We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Plevna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plevna Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

The worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Blackpool b&b's at £25 per night are of a higher standard.

We stayed in room 518.

The furniture was very tired looking and the floor was worn away in parts.
The bathroom looked like a 70's reject, thankfully we showered before arriving at the hotel so were using it literally as somewhere to sleep after a night out in Sliema.
Would not recommend and would not stay there again.
The saving grace was breakfast, it was actually quite nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann-Marieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    287
    249
    102
    74
See reviews for
127
351
89
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Very pleasant and helpful staff who couldn't do enough for us; what they couldn't do was get rid of the large parties of school children which they seem to cater for; pity this is not more obvious when booking. So if you don't want to share your holiday with a load of hiyped up kids don't go there. The breakfast was good , tried the evening meal once it was cheap and pretty mediocre. We had quite a nice room in the end having surveyed half a dozen and with our earplugs we were able to sleep. The hotel is tired and could do with a good refurbishment, the staff are working under difficulties with various problems that crept up; they seem to accept these problems and deal with them very efficiently

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsd1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We liked the hotel and staff, very central good buffet breakfast.The downside school kids large groups noisy and ringing the room telephones late at night also running about with little regard for guests.The room cleaning was good when our regular british cleaner was on but very slapdash when it was her day off.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123scottishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

So accommodating and YuYang in the bar was great! She is an asset! So pleasant as is almost everyone in Malta. Pool season opens in May, but it did look nice, on the water and down the block from the hotel. Good location for the cruises around Malta, and a lot of nice restaurants in the walking area. Pleasant concrete walk along the water. Bring Sunscreen! Bright ! Good bus location and easy to connect...7 day ticket cost 12 euro...you can get almost everywhere on both islands...includes X bus's to airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nortonl157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The Plevna is a three star hotel with a five star staff, well located to access all travel requirements: restaurants, grocery, ATM, tours and tour destinations. The staff is English speaking, as indeed are nearly all Maltese. Two blocks from the seawall promenade the hotel is ideally situated to facilitate that evening stroll or morning jog. Three blocks in the opposite direction and one is in the harbour with access by passenger ferry to Valletta and the tours that reach all sites on Malta. The included breakfast buffet is a more than ample spread in the best Anglo-European tradition with the bonus of the bottomless cup of coffee, capuccino, or espresso. Rooms are basic - not large, not fancy - but include all the necessaries for a restful stay. Many have small balconies where one may sit overlooking the street. Maid service is daily, prompt and thorough. Dinner and lunch are also served in the dining room. The menu is a moderately priced, tasty fusion of Maltese-Italian-English cuisine. Other facilities include a full bar, a sitting lounge with large screen TV: CNN and BBC. There is another lounge on the second floor - providing coffee and tea troughout the day - adjacent a conference room. In summer there is a six floor roof top terrace. There is a small work station - two computers - adjacent reception and lobby. Wifi can be accessed from this area. The staff, from the manager to sevice personnel, repeatedly greet their guests, asking after their well-being in a most genuine and welcoming manner, and if you stay more than a day, you will feel that you have made some friends in Malta. The Plevna will be on my itinerary for my next stop in Malta.

Room Tip: Room 510, a double, is a corner room with two balconies, two freestanding wardrobes and a couch. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganZumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Booked Plevna via Mercury Direct, fairly low price, so not expecting too much.
We were on 5th floor..Problem number one, no hot water, Water in bath room never above luke warm. Only way to bath was to add hot kettles.
We were unfortunately near the lift, which are very noisy and wake me during the night.
Staff Friendly and helpful, but food very bland and often did not match menu
Bar very dull and unwelcoming, pain wooden tables, very little comfort. When we used it we were usually alone.One young ladt staff member helpful, but if not visible in bar, no way of calling for servoce.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to lifts, noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were pleasantly surprised. Our bedroom & bathroom were both large, well furnished and clean. There was a modern Reception and Lounge which like all the hotel, was kept tidy. Food was cooked well, although maybe just a little bland, but with plenty of choice. We found all the staff friendly and helpful. We booked direct with the hotel and that was completed efficiently. In summary, whilst it wasn’t luxurious, it was nevertheless clean, with good accommodation and a very reasonable standard of catering.
The hotel is very conveniently situated in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the Sliema seafront, the shops, the ferry to Valletta, and the bus terminus.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoyvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.6 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#13 of 28 in Sliema
967 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plevna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plevna Hotel

Property: Plevna Hotel
Address: Hughes Hallet Street, Sliema, Island of Malta 3143, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plevna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly 3 star hotel situated in a residential area only 200m away from the sea and town centre where you will find shops, bus stop, restaurants and cafes. Hotel facilities include 24 hr reception, restaurant, the LeRoy Cafe and Bar, lounges, a conference room, 3 lifts, roof terrace and a beach club with swimming pool on the seafront (200m away from hotel and open from May to mid-Oct only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Plevna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plevna Hotel Sliema
Plevna Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing