We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room and location, but badly let down by the dining room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
North England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good room and location, but badly let down by the dining room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

A week's visit in November was our third Thomson holiday package. We opted for the half board offering and with the benefit of hindsight, would have been better satisfied with just bed and breakfast, but even the breakfast left much to be desired.
A freshly fried breakfast egg was difficult to come by. Those on offer were vulcanised by being kept warm for too long. Dinner was not something to look forward to. The food presented looked good, but did not live up to its promise. Cheap cuts of meat badly cooked and vegetables that were more than disappointing. Decent ice cream was available, so we at least could count on an acceptable desert. There seemed to be no-one in overall charge of the dining room, which otherwise let down a fairly decent hotel.
This time, we were wise enough to take our travel kettle and supplies of tea and coffee, so were not held to ransom on that front.
The mini bar in the room was interesting. No price list and a threat of confiscation of anything that you might be tempted to put in it. There was also a bottle of wine on the surface above the mini bar. Were you being tempted into some sort of expensive ambush if you opened it? No explanation was given, neither was there a corkscrew if you tried to open it.
I had read negative comments like mine before travelling, but suspected that these were made by people who complain about everything. Their comments were valid!
Our room was on the inside, so it was quiet and had an outlook into an attractively laid out atrium courtyard.
The location was fine. Ideal for buses and the ferry to Valleta

Room Tip: The air conditioning plant in the courtyard can be noisy. Choose a high inside room if you want quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brastard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy New Year.

Thank you for your comments and feedback.

I have taken note of your comments about the food and these will be discussed with Executive Chef and the kitchen team.

With regards to the Mini Bar, a price list is displayed on the side board and the wine is left on the side board as it is red wine and this cannot be refrigerated,

Please do contact me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    546
    215
    57
    19
See reviews for
166
685
68
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The ups- warm welcome from the Porter we have met before.Amazing reception area & pleasant staff. Lovely quiet bedroom on sixth floor with big balcony & lovely view . Also cleaned well each day.New pillows. Spare blankets & pillows in wardrobe. Heating in bedroom (froze last December) Relaxed dining room.Lurpax butter! Downs-Wifi hopeless. Bathrooms very dated & tired especially door (vanish off-horrible-same on the 2 previous visits). Food leaves a lot to be desired. How about change of bread at breakfast & croissants? Evening meal weak although thought Maltese evening much better meal. Clearing of tables very slow most of the time.
Look out for Marie along waterfront if you want any trips or info - she is amazingly helpful.For fab meal L'Artist.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy New Year

Thank you for your reviews and also for the past 2 reviews. Such comments helps us to improve and perform better, so that we not only meet but hopefully exceed our guests' expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Please do let me know should you ever require any assistance

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Lovely food, very warm and clean, really friendly helpful staff. Wish we could have stayed another week or more !! Only downside was our beds which were rather uncomfortable. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: If you're a poor sleeper, ask for a room on 3rd floor overlooking patio area. No sea view but re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our team, I would like to wish you a very happy new year.

Thank you for you review and comments. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note of your comments about the beds and I have passed this on to our Housekeeping department.

Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance in the near future

kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on business and was very comfortable in a spacious room at the back of the hotel overlooking a pleasant courtyard. Very quiet room if you are a light sleeper. The room was nice and bright and very clean and the bed comfortable. With an early start I didn't get to sample the breakfast but there was tea and coffee at reception. Unfortunately there was no milk so made do with black tea, not great. A little surprised that there was not tea and coffee making facility in the rooms considering the huge British influence in Malta. My brief stay here however was very pleasant and would definitely stay again

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in writing the review, this is greatly appreciated. As you might have read, we shall have tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms in the first quarter of 2014.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require further assistance

Happy New Year!!

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Visited Malta for the second time in November and following a wonderful stay at the Waterfront before decided to stay here again. We were not dissappointed.
As before all staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Our room on the 7th floor has fabulous views across to Valletta and was very quiet. It was very comfortable and cleaned to the highest standards each day.
We ate in the Regatta Restaurant and the Star Cafe. Again the food and service provided were excellent. We also enjoyed the Lobby Bar - Laurence makes a very good cocktail.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room on the front of the hotel. The views are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller15A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do let me know should you ever require any assistance.

Wishing you a prosperous New Year

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have just returned after a week stay at the Waterfront Hotel in Malta. We had visited the Waterfront on a couple of occasions during prior visits to Malta but had never stayed there so we were looking forward to this holiday. The Waterfront did not disappoint the whole place is spotless and the rooms were cleaned to the highest standard every day. The breakfast was good and ample (although we had a frustrating wait on fresh fried eggs on two or three occasions!) and the bar snacks we had were very good and reasonably priced. And now for the downside! - The TV in our room was antiquated and had the worst picture I think I've seen since the sixties! The channels we had were few and mostly in Italian (I think)! Even worse - This is the only hotel we have ever stayed in with no coffee/tea making facilities in the room! This is a must and should be addressed ASAP! Apart from these points we had an enjoyable stay and must say the staff were all most professional and friendly with special mention to Lawrence and Sandro behind the bar!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review and comments, these are greatly appreciated. I am pleased to inform you that by the first quarter of 2014 we shall have the tea and coffee facilities in all our bedrooms. I have taken note of your feedback and I will also pass on your kind comments to Sandro and Lawrence.
Please do contact me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt or on + 356 2090 6850 should you ever require any assistance.
Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

good food and plenty of choices, good variety, spotlessly clean, the beds were wonderful, towels were of a good standard, room was beautiful and friendly staff, would highly recommend and would go back myself!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. I was pleased to read about your enjoyable stay with us and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#7 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location along the Sliema seafront promenade, this new hotel has been developed to the highest standards of comfort and hygiene. Its location provides spectacular views of the Valletta harbour. This 4-star 116-roomed property features two restaurants, a lobby bar, a roof-top swimming pool with snack bar and a guest lounge. Each of the rooms is excellently finished, and features a balcony, an en suite bathroom, mini-bar, guest safe and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing