We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Keep Coming Back”
Review of Plevna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plevna Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The service we experienced was second to none again.
Even when working flat-out the staff showed a caring calmness, especially at the beach club.
the hotel room was light and airy, and along with the hotel in general was very clean and decorous.
The hotel is very close to quality amenities and shopping, and very close to the sea. In fact just a short walk to the hotels sea-side Beach Club.
The Beach Club holds us in thrall and is so family friendly, as indeed is the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thermop7lae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramby, Director of Sales at Plevna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

When we first got to the hotel we were very disappointed with our room. The room was tiny and stuffy. The bathroom was equally small and the shower height could not be adjusted, this was ok for me but my boyfriend is 6 foot so it wasnt acceptable. We complained to the guy on reception who wrote down the complaint and said they would move us in the morning. The following morning the staff had no record of the complaint so we were told we had to spend another night in the room. Eventually we were moved to a different room which was miles better. It was spacious and had a decent shower. The hotel advertises having a pool but it actually doesnt. There is a lido on the seafront which guests can use but you have to pay 2.50 to use a sunbed for the day which is a bit of a rip off. Also the food at the lido is terrible! I wouldnt recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Duanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramby, Director of Sales at Plevna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear you did not like your first room and the food at the lido and that reception did not log your request. We have many rooms of different sizes and are usually happy to offer a room change when requested. The lido with a swimming pool on the seafront is owned by the hotel and all hotel guests are free to use it. Umbrellas and deckchairs are free and sunbeds are available at a small charge (sunbeds are included for guests on All Inclusive basis).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Hotel Plevna is a perfect hotel if you are looking to stay in Sliema...great location, lovely beach club by the sea and excellent value for money! Staff members are friendly, helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms with black furnitu
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hope033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramby, Director of Sales at Plevna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Thank you for your comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rooms with black furniture are recently refurbished superior rooms which are available at a supplement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

As per previous reviews we had problems with noise at night, particualrly from Italian students who thankfully left after our fourth night at the hotel. Website should mention that the hotel is used for these groups, so that this factor can be taken into account when deciding which hotel to book.
I had no complaints at all with my room, it was spacious, light, comfortable bed and very clean. My friend's room was smaller but perfectly acceptable.
Nearby building work spoiled time relaxing on roof terrace (but ongoing building is everywhere in Malta so this will affect lots of holidaymakers!)
Hotel very much in need of a facelife, it looks very tired. But couldn't fault the service, it was excellent. Breakfast was good for a three star hotel and the price we paid for rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoreenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

nice hotel very friendly staff clean well located.The bedrooms are slightly on the smmall side and the hotel is rather noisy .What we didnt know when we booked is that students stay there particularly this time of year on school trips and many of them have no consideration for fellow guests or the hotel staff.We had to complain to the management on more than one occasion as thhere were doors banging until 3am and shouting and running up and down theestairs .A lthough we had a good holiday I would nort stay there again due to the students

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzybWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Staff, with exception of reception, polite and helpful. No hot water for two days, bath/shower changover seized, very low water pressure in toilet. Overall appearance of room very run down. Requested and allocated change of room fine, but - traffic noise from road diversion ongoing excessive with only single glazed window. Influx of IEL students arrogant, rude and very very noisy - was wakened at 0230 by persistent hammering on the door and shouting (IEL students). Area very busy with building work and dust everywhere. This hotel would not be suitable for people seeking a quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessieAshwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I found the hotel staff here to be wonderful but in low season the hotel was being used as youth hostel for overseas school groups and the noise from these groups was a major issue for me. I would also point to the very small room sizes and poor bathrooms as another major factor in never wanting to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank omega65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,072 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#12 of 28 in Sliema
1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plevna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plevna Hotel

Address: Hughes Hallet Street, Sliema, Island of Malta 3143, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: £37 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plevna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL PLEVNA IS CLOSED FOR REFURBISHMENT UNTIL JULY 2018. We are re-branding, upgrading to 4* standards and re-naming the hotel. The new name is going to be: HOTEL 1926 Inspired by the life and passions of one man and featuring a touch of the roaring twenties, Hotel 1926 offers luxury rooms and suites (some with scenic views of Valletta) in the central city of Sliema. The hotel is located 200 metres from the seafront and also offers a splendid beach club on the water’s edge as well as a luxury SPA. This striking new establishment will open its doors in June 2018. Our concept of ‘Lean Luxury’ includes the following; - Luxury rooms at affordable prices - Uncomplicated comfort and a great sleep - Smart design technology - Raindance showerheads - Flat screens - Tablets - Self check in and check out (if desired) - Nespresso machines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Plevna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plevna Hotel Sliema
Plevna Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing