We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff”
Review of Plevna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plevna Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice staff”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We liked the hotel and staff, very central good buffet breakfast.The downside school kids large groups noisy and ringing the room telephones late at night also running about with little regard for guests.The room cleaning was good when our regular british cleaner was on but very slapdash when it was her day off.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123scottishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    282
    237
    100
    70
See reviews for
123
344
84
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

So accommodating and YuYang in the bar was great! She is an asset! So pleasant as is almost everyone in Malta. Pool season opens in May, but it did look nice, on the water and down the block from the hotel. Good location for the cruises around Malta, and a lot of nice restaurants in the walking area. Pleasant concrete walk along the water. Bring Sunscreen! Bright ! Good bus location and easy to connect...7 day ticket cost 12 euro...you can get almost everywhere on both islands...includes X bus's to airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nortonl157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
198 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The Plevna is a three star hotel with a five star staff, well located to access all travel requirements: restaurants, grocery, ATM, tours and tour destinations. The staff is English speaking, as indeed are nearly all Maltese. Two blocks from the seawall promenade the hotel is ideally situated to facilitate that evening stroll or morning jog. Three blocks in the opposite direction and one is in the harbour with access by passenger ferry to Valletta and the tours that reach all sites on Malta. The included breakfast buffet is a more than ample spread in the best Anglo-European tradition with the bonus of the bottomless cup of coffee, capuccino, or espresso. Rooms are basic - not large, not fancy - but include all the necessaries for a restful stay. Many have small balconies where one may sit overlooking the street. Maid service is daily, prompt and thorough. Dinner and lunch are also served in the dining room. The menu is a moderately priced, tasty fusion of Maltese-Italian-English cuisine. Other facilities include a full bar, a sitting lounge with large screen TV: CNN and BBC. There is another lounge on the second floor - providing coffee and tea troughout the day - adjacent a conference room. In summer there is a six floor roof top terrace. There is a small work station - two computers - adjacent reception and lobby. Wifi can be accessed from this area. The staff, from the manager to sevice personnel, repeatedly greet their guests, asking after their well-being in a most genuine and welcoming manner, and if you stay more than a day, you will feel that you have made some friends in Malta. The Plevna will be on my itinerary for my next stop in Malta.

Room Tip: Room 510, a double, is a corner room with two balconies, two freestanding wardrobes and a couch. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganZumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Booked Plevna via Mercury Direct, fairly low price, so not expecting too much.
We were on 5th floor..Problem number one, no hot water, Water in bath room never above luke warm. Only way to bath was to add hot kettles.
We were unfortunately near the lift, which are very noisy and wake me during the night.
Staff Friendly and helpful, but food very bland and often did not match menu
Bar very dull and unwelcoming, pain wooden tables, very little comfort. When we used it we were usually alone.One young ladt staff member helpful, but if not visible in bar, no way of calling for servoce.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to lifts, noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

kent, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were pleasantly surprised. Our bedroom & bathroom were both large, well furnished and clean. There was a modern Reception and Lounge which like all the hotel, was kept tidy. Food was cooked well, although maybe just a little bland, but with plenty of choice. We found all the staff friendly and helpful. We booked direct with the hotel and that was completed efficiently. In summary, whilst it wasn’t luxurious, it was nevertheless clean, with good accommodation and a very reasonable standard of catering.
The hotel is very conveniently situated in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the Sliema seafront, the shops, the ferry to Valletta, and the bus terminus.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoyvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the Plevna at the end of January and had an excellent time this is the tenth time we have stayed there. The rooms are comfortable and all the staff are most friendly. The breakfast is a buffet and you can have what you want. The head waiter Charles is most helpful and obliging. We will be going again next year

Room Tip: We always get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaltsTrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilrea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I spent 4 nights at Plevna and we paid 32 Euros per night for a double room. Whilst the hotel wasn't perfect at this price it was good value.

Starting with the negatives -;

The ensuite could have done with a very thorugh clean. However the room itself was clean and indeed was cleaned each day we were there. The shower which was located in the bath wasn't great.

We couldn't get the air conditioning in the room to work which meant the room was slightly cold at night.

As some previous reviewers have mentioned we could not get connected to the free wi fi in the reception area. However there were 2 computers in the reception area which we were able to access the internet on.

The juice at breakfast was strange tasting. Also breakfast ended at 9am which we thought was a bit early. However the breakfast in general was ok particularly bearing in mind the price we paid for our room. There was a choice of cereal, cold meat and cheese, a full English Breakfast and cakes.

The positives -:

The hotel is located only a couple of minutes walk from the sea front where there is a bus stop for buses to Valletta and the Airport. It is about a 5 minute walk to Sliema Ferries where one can get other buses to various loactions around the island as well as the ferry to Valletta. There are also various restaraunts and bars in this area.

Generally speaking the street where the hotel is located is quite quiet. However during our stay due to roadworks taking place some traffic appeared to be diverted up this road but in general there wasn't to much road noise in the rooms.

The staff were friendly and efficient.

All in all considering the price it is hard to be to critical of the hotel and indeed it could be described as good value for money. However if you want luxury then this hotel is probably not the one to choose.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plevna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plevna Hotel

Property: Plevna Hotel
Address: Hughes Hallet Street, Sliema, Island of Malta 3143, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plevna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly 3 star hotel situated in a residential area only 200m away from the sea and town centre where you will find shops, bus stop, restaurants and cafes. Hotel facilities include 24 hr reception, restaurant, the LeRoy Cafe and Bar, lounges, a conference room, 3 lifts, roof terrace and a beach club with swimming pool on the seafront (200m away from hotel and open from May to mid-Oct only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plevna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plevna Hotel Sliema
Plevna Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing