We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterfront Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palace(Sliema)
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$203
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$146
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$340
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Suites(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$160
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
US$151
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,367)
Filter reviews
1,367 results
Traveller rating
424
599
245
66
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
599
245
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar caferegatta restaurantjean pierresea viewlobby barthe busroad noisemanoel islandrooftop poolsliema creekthe air conditioningfront facinghalf boardtea and coffeethird floorfried eggshigh floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
777 - 782 of 1,367 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

A week's visit in November was our third Thomson holiday package. We opted for the half board offering and with the benefit of hindsight, would have been better satisfied with just bed and breakfast, but even the breakfast left much to be desired.
A freshly fried breakfast egg was difficult to come by. Those on offer were vulcanised by being kept warm for too long. Dinner was not something to look forward to. The food presented looked good, but did not live up to its promise. Cheap cuts of meat badly cooked and vegetables that were more than disappointing. Decent ice cream was available, so we at least could count on an acceptable desert. There seemed to be no-one in overall charge of the dining room, which otherwise let down a fairly decent hotel.
This time, we were wise enough to take our travel kettle and supplies of tea and coffee, so were not held to ransom on that front.
The mini bar in the room was interesting. No price list and a threat of confiscation of anything that you might be tempted to put in it. There was also a bottle of wine on the surface above the mini bar. Were you being tempted into some sort of expensive ambush if you opened it? No explanation was given, neither was there a corkscrew if you tried to open it.
I had read negative comments like mine before travelling, but suspected that these were made by people who complain about everything. Their comments were valid!
Our room was on the inside, so it was quiet and had an outlook into an attractively laid out atrium courtyard.
The location was fine. Ideal for buses and the ferry to Valleta

Room Tip: The air conditioning plant in the courtyard can be noisy. Choose a high inside room if you want quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brastard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Happy New Year.

Thank you for your comments and feedback.

I have taken note of your comments about the food and these will be discussed with Executive Chef and the kitchen team.

With regards to the Mini Bar, a price list is displayed on the side board and the wine is left on the side board as it is red wine and this cannot be refrigerated,

Please do contact me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The ups- warm welcome from the Porter we have met before.Amazing reception area & pleasant staff. Lovely quiet bedroom on sixth floor with big balcony & lovely view . Also cleaned well each day.New pillows. Spare blankets & pillows in wardrobe. Heating in bedroom (froze last December) Relaxed dining room.Lurpax butter! Downs-Wifi hopeless. Bathrooms very dated & tired especially door (vanish off-horrible-same on the 2 previous visits). Food leaves a lot to be desired. How about change of bread at breakfast & croissants? Evening meal weak although thought Maltese evening much better meal. Clearing of tables very slow most of the time.
Look out for Marie along waterfront if you want any trips or info - she is amazingly helpful.For fab meal L'Artist.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Happy New Year

Thank you for your reviews and also for the past 2 reviews. Such comments helps us to improve and perform better, so that we not only meet but hopefully exceed our guests' expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Please do let me know should you ever require any assistance

Regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Lovely food, very warm and clean, really friendly helpful staff. Wish we could have stayed another week or more !! Only downside was our beds which were rather uncomfortable. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: If you're a poor sleeper, ask for a room on 3rd floor overlooking patio area. No sea view but really quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our team, I would like to wish you a very happy new year.

Thank you for you review and comments. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note of your comments about the beds and I have passed this on to our Housekeeping department.

Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance in the near future

kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for 1 night on business and was very comfortable in a spacious room at the back of the hotel overlooking a pleasant courtyard. Very quiet room if you are a light sleeper. The room was nice and bright and very clean and the bed comfortable. With an early start I didn't get to sample the breakfast but there was tea and coffee at reception. Unfortunately there was no milk so made do with black tea, not great. A little surprised that there was not tea and coffee making facility in the rooms considering the huge British influence in Malta. My brief stay here however was very pleasant and would definitely stay again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in writing the review, this is greatly appreciated. As you might have read, we shall have tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms in the first quarter of 2014.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require further assistance

Happy New Year!!

Regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Visited Malta for the second time in November and following a wonderful stay at the Waterfront before decided to stay here again. We were not dissappointed.
As before all staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Our room on the 7th floor has fabulous views across to Valletta and was very quiet. It was very comfortable and cleaned to the highest standards each day.
We ate in the Regatta Restaurant and the Star Cafe. Again the food and service provided were excellent. We also enjoyed the Lobby Bar - Laurence makes a very good cocktail.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room on the front of the hotel. The views are superb
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveller15A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do let me know should you ever require any assistance.

Wishing you a prosperous New Year

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews