We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Could not wish for a better hotel food very good room sea view very clean and spotless wife and i have stopped at this hotel for holliday nine times and could not wish for better holiday plus bus stop outside hotel and harbour cruises opersite

Room Tip: sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hodge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel is not 4 star. A comfortable stay with excellent aircon.
Food - we did B&B and breakfast was good and plentiful. The hotel is very convenient for the ferry to Valletta and Marks and Spencer! You need to book a sea view room as the best feature of this hotel are the views over the harbour, but noisy because of the busy main road.
We spent lots of time waiting for lifts as there is no alternative staircase to use. The pool is a joke it is so small it should be advertised as a plunge pool, it is only suitable for keeping the kids cool.
No complimentary toiletries - hand wash dispensers just like in the public toilets!! and no tea and coffee making facilities do not add up to a 4 star experience.

Room Tip: you must book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theterribletwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

just got back from a very wonderful holiday in malta,hotel was very very good with a spotless clean room,room was very light.Meals at breakfast could had offered more variety,evening meal was very good,bed and breakfast option is available. Pool was on the top floor,although it was small,was very clean with sun loungers available. If you do stay half board then long trousers must been worn for the evening meal by gentlemen,you can eat on the roof top also,and the basalico restaurant,where you can eat a three course meal for 14.50 euros One bad point.please be aware of people offering free drinks for the Hotel Kennerdy,this is a they are trying to sell holiday accomadioion like time share

Room Tip: we had room 316,it was a quiet room on the side of the hotel,(not sea view) sometimes sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I managed to get what I think was a good last minute deal so overall the hotel met my expectations. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable, which is all I required as was out and about all day. Breakfast offered a good selection in a nice surrounding. Buffet dinner was reasonable and well priced. The other restaurant was nice especially if taken on the roof terrace which offered great views. The location was a little on the edge of things but was very convenient for the ferry to Vallettta and other close to other restaurants.

The main downside was still no free wi-fi despite talk of this coming soon in response to other reviews. Please don't pay for it as a) it does not work well b) it's free everywhere else in Malta. This was annoying as meant I had to step outside the hotel to enjoy a drink and surf. It also lost the hotel money as I was buying drinks elsewhere.

Other faults are nothing major and sort of expected given the price, however would be more annoyed if paid the price I saw on other websites. These included old tvs with poor reception, very diluted juices in the morning instead of fresh, lack of toiletries and tea/coffee facilities in room. Customer service was mixed (younger staff were better) - reception often quite surly.

Overall would recommend as a good quality budget hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We have finally a date set for the WiFi to be complimentary in our hotel, this will be from November this year. We do apologise for the time it is taking to have it sorted, however this was beyond our control. Please accept our sincere apologies for this inconvenience and for failing to meet your expectations on the other items listed in your review.

Please do contact me should you ever decide to return to our hotel, so that we can make amends for your disappointments.

Kind Regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Visited for the second time this wonderful hotel in Malta. Rooms large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Rooms were made up daily with clean towels. Staff were extremely friendly, polite and eager to please. We stayed B&B only so we were not limited to meal times and there was everything available from cereals, salads, breads, fruit and cooked foods, tea coffee, fruit juices....something for everybody, except the hard to please. If there was a negative it would be that the A/C was very good in the rooms, but not so in the corridors and lifts. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly visit again. A special thank you to Marvik, who made our stay as comfortable as possible after a 4 day spell in hospital having had an emergency appendectomy and sending a wonderful floral bouquet from the team.

Room Tip: Choose a front sea view and if you are a light sleeper....the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review and comments. We sincerely hope that your wife is much better now.

Your kind comments have been passed on to all concerned and also to Marvic. Thanks again.

We hope to see you again in out hotel and should you decide to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact me or the team for any assistance.

Regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

From the moment you go through the doors of the hotel, you feel that people care that you have a pleasant holiday. Oreste, the doorman made our visit very enjoyable with his vast knowledge of the Island.The staff were always polite and attentive, although some were not as converse in English as others.The rooms were cleaned to high standards everyday, they were very spacious and had great views( if you paid the extra cost). The air con was FANTASTIC and i am so hard to please, this hotel had only one flaw... the pool bar had only one person and when someone ordered food they disappeared to prepare it and this caused a bit of a queue also some of the loungers needed to be replaced due to damage.
All in all a very good stay and well recommended.

Room Tip: My father booked a single room at no extra cost and was given a twin room, result! We paid for late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACQUELINE199757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind comments, these are greatly appreciated. We are looking forward to hosting you again in our hotel

Kind Regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This was our second time in Malta. We did not stay at The Waterfront Hotel on the first occasion but wish we had. This hotel is clean, welcoming and great value for money. The choice and quality of food was excellent and the cost of drinks were far less than we expected. The balcony, although small, is adequate for a couple. We had a side seaview room and had a great view. Staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel is in a fabulour location to tour the island and is central to many amenities. We will definitely be back. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Seaview room is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rose r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and your wonderful comments. We are glad that we met your expectations and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back to our small but beautiful island and most of all, to welcome you back to our hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,508 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,153 reviews
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#9 of 28 in Sliema
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £72 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is a leading 4 star hotel in Malta. Situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, the hotel is placed within walking distance from public transport and other services including bars and restaurants, several shopping outlets, The Plaza Shopping Centre and the Sliema Ferries. With stunning views of the Sliema creek, Manoel Island and the unmistakable silhouette of the capital city Valletta, The Waterfront hotel is the perfect choice for discerning travelers seeking comfort in exquisite surroundings. All of the 165 Hotel rooms and Suites are maintained to a very high standard and feature a balcony and an en suite or open plan bathroom. Rooms are also equipped with various amenities including private bathroom, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. Complimentary WiFi is available in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront hotel is also a popular venue for quality events and meetings in Malta. Our hotel is a perfect option for those getting married in Malta or are spending their honeymoon in Malta. The Waterfront Hotel offers dining options such as a buffet breakfast and dinner at the Regatta Restaurant or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Indoor Pool will also be undergoing extensive renovation works, and in view of the upcoming development of our Lido we shall offer complimentary transport and access to a neighboring Lido to ensure that our guests find the facilities they expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing