We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Waterfront and we had a fantastic time again. Ours was a seafront room on the 2nd floor and we didn't find it too noisy at all. We spend most early mornings & evenings sitting on the balcony watching the world go by.
The hotel is wonderfully situated on The Strand with fantasic views over the harbour, Manoel Island and Valetta and only a 5 minute stroll along the promenade to Sliema Ferries, cruise boats, tour buses, restaurants and shops. There are also a few little shops near the hotel for 'bits'
We booked half board and were not disappointed by the food - breakfast isn't the best "English Breakfast" but as you aren't in the UK you can hardly expect that and there is plenty of choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cold meats etc. There was a roast each night plus a fish dish, vegetarian option, pasta dish, 2 types of potato and veggies as well as a wide range of cold starters, a wonderful dessert selection and cheese and biscuits to finish with.
I certainly wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Malta and am looking forward to returning with my partner next time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BendiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments, these are greatly appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you back and please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance.

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    546
    215
    57
    19
See reviews for
166
685
68
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just returned from one week in this hotel, and yes we would return as it is in a great location for getting around. Our sea-view room had lovely views but was VERY noisy due to the busy dual carriageway which seemed to turn into a race track at night so ear plugs were needed in order to sleep. I suppose all the hotels along the front will have this problem but the Waterfront is spacious, comfortable and cool thanks to the efficient air-con. We found our bathroom slightly dated and "tired", but it was kept nice and clean, as was the rest of the hotel. I found the food was good, but probably not quite 4star, and a little bland. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The higher the better to try and avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 314sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I have taken note of the food comments and these were passed on the chef so that action can be taken to further improve our product.

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have just arrived back from The Waterfront hotel Silema Malta. The Room was so disapointing
aparently if you dont book a sea view room you get a inner room which is in a enclosed area and all balconys are looking into a court yard with no sun our room which was on the 3rd floor it was dark-we had the light on when ever we were in the room, which we tried to avoid going into, we tried to change our room but was told the hotel was full. The food was ok definately not a 4 star.
Valletta and Mdina was lovely and the weather was good to us warm each day.

Room Tip: Sea view only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I was sorry to read that your stay wasn't as satisfying as you would have wished. We have 3 room categories, Inland, Side Seaview and Seaview, therefore you must have chosen the Inland when booking your accommodation. I have taken note of your comment on the food quality and action is being taken to improve.
Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great Location; Friendly helpful staff; Good Food; Silema is a lovely area with plenty to do and lovely walk along the promenade to st julians - the hotel is perfect location for all your needs and good restaurants. Its a must !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments, these are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emu Park
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Rooms are a good size, and the beds are good. Plumbing not so great, but this seems to be throughout Malta, toilets just don't flush very effectively. Breakfast room was large with big selection, unfortunately the quality of the food is not very good. The food in Malta is very ordinary, poor quality and lacking in taste. Maybe be had been spoilt after 2 weeks in France. Location is ok, 5 minute walk to ferries. Best way to reach Valetta from Sliema is by ferry. The hotel Waterfront is located on the outskirts of Sliema, not the most upmarket end of Sliema. Pool deck is great for an afternoon drink, views are lovely from the pool deck.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid_4710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that you have an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Please do let me know should you ever need any assistance

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great location on Sliema Strand, with buses and ferry to Valletta and ferries to Gozo and Comino all within five minutes walk. Harbour view rooms have fantastic view. Internal rooms have balconies onto an internal courtyard. Air-conditioning is quiet and beds very comfortable so easy to have a good night's sleep with the window shut, but lots of street noise may be more of an issue for rooms lower down.
Breakfasts are ok, and plentiful - yoghurts, cereals, fruits, breads, cooked food. Airy restaurant overlooks harbour. Staff are very helpful.
We had one evening meal which was a disappointment. Poor quality food, poorly presented. The waiters were attentive and happy people though and tried their best.
The rooftop 'swimming pool' is tiny - you would only have to lean out from the side to reach the other side. It's more an area to sunbathe and cool down in the water.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms do have a superb view but will be noisier. Internal rooms also have a balcony ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EAber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments. These will certainly assist us to strive even better to provide a better service and to exceed our guests' expectations. Please do contact me should you ever require any assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was a business traveler and stayed here for one night. I was depending on having wifi and stayed here because they advertised that they provided it. When I arrived I was told it was down but would be fixed in 15 mins. This never happened. The room itself was ugly. There were no fitted sheets on the bed and therefore I woke up numerous times on the mattress. The air conditioning barely worked and only works if you have all doors shut which we were not aware of. In addition, I got locked out on the balcony because the door kept jamming. When I checked out I expressed my frustration in not having access to the Internet. They did not care one bit and were not willing to offer any money off. The staff was less than helpful, the rooms were ugly and uncomfortable, and overall I think you'd have a nicer night staying in a hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review. It was disappointing to read that you had an unsatisfactory stay at our hotel. I have investigated your issues and I was informed that yes it is true that the WiFi was down for 15 minutes but this was sorted by the supplier immediately. Jonathan our Front Office supervisor kept you updated about the WiFI situation and offered you assistance throughout.

I was also informed that you were not happy that we charged you and your guest for a twin room, and not for a single as you had reserved. Kindly appreciate that when a room is occupied by 2 people, charges are as such.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt

regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
1,816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Sliema
1,968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is a 4 star hotel situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, overlooking Sliema Creek, Manoel Island and the capital city, Valletta. Newly refurbished to a high standards, the hotel is just 150 meters away from the nearest bus stop and within walking distance from several bars, restaurants and shopping outlets in Sliema, The Plaza shopping mall and the Ferries. All rooms are stylishly designed and feature various amenities including, an en suite bathroom and balcony, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. WiFi is available for free in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront Hotel offers various dining options including buffet breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant, or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Waterfront Hotel also features an indoor swimming pool and outdoor lido. The Waterfront Hotel offers the best location, personalized service, and Maltese hospitality at its very best. The Waterfront Hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere to make your stay in Malta a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing