We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of Low Cost Holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware of Low Cost Holidays”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We prepaid for a balcony/seaview room with Low Cost Holidays. It was my husband's first visit to Malta and there is a wonderful view from the seaview/balcony rooms of this hotel. However on arrival we were allocated a small dark interior room facing a brick wall as the paperwork was incorrect. We arrived late and tired and the manager tried really hard to find us a seaview/balcony room, even phoning other hotels in the area but there was nothing available.
Low cost Holidays have been unapologetic and blamed a subcontractor for the error. We have been offered us £12.86 refund for the 2 nights stay despite the a world of difference between the 2 rooms. Why book a specific type of room if you can be treated like that?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Multicruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    389
    233
    89
    73
See reviews for
127
484
90
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our experience at this hotel was not the best....started our check-in by telling us we still owed over 800 Euros which needed to be paid before checking in to our room....I was surprised but not thinking straight after traveling (with husband and 2 teenagers) for over a day, and paid so that we could proceed to our room and some badly needed sleep.. However, when I e-mailed our travel agent to ask about it, was told that there was NO OUTSTANDING BALANCE!!!! Anyway, a local travel agent appeared early next morning and after an animated conversation with the manager, our money was refunded....but the question was "why were we asked for this in the first place?">>>>>never got a clear answer to this! Whole incident left a bad taste. Room was adequate and very nice view. Hotel very centrally situated. No frills, very basic, and breakfast just not worth the extra money. Could not even provide a bus map in the 12 days we were there. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryLou33990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Moret-sur-Loing, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It's just an OK hotel.

Location is good. Value for money is OK. You have a lot of restaurants, groceries, fast food places beside it.
But they have to change their linens, sheets, towels, etc. It's like all frayed.

Rooms look a bit empty, they need to put up more stuff.
Toilet is just ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vodkacran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in may for 5 nights. We had a standard room so basically a cell with no real light except for a small window in a shaft. Location was great. In hindsight we should have paid the extra for a sea view as we were there for 5 nights. If only around for a couple of nights then the standard room would be ok.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gemma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent 8 nights at this hotel early in May this year and were very pleased with our experience. As it was a late booking we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel but this suited us as it was very peaceful with no traffic noise. The air conditioning, was, unusually, very quiet at night and our sleep was never interrupted. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

The buffet breakfast was first class, with the bonus of wonderful views of Sliema Creek and Valletta from the terrace restaurant. The Marina is directly opposite the Sliema boat and ferry terminals and in the middle of a large number of pavement restaurants stretching along the promenade.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 163RAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The stay started with being put in an extremely small, dirty room with a window into a ventilation shaft. It smelled like McDonalds, due to the location between a McDonalds and a Burger King. Two of the group was placed in a room with only one bed, even if we booked the hotel 6 months in advance. They didn't have another room before the next day.. After a bit of a discussion, the manager could find another room, so that everyone recieved a bed each.
The staff was not very helpful, but the girls in the reception were quite pretty.
The breakfast was a tiny buffet, but the view from the 8th floor was perfect.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here, get a room with a sea view. It's the only good thing about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronsdal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is very central.Lots of restaurants both sides of the hotel.Our room was very spacious
and clean.we were on floor 7.which although you have views to die for,you are underneath the hotel restaurant,and it is very noisy from 6.30am onwards,with chairs and tables getting moved around for breakfasts.Staff were lovely and very helpfull,pleasant at all times.
Just dont reccomend floor 7.The scenery from the balcony fantastic.Malta definatly the place to go
especially,if you enjoy,history and architecture.

Room Tip: Trey floor 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridievanmoniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Property: Sliema Marina Hotel
Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing