We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings about stay at hotel”
Review of Plevna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plevna Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings about stay at hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked this hotel because of location and were not expecting high quality because of the three star rating it had. Our stay was very mixed - firstly when we arrived we were given a card and informed that we were booked in as B&B guests. We informed them that we had booked as Full Board and gave them the detials, they rectified this immediately without question. We cannot fault either the friendliness of the staff, nor indeed our maid Valerie who looked after us very well during our stay, what we can fault is our room. We didn't complain as having read other reviews from others knew that we would have been given a similar room in replacement (if indeed there was one available), but must say that the room itself does need some real TLC to make it "safe" to stay in. The entrance door looked like someone had to break out of it at some point and was held together top and bottom with a wooden bar, the bathroom towel holder had several layers of sellotape on the end of it to hold it in its hole, the shower curtain rail was suspended by a piece of wire and the patio door would not lock due to the lock mechanism being broken. That having said the bed was comfortable and the room (thanks again to Valerie) was kept very clean. We found a few issues with communication between ourselves and some of the waiting on staff, and found that on most occasions had to repeat our room number 3 times before it was fully recognised. The choice of food at meal times was acceptable, but not always as hot as one would expect. One annoying thing was that on occasions our plates were whisked away so fast, we hardly had time to place our cutlery on the finished plate before it disappeared before our eyes! Would like to commend Julie on her service in particular, she always knew what we wanted without having to ask. So overall, we can give most of the staff 10 out of 10 for friendliness and helpfulness, but please please do some serious renovations within the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dartincaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryse A, Director of Sales at Plevna Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear that you were happy with our friendly staff, restaurant service and level of cleanliness. We are however sorry that you had some maintenance issues in your room. Our rooms are usually well checked on arrival and we shall ensure that our staff are trained further so that similar problems are not overlooked next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    276
    229
    100
    69
See reviews for
118
342
79
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The reception gives a false first impression. The rest of the hotel is run down and in major need of redecorating. Our first room was so out of date it didn't look that clean the bathroom wasn't clean, we found hairs all around the bath and shower and the toilet smelt badly of urine. The tiles and sink were all cracked. Although the receptionist at the time we complained looked annoyed by our complaint they did get the bathroom re-cleaned within a couple of hours. Breakfast wasn't worth while the cooked stuff didn't look appetising at all as it had sat there for a while before we got to breakfast. On the 3rd morning we woke up to find a cockroach in the room which was utterly disgusting. The staff were apologetic and we were moved to a better room within a few hours. The second room was better however a couple of times the bed sheets they put on weren't clean so we had to get them re-changed. It was quite noisy on a couple of nights and most mornings so you couldn't have a lay in if you wanted. The hotel staff were sometimes friendly and helpful but not always. The website says there are Chinese and Indian restaurants within a short walk, this isn't true, it's more like half hour to 45 mins if you can find them. The pool isn't always open it depends on the weather and there is no decent or hot food being sold there. I would definitely visit malta again but would never stay at this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank _l-Cassie-_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryse A, Director of Sales at Plevna Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are glad that you found our staff friendly. We are constantly refurbishing different areas of the hotel. The foyer / lobby are the most recent, together with a new lift. We also refurbish a number of rooms every year. We feel that we have an excellent buffet breakfast for a 3 star hotel. This is always included in our prices and offers very good value. We have regular preventive maintenance for pest control. However in hot countries, insects can fly in through open windows. Our Beach Club is open from May to mid-Oct and is only closed when there is bad weather or storm damage. Snacks are offered throughout the season with a full lunch being served from end June to mid Sept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We needed a room for one night and this was a great find in Sliema. So much so that we will come again and stay for a week or so. Well located for buses or the nearby ferries to Valetta or the Grand Harbour itself. We cannot fault the accommodation and staff service. Certainly one of the most comfortable beds we have encountered for a while. Amazing choice for the breakfast that was included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hancockmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms in this hotel were certainly of a better standard than I expected based upon price. These were very well cleaned each day too.

Also pool area / lido sets it apart from all but most expensive hotels.

Staff service was extremely variable. French trainees were on deck while I stayed. This led to annoyances like the afternoon manager taking my room number down incorrectly - resulting in overnight guy not allowing me to take morning booked taxi as name did not match.

I didn't eat there or stay all inclusive - considering the quality and low cost of Maltese food, this seems a saving too far! And the hotel in located in the second biggest tourist part of the country, with lots of choice.

Would I stay again? Good value rooms vs indifferent service. Ok, it will be on my list if budget remains the same; but I hope to discover something better .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p_mcgough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was one of many mature students from Coventry university attending a convention (group booking) who felt disappointed when staying at our hotel. The lift continuously broke down with people stuck inside, the plug sockets in the rooms had twin plugs inserted into triple pin, double rooms had three and four single beds crammed together accommodating adults who were unfamiliar with each other, no room around the beds all sharing the one bathroom, wardrobe and chest of draws. Bathroom would flood every time you had a shower, and the shower head broke in my hand when I first used it. Balcony doors if you were lucky enough to have them were locked, air conditioning was hit and miss and there was only one door key per room which was awkward at times. Unless you were all inclusive you could only get a drink (I'm talking a cuppa, not alcohol) during restaurant times, if open! They wouldn't let me buy a drink, told me to go along the sea front for one! People tried to change rooms every day but were told to come back the next day when they 'may' have a spare room, one became available on the very last night. Swimming pool is across the road. Furniture in the lounge on the reception floor is rickety/broken, cheap and nasty. Basically apart from the first floor it could do with a revamp. Will not be returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
289 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I really would have liked to have given this hotel a better rating but there were problems that tainted our stay last week.
Its a convenient location, friendly and efficient staff and the rooms are comfy and cleaned and tidied every day to a very good standard, surprisingly we found the beds really comfportable.
The Lido area is good, very clean and tidy with a good selection of drinks and snacks.
Now the problems:
1...Is it a hotel or a school hostel? We were in between some Italian school kids who really should have been kpet in Italy! Noisy,doors slamming right left and centre, running up and down the corridors and pig ignorant! We couldnt believe our first evening when one of their female teachers or supervisors went ballistic, screaming and yelling for over almost an hour!
2...Breakfast is adequate but the cooked food is disappointing, we survived but it really ought to be a better standard, great coffee and fruit juice though!
3...Roof terrace...What a waste1 Could be a nice place to rellax with a drink but it needs some TLC, perhaps it just doesnt warrant it but it has potential if only?

You get what you pay for and to be fair the price was good and we would probably go back again if we were to visit Malta again but would check on school attendances first, the Italians moved on afetr a few days and the french moved in who to be fair were fine.

Room Tip: Ask to be located away from the school groups not in between them, apparently they do take a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digipicsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed in Plevna for one night. Fortunately we did not book more nights in this hotel. Large group of Italian school children running and shouting around. This was very disturbing and the hotel staff did nothing to keep them quiet. After checking into our room we immediately requested for another room because of the noise, however we were told that that was not possible. As a result we did not sleep at all: pupils screaming and running up and down the stairs right in front of our room. I called the reception and was truly shocked when the guy told me there was nothing he could do and that we had to wait for them to be checked out. Unbelievable. This hotel is not even worth a one-star rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NATLHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plevna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plevna Hotel

Property: Plevna Hotel
Address: Hughes Hallet Street, Sliema, Island of Malta 3143, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plevna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly 3 star hotel situated in a residential area only 200m away from the sea and town centre where you will find shops, bus stop, restaurants and cafes. Hotel facilities include 24 hr reception, restaurant, the LeRoy Cafe and Bar, lounges, a conference room, 3 lifts, roof terrace and a beach club with swimming pool on the seafront (200m away from hotel and open from May to mid-Oct only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plevna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plevna Hotel Sliema
Plevna Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing