We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks Go To Charles - The Restaurant Manager”
Review of Plevna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plevna Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Marks Go To Charles - The Restaurant Manager”
Reviewed 24 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Plevna Hotel in Sliema Malta for 4 nights on an all-inclusive basis, at a price far less than the cheapest B&B would have cost in the UK.

Top marks go to Charles - the restaurant manager. He is so genuinely kind, warm and welcoming - not just on your first day, but EACH TIME you come and eat. He deserves to manage the whole hotel and hopefully will do so if the hotel really wants to benefit.

The food was generally very good with a fair choice and variety of options. Drinks were included. You could eat and drink as much or as little as you like. The only 'fault-line' was at breakfast, as the bacon was a bit 'watery' and mediocre and the cereals somewhat uninspiring. This was more than compensated however with very tasty lunches and dinners. Although others comment about restaurant size and food, for the low prices available via the internet, the value is excellent. Moreover, Charles' magnificent attitude towards all his guests makes every meal most enjoyable.

As far as the hotel itself is concerned, we found it clean and acceptable. It could do with some refurbishment, but no doubt that would have an effect on prices charged.

Access is easy. There are frequent buses (some date back several decades and are a superb attraction in themselves) to/from Valetta. Fares are VERY cheap. It is also easy to travel by bus direct to Mdina or to the Gozo ferry - a day trip to the island of Gozo is indeed recommended. No need whatsover to hire a car.

  • Liked — The most genuinely welcoming attitude of Charles - the restaurant manager
  • Disliked — Poor selection of English language TV channels in room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewCFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    281
    233
    100
    70
See reviews for
123
343
83
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Firstly, I gave the hotel 2/5 as it matches the grading description just about right - "Okay, but some problems "

GOOD :-

Great Location - convenient to promenade, shops, bars, restaurants, buses, boats, ferry, etc.

Charles - this guy in the restaurant makes the hotel. Always cheerfull, stops to chat when he can and ensures everything is to your liking. Top Class; he should be managing the hotel !!

Staff - with the exception of the bar staff (see "Bad" below) the majority are happy to help with any issues you may have.

AVERAGE :-

Food - for the most part, the food is decent but it is too often cold and over/under cooked. The menu needs more imagination too.

Hotel Condition - many parts of the hotel (inc rooms) have stains/mold(?) on the walls/ceiling. Tables in the bar are unstable and settees in reception are very shabby. The lifts are unreliable (3 people got stuck for an hr one day).

Water - this deserves a special mention as they have all their water delivered twice a day by water tanker. They actually ran out of water for two days during our stay.

Construction - there is still building work going on nearby and it does start early. It certainly wont be finishing anytime soon and can be annoying if trying to lie in after 6:30am.

BAD :-

Bar Staff - they just dont seem to care. No customer service skills between the lot of them.

Bar Drinks - they offer 1 type of draft lager despite having two different pumps (lowenbrau and 1565). The stuff tastes awful. They do offer Blue Label Ale but keep running out of the stuff. I would say they were out of stock for at least half the holiday. In fact, they kept running out of so many drinks it was difficult to find something to have (unless you are OK with coffee, coca-cola, budget label whisky/vodka etc).

Noise - this place is NOISY !!. All the doors are wooden and have key locks (not modern key cards). You cannot imagine the noise this makes during the night. Add to that regular weekend parties at a neighbouring apartment and you may struggle to get a decent nights sleep.

Restaurant - the restaurant is a nightmare. The place is tiny and there is no room to get around the buffet area. Seating is very close and walkways can be impossible to get along. Be prepared to share a table with strangers as they have to cram people in anywhere they can.

General Upkeep - there just doesnt seem to be anyone keeping an eye on things in this hotel. They wait until a guest complains about something before sorting it out. The TV lounge has 30% of light bulbs blown but nobody came to replace any. A guest actually took a reading lamp bulb for reception to swop but even that took 4 days to get replaced.

So, the hotel gets an "OK, but some problems" from me.

  • Liked — proximity to local buses
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JanuaryTwentyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

CHESTERFIELD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

After reading the reviews we had our doubts about this hotel,but with us wanting to stay in Sliema and go all inclusive we found our choice limited.However after long deliberation we booked.Well, all we wanted was a base from where we could explore Malta.
On arrival my daughter found she had left her jumper in the taxi.The receptionist was only to happy to phone the Taxi firm for us and within an hour daughter and jumper were reunited.This set the standard for our holiday.Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff.There friendliness gave the hotel a relaxed atmosphere to return to.
We must have been either lucky or not as fussy, because we found our rooms quite pleasant.Okay the bedding and towels were not new and crisp, but they were clean.A maid came every day to clean, make beds and change towels.The air con worked, and showers hot.
Being on a side street the views were not good,but we were not in our rooms long enough for it to bother us.Building work was still going on ,but to tell the truth we did not really notice it.We ventured up to the sun roof to sun bathe a few times.Although bare, it was private.The beach bar / lido was not open this time of year.
The food was good with a different menu each day. Once again the staff were brilliant.The bar opened before dinner untill twelve.Here I will mention Charles and Henrik who made us feel so welcomed .Entertainment was a man with keyboard twice a week,but the Plevna has two TV areas and plenty of areas to relax in and play cards etc.For a more lively night St Julians and Paceville are a short bus ride away.
Yes it was a pleasant surprise and would definitley stay at the Plevna again

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Lack of entertainment at night
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CHEZZYJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

It is a real shame that the only people to write reviews about the Plevna Hotel seem to be the moaners. Now I know you get them anywhere you stay. Some of these people would not be happy if they were served food prepared by Gordan Ramsey and dished up on silver platters by non other than royalty. A handful of moaners compared to the 1000's of happy customers!!

My partner and I stayed on the all inclusive basis for 2 weeks and I would quite happily go back without a doubt.

As stated in previous reviews, some of the pictures are not what you get when you get there, but then again you can say the same for alot of places. We arrived and were given a room that we deemed unsatisfactory, when we went to see the reception we were promptly dealt with, given another key to another room and asked if we would go and look at that room to see if it was ok for us. We were quite happy with our second option, and what could have been a very unhappy start to the holiday was quickly sorted.

You CANNOT fault the staff at all. Every one of them were extremely friendly, polite and helpful. Charles ( the head waiter) is brilliant. He really cares about everyone in the hotel and that they are happy. Im sure if you went to the Plevna and wasnt happy with something all you would have to do is mention is. Not like some that go storming in with the aggressive and down right rude behaviour that some seem to adopt. Now I dont know if these people are like this all the time but I did over hear one lady and I was disgusted and embarrased to be English, at the end of the day these people are human and deserve manners.

The Lido (beach club) is only a minute or two from the hotel down a small, not very steep hill. It is accessed by steps so those with difficulties will find it hard. A previous comment on a review made me smile, they moaned that if you went down to the Lido you baked in the searing heat... what do they expect.. SNOW?
They have umbrellas down there and shaded areas so you dont have to bake! As for it been private.. no its not as another previous comment stated anyone can go. But they have to pay and we didnt find anyone else using it other than the Plevna guests. Everyone else seemed to just bathe on the rocky area to the side of the Lido and swim in the sea. There are handrails and steps leading into the sea at several points.

We didnt see many cakes and snacks at the Lido or in the bar inbetween meal times but the meals were that good and plentiful you really dont need to snack..so for that reasone we didnt really look. im sure if you wanted something again, just ask.

With regards to the building work, yes there is alot of it and yes it does get started around 6.30. This country as just recently gone into the EU and given a grants, of course they are going to make the most of it. The rate of which they were building I cant imagine it taking long to finish around the Plevna. It didnt spoil our holiday at all.

So, if you are planning to go to Malta and stay at the Plevna, please dont be put of by the small minority of they moaning few. If you want good food, lovely people, comfy rooms, in a clean well situated hotel then this is your place, it is only 3 stars, but a very good 3 star. This has to be taken into consideration when booking. they say you get what you pay for, in our case we were execptionally happy with what we got and im sure you will too. Just remember if your not happy with something, speak to them in the manner in which you would like to be spoken. They will help you.

  • Liked — The staff, and the meals
  • Disliked — Not alot of entertainment in the hotel.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Riley7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

When you arrive at the hotel you will be surprised. Nothing about the hotel relates to the pictures you see before. The entrance is on a side road from the seafront. Take you luggage to you room via the lifts (we were on the 4th floor) and be prepared to be scared. We used 2 of the 3 lifts and both had panels not fitting. one of them didnt have correctly fitting doors so at the bottom of the doors when they closed there was an inch gap to look through. We walked the stairs rather than use the lifts. The room left a lot to desire. See the pics. The Sat TV only has 2 English speaking channels. The people that work there are superb. The service they give is first rate. The food was lovely. We booked all inclusive and couldnt fault the food or beverages. The worst thing about it is the building sites. When we returned (21st Sept 2008) the hotel was surrounded on 3 sides by major building. We were unfortunate to have a new building being built behind our bedroom wall. (see pic). They start at 0600hrs, and worked until 1900hrs. The largest site is about 150 yards away and covers 4 to 6 football pitches. My estimation is that work will continue for at least 6 months. The Hotel has a "private beach club" which is about 3 to 4 mins walk from the hotel. It is NOT private or exclusive. Any member of the public can pay to use the facilties. The walk back to the hotel is longer as it is uphill. There is a roof terrace but it is bland with absolutley no facilties except sunbeds to use. The hotel could do with a major refurb as most of the decor is outdated.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank morrissey653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

We have just returned from a 5 day holiday to the Plevna. This hotel is very shabby. There is building work going on all around it and we were woke every morning by 0630hrs with the builders next door either hammering or with their lorry and crane delivering building materials. It would have not made the slightest bit of difference to move rooms as I said before the building work was on all sides of the hotel. The beach club is downhill and then there are about 20 steps to enter the lido so if you have walking difficulties you cant use it. Also during the summer months when the beach club is open it is not possible to get a hot or cold drink or any food in the hotel until 1800hrs when the bar opens (even the vending machine is locked in the bar) unless you sit up in your room. There was no entertainment while we were there. We stayed on an all inclusive basis but unless you prepared to go down to the beach club and fry in the 80 degree heat and eat with the flys then you have to go elsewhere. There was no sign of any snacks and cakes behind the bar in the evening. This has got to be the worse all inclusive holiday we have ever had.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — It was shabby
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop Notts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

2nd July

Today I returned from a wonderful and relaxing holiday at the Plevna Hotel in Sliema staying on half board.
I found everything to be first class. The food was excellent with a wonderful choice for breakfast that I only needed a sandwich at lunch time until the evening meal of which there was so much choice and all delicious and plentiful.
My room and bathroom were both kept wonderfully clean and the towels changed everyday. Okay they weren't the newest of towels but so what they did the job of dyring me and that was all I wanted. The bed and bedsheets couldn't have been better.
The staff were so good they could not do enough for me which I appreciated so much.
There were a mixture of age groups from families, young couples, students, single people and older couples and all seemed to be enjoying themselves.
Sliema is a little hilly so it may not be so suitable for people with walking difficulties.
Thank you Plevna staff for giving me such a wonderful and relaxing holiday and I can't wait to visit you again

  • Liked — Friendliness and caring of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosemaryThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plevna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plevna Hotel

Property: Plevna Hotel
Address: Hughes Hallet Street, Sliema, Island of Malta 3143, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plevna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly 3 star hotel situated in a residential area only 200m away from the sea and town centre where you will find shops, bus stop, restaurants and cafes. Hotel facilities include 24 hr reception, restaurant, the LeRoy Cafe and Bar, lounges, a conference room, 3 lifts, roof terrace and a beach club with swimming pool on the seafront (200m away from hotel and open from May to mid-Oct only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plevna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plevna Hotel Sliema
Plevna Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing