We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Plevna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plevna Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Chorzow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent lovely week in this brilliant hotel. It’s great value for money and we will always recommend that hotel to our friends. The rooms are very nice and cozy, with completely new TVs and satellite system, so we even had one Polish channel. The location is perfect, close to the center, bus stations, ferry to Valletta etc. The staff is very helpful and friendly, you will feel like at home at Hotel Plevna Breakfast is included and it’s better than in number of 4 stars hotels we have been to before. They have lots of choices of food, both the continental and the cooked breakfast, lots choices of bread (recommend the Maltese bread!), yogurts, fresh cake, croissants, fruits etc. etc.. The reception is open 24h, you can easily get all the information about the hotel, the trips, everything you need. I’m sure that if we go again to Malta, we will stay in this hotel! Best regards for the amazing staff! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celina1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    282
    237
    100
    70
See reviews for
123
344
84
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The photos of this hotel looked really pretty. Actually, after booking a room I viewed the lobby which was modern with a lovely Christmas tree on view. The location was also close to the sea front and quite convenient for our needs.

What I was shocked about was the way keys were issued. The staff were at best managing guests like room mates in a prison to keep the hotel secure or at worst cold, rude and unfriendly. Every time you stepped out you had to surrender your room key and on returning you would be subjected to scrutiny to who you were and what you and any friends were doing (even though we were dressed smartly and looked to an old Granny on the street like respectable nice people). Maybe families would not be bothered by this manner but if you are a single person considering the possibility of bringing a date to your room or wanting to bring your friend back over whilst you get changed - think again as all eyes will be watching YOU!

The hotel says it is for the SECURITY. I say it is out-dated and primitive and not a system I have witnessed when travelling around the EU. Let us put this in to context this is SAFE, friendly Malta and not a country under attack from terrorism! Also to feel your every move is watched and staff have it acknowledged the next day that staff knew you had brought a pizza back to your room is kind of creepy!

What the hotel needs is an upgrade to the room doors and maybe the introduction of a pass key system. It also needs to learn to respect it's guests privacy unless they cause them some concern.

Also talking of upgrades the rooms are borderline in need of a little love and care. YES, they are showing signs of wear which I could easily have overlooked IF I had received a more welcoming service from the front desk each time my friend and I returned to the hotel.

In short it is a budget "NO FRILLS" hotel at a reasonable price but the service or "security" makes it very unwelcoming!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryse A, Director of Sales at Plevna Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel as well as our lobby area. We were very surprised to hear that you found our staff unfriendly. They were only doing their job by ensuring that no unregistered guests were allowed in rooms. For security and safety reasons ( as in the case of a fire) a hotel needs to know the names and number of persons in each room in order to ensure a proper evacuation of the premises. We also ask guests for their name or hotel key card before handing out rooms keys in order to ensure that the right key is given to the right guest. (Some guests mix up their room numbers and so ask for the wrong key) We are sorry if you and your friend found this to be an invasion of your privacy. We find that most of our guests appreciate the extra security.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

the best hotel we have stayed in for a long time .. very, clean friendly . . on top of all the shops and busses .staff couldn't have been nicer or friendlier .nothing was to much trouble for them ..would defiantly be our first choice .when returning .to Malta ..with out a doubt ...on the down side the bar was a bit on the slow side . but the bar staff still done a good job ...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullseye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb County, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Dirty curtains in room, floors could be more clean, smallest tv screen I've ever seen, dangerous power plugins that need to be fixed.
On the other hand good breakfast and excellent staff and service.

Perfect position for browsing around Malta

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryse A, Director of Sales at Plevna Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and praised our staff and level of service. On the other hand, we apologise if there was a problem with your curtain. Our rooms are checked before each arrival and we shall ensure that checking is improved. We have just installed flat screen TVs with a new satellite system in all our rooms and we are always striving to improve our repairs and maintenance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead Norreys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I spent the month of November 2013 at the Plevna. Out of several hotels I had previously stayed at in Malta (5-star, 4-star & 3-star), it proved to be by far the best in most aspects. The hotel is a few metres from the seafront, and has its own beach. It is conveniently located near Tigne Point, Malta's newest and largest shopping mall. It is also within easy reach of Valletta; bus or ferry.

The hotel is reasonably priced; excellent English/continental breakfast, TV, fridge and internet + WiFi - all at no extra cost. Management & staff were cheerful & helpful. I asked several locals in the hospitality business about the hotel, all of whom confirmed that it had a good reputation.
AG Formosa, London

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ALAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Nice cozy rooms, with suitable amenities. Good enough place for the price. Almost at sea front, n just 5 mins walk to the great shopping area of Sliema. Best thing was the proximity of an HSBC ATM which could easily convert my US $ into euro at any time of the day or night :) Being a vegetarian, I guess I should skip about commenting on the restaurant in Plevna. Seemed just like any other B&B that I've been to in Scotland and Europe previously. Though my stay was good, heard a cpl of guests hollering about showers not working etc etc etc ;) Overall, a good place and lovely location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryse A, Director of Sales at Plevna Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would just like to reassure you that any small problems with the showers in a couple of our rooms have now been resolved,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Had a great time in Malta staying at the Plevna hotel. Food was great and this was the first time we had ever gone all inclusive. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we met and we will certainly stay here again. Thanks

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plevna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plevna Hotel

Property: Plevna Hotel
Address: Hughes Hallet Street, Sliema, Island of Malta 3143, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plevna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly 3 star hotel situated in a residential area only 200m away from the sea and town centre where you will find shops, bus stop, restaurants and cafes. Hotel facilities include 24 hr reception, restaurant, the LeRoy Cafe and Bar, lounges, a conference room, 3 lifts, roof terrace and a beach club with swimming pool on the seafront (200m away from hotel and open from May to mid-Oct only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plevna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plevna Hotel Sliema
Plevna Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing