are located right across the street. There are several good restaurants nearby and shopping centers. The room was very basic and uncomfortable. Wi-fi was spotty. Breakfast was mediocre. But the wonderful view and location help to make up for these defficiencies.

Room Tip: You must have a room with a harbor view, otherwise there's no point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YukiValdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have spend a week in Marina Hotel with babies. We had nice rooms with see view. Only one thing was negativ. We arrived late with two babies (1 year old and an 8 mounthes) and were not allowed to go to the room while we had paid the rooms for the hole week. This was the first impression and it was very bad. And also the recepcionist was very rude, I asked him what if we do not like the room, or something? He said there was no other room anyway. If there were no children with us I would leave immediately.
Despite the incident the hotel was good. Clean rooms, average breakfast, and the staff was freandly. (I haven't seen the rude recepcionist again)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, we had harbour view, worth paying for, balcony, which was great for people watching, lovely views, just awesome! We were upgraded to superior twin room, had fridge (think superior do, not sure about others), free wifi in all rooms, lovely and clean (remember the age of Malta, not all things are going to be super modern). We loved this hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, especially the gentleman on arrival and each day. We required a doctor, they arranged, was very easy, lots of cafés and restaurants all around hotel, we were on 7th floor, still hear street noise but think it is impossible not to in Malta, and Sliema..... We were under breakfast room so lots of noise of chairs in the morning but we wanted to get up early anyways.... Approximately 10 minute walk to large shopping mall (The Point) with fairly big supermarket, but also lots of shops scattered around hotel. Post office 5 minutes walk. Boats and tour bus right outside inc hop on hop off buses and also local buses! Local bus €1.50 all day!! No laundry but told there is one not to far from hotel. Enjoyed our stay, highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AusTraveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#12 of 28 in Sliema
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Property: Sliema Marina Hotel
Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing