We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel shame about the food”
Review of Plevna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plevna Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Good hotel good position,friendly staff, nice clean room, with a balcony, allbeit very small, roof top sundeck was excellent, giving shade and full sun. Maltese very friendly, travelled with Mercury, good service, excellent rep, the food started o.k. but went downhill fast until we had problems finding something that was edible.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2010

I've stayed in this hotle for few days only, but experienc was good. The hotel is very basic but has many positive things, such as location: it is very close to the beach and very polite and helpfull staff. It is not big, but it is the right size for a short break - you will not be lost in it. Hotel has it's own pol, but there was no need for us as beach was next to it. I would reccomend it for a couple for short break

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly_pq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I spent a week in this hotel. It gives you no magnificent view but the location is okay. Not far from main busy area in Sliema, very close to bus stops and ferry. The room is small with very basic facilities but neat enough. During my stay, there was a huge student group checking in who caued lots of noise at midnight though. Breakfast is good. I might go for other hotels with greater sea view next time. But if you are a budget traveller, this is a good choice.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
3  Thank AnthonyTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We have just spent a month at this hotel and I have never met such friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is on a hill and has a lot of steps within the building so is not really suitable for anyone with mobility problems. The room we had was basic but cleaned every day with fresh towels and there were tea making facilities and a small fridge. Our only niggle was that the beds were uncomfortable.
The food was excellent and Charles and his staff were really helpful.
Any problems were dealt with promptly.
We would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

If you expect a five star hotel at three star prices forget it, what you will get is five star treatment from all the staff from the chamber maids to the manager. we have never met a more obliging staff anywhere. the only people who knock this hotel are the ones who expect something for nothing.we have been coming back to this hotel for four years and meet fellow travelers who have been coming back longer than us and we will be coming back again in 2011 to meet old friends. dont expect ballroom dancing or indore swimming pools what you will get is a friendly hotel and you wont leave hungry there is allways something to wet your appetite unless you are like the gent this year who said the meat was tough ( he didnt have a tooth in his head ) i rest my case.
.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkshirePatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We are a family from the UK, where my Maltese mum now lives with my father and has done for many years, we therefore go to Malta on a regular basis to visit family there, but to stop any quarrelling with eager family there who fight over who gets to home us for our stay, we choose to stay in a hotel.

We read the reviews and took on board the good and bad reviews here, but family members have said from the outside the hotel seems very nice.

When we arrived, the foyer and reception area was very clean, we were welcomed by reception staff, who handed us our keys, We were given two balcony rooms on the first floor.

Staff did not help us with our luggage, so we had to make two trips to our rooms to get our luggage there,

The rooms we had were not massive, Id say to give you an idea both rooms had two single beds in (which pushed together would make a double) and a wardrobe. with these included and the odd side table here and there you have limited leg room around the room. the bathrooms are just bath and toilet size and no bigger.

However on first inspection the rooms seemed cosy and very clean..

However as the stay went on we found that plugs weren't working, or were wired to a light switch some distance from the socket, and that the cleaning duties each day left alot to be desired, we had to ask for new towels more than once and a pillow I had the misfortune to bleed on (just a small smudge on the cover admittedly) but this wasn't taken off and clean but put back on the bed upside down.

We were BB and found breakfast to be limited (no Maltese bread, we missed this) and sometimes depending on the mood of the chef no doubt the quality of the food wavered, Id say stick to the cereals if I were you.

However the bald head waiter was fab and made sure that the little lady in our party had an omelet everyday which wasn't on buffet so she was well fed. So service here was amazing.

The Coffee hot choccie machine is lush tho I had loads of hot choccies to make up for the food.

At breakfast we noticed it was always packed, and with the more mature (50+ years) crowd in residence, some of whom are regulars so they like the hotel, lol.

The location is very handy for sliema and the shops and is away from the busy road, however be warned a building site is very near the hotel atm (December 2009) so if you don't want to hear any building works this place is not for you.

Tip: use the stairs I found it a pain to use the lift from the first floor down, it would always whizz past and ignore I had even called it on many occasions.

All in all this hotel is only good if you are on a budget and just want somewhere to stay, there is free wifi in all the lounges, and I managed to access this from my room on the first floor so I didn't need to move to do uni work, food is a let down and so is cleanliness to a degree but for a cheap option it will do.

If you want luxury when you stay in Malta Id recommend Preluna or the waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5minsalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed at the Plevna for 5 nights on half board and enjoyed everything execpt the dinner. First evening was OK, but the rest of the evenings the food did not taste anything at all and there was no salt and pepper on the tables. Best thing about this hotel is the location. Just a five minute walk to the harbour and the Löwenbrau-ferry to Valetta. We also liked the poolarea/lido but there was not easy to get hold of a chair if you arrived to late. The staff was nice and helpful. Free Wi-Fi internet!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plevna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plevna Hotel

Address: Hughes Hallet Street, Sliema, Island of Malta 3143, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: £35 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plevna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL PLEVNA IS CLOSED FOR REFURBISHMENT UNTIL JULY 2018. We are re-branding, upgrading to 4* standards and re-naming the hotel. The new name is going to be: HOTEL 1926 Inspired by the life and passions of one man and featuring a touch of the roaring twenties, Hotel 1926 offers luxury rooms and suites (some with scenic views of Valletta) in the central city of Sliema. The hotel is located 200 metres from the seafront and also offers a splendid beach club on the water’s edge as well as a luxury SPA. This striking new establishment will open its doors in June 2018. Our concept of ‘Lean Luxury’ includes the following; - Luxury rooms at affordable prices - Uncomplicated comfort and a great sleep - Smart design technology - Raindance showerheads - Flat screens - Tablets - Self check in and check out (if desired) - Nespresso machines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plevna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plevna Hotel Sliema
Plevna Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing