We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Break at the Plevna”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Plevna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plevna Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Winter Break at the Plevna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at the Plevna Hotel at the end of January 2014. It was quite central to Sliema and could get to either the harbour or the promenade within 5/10 minutes, all depends on how fast you can walk. The room was clean and room service came in everyday to make sure everything was in order. Food was only average and I think that if you spent more than one week there, you would have the same menu every week. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You need to upgrade from their standard room as they are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    276
    227
    99
    68
See reviews for
117
341
78
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Plevna hotel is very good value for price. Rooms were clean, room service checks them every day. Staff is very friendly and ready to help you with any request. We really enjoyed our holiday. Bar could be open longer hours, so all inclusive guest can enjoy their time more, but all the rest was great.

Room Tip: Lower floors are more quiet. View probably nicer upstairs, but if you don't want room next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Koshka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Plevna in march 2013.We booked two weeks all inclusive and what a con that was. The bar was closed in the afternoons so we were unable to utilise the all inclusive deal. There was a small room where there was a drinks machine and a plate of cake but as this was available to everyone what were we getting for the extra money we had paid. At breakfast time we were asked to order our lunch but as we didn't want to have to come back to the hotel if we were doing something we missed out on that part of the deal as well. The other thing that spoilt our holiday was the fact that the hotel was full of students. At one time there were over 100 of them and they were so noisy you couldn't hear yourself think. Darren the manger was very nice but when we complained about the noise nothing was done. I had to get up after midnight one night because the students were running and yelling along the corridor. all in all we didn't enjoy our holiday at all. We are going back this year as we like Malta but we certainly would never go back to the Plevna.

Room Tip: my tip is don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marianne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryse A, Director of Sales at Plevna Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you liked Malta but we are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay in March 2013. Our All Inclusive package includes limited bar hours and drinks are available during lunch time and all evening during the winter season. In Summer drinks are available all day at the Beach Club and all evening in the hotel bar. Guests are asked whether they will be having lunch at the hotel or whether they prefer a packed lunch to take with them. so that they never have to miss a meal. All our guests have tea / coffee making facilities in their room and supplies are replenished daily. This information about our All Inclusive package is available to guests when they are booking. Our hotel accommodates various guests of different age groups and nationalities and we do our best to ensure that guests are not disturbed by other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

For the price I got, this hotel far exceeded my expectations. Great location, friendly staff and good connections. Whenever reported of minor faults, they were tended quickly. Highly recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank Kartyk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Got back 3 days ago from a week at the Plevna. I chose this hotel after reading hundreds of reviews for Hotels in different parts of Malta, seeing as we were in malta the same time last year and had a dreadful experience at a different Hotel.
I have to say.... We loved it here. Sure the outside could do with a lick of paint, but that just adds to the charm, and Malta still has that old look of the war torn 40's in many respects, that's why we love it there, unspoilt.
We had room 406, which is larger than most, and was kept immaculate by housekeeping. The staff really are friendly, and this comes out in most of the reviews you read. The Manager is always around, especially at meal times, it's important to him and his team that you are happy, this definitely shows in their attitude towards things.
Being an ex chef, I love food, and the food gets a big thumbs up from me, it was delicious. Even though the names of dishes may sound familiar, they come out completely different, definitely a Maltese version of it, and I loved that.
The Hotel is in a side street, but literally 2 minutes walk to the busy sea front and it's masses of shops and restaurants, it really is in a great location.
Be warned though, that in low season the restaurant closes at 8pm, and 8.30pm in peak season, this may seem very early to us, but works fine in reality unless you are half, full board or all inclusive and arrive after 8pm like we did. I think in this instance guests should at least be offered a sandwich, we have paid for it, afterall. But I still give this Hotel full marks, simply because they try so hard to make your stay a pleasant one, and that is what is great about the Plevna.
Book it, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lornasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable with air conditioning/heating. I had a balcony overlooking the street but had a view of the sea from the side of the balcony.The food on the menu is tasty and varied. I have problems eating due to having had mouth cancer but the chef prepared my food for me and nothing was too much trouble for him. The hotel's location is very close to the waterfront and a bus stop for buses to the capital and other places. There is however a short uphill walk from the waterfront to the hotel. Also, it's not too far to walk to the Sliema Ferry and Malta's largest shopping center, ''The Point.''
On the whole, a nice family hotel and great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms air conditioned, helpful in Summer. My room had patio doors onto a balcony and a view along th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Worst hotel ever ! The rooms are small and dark, the food is absolutely disgusting (don't take all inclusive packet!!), the staff is not great at all. The restaurant is also very dark and the music reminds the music of a funeral. The water in the pool is the water from the sea, the sun beds are very very old.
Not suitable at all for young people, no atmosphere at all.
But above all, we found a cockroach in our room! We immediately called the reception to ask for changing the room, the receptionist was laughing and we were told that they couldn't do anything.
I was shocked. I am working in a hotel for more than one year and I know customer service very well and it's not an appropriate way to welcome guest.
Lifts weren't working 80% of time. Very nice when you have a room on the 4th floor.
The only good thing is the hall design.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryse A, Director of Sales at Plevna Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you liked our lobby area. We are sorry that the rest of your stay did not meet your expectations. As can be seen from other reviews the friendliness of our staff is usually highly appreciated by our guests. We have several room types ( some with balcony) and sizes depending on price, whilst we take pride in our menus and food preparation and are sorry to hear that it was not too your liking. Our pool is always freshly filled with seawater as are all pools by the sea as required by law. Our hotel undergoes regular maintenance by a pest control company but, as in all hot countries, insects can fly in through open windows. We would like to invite you to write to us directly on admin@roosendaal.com.mt to give us further details about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plevna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plevna Hotel

Property: Plevna Hotel
Address: Hughes Hallet Street, Sliema, Island of Malta 3143, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plevna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly 3 star hotel situated in a residential area only 200m away from the sea and town centre where you will find shops, bus stop, restaurants and cafes. Hotel facilities include 24 hr reception, restaurant, the LeRoy Cafe and Bar, lounges, a conference room, 3 lifts, roof terrace and a beach club with swimming pool on the seafront (200m away from hotel and open from May to mid-Oct only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plevna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plevna Hotel Sliema
Plevna Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing