We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterfront Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Palace(Sliema)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$169
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,365 results
Traveller rating
424
598
244
66
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
598
244
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar caferegatta restaurantjean pierresea viewlobby barthe busroad noisemanoel islandrooftop poolsliema creekthe air conditioningfront facinghalf boardtea and coffeethird floorfried eggshigh floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
764 - 769 of 1,365 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

wow,fantastic location, very very clean hotel.we we're in room 718 ,our chambermaid was a star,our room spotless every day,thanks to her.the Porter was also a real nice guy.food passable,hard to please everyone I suppose.found it annoying that drink in restaurant was 30 cents more than in the bar,as the drinks came from the bar anyway!!!!. bar staff OK,apart from guy called Lawrence,he had his favorites,was all over some guests,just grunted at me all time ( maybe I don't tip big enough ).air con broke,
within 10 mins, a portable heater appeared,all in all,beautiful, fantastic, clean,great location hotel,I work in a hotel myself,must treat all guests same,not just the big tippers.a big thanks again to our chambermaid, usually find it's the lowest paid workers that are the nicest.A SMILE FROM HER EVERYDAY,BEAUTIFUL CLEAN ROOM,MANAGEMENT, GIVE HERE A RISE,SHE IS A CREDIT TO YOU AND YOUR LOVELY HOTEL.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank de19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and thank you for the kind and nice comments about our housekeeping department. I will make sure that the person concerned reads your review and will be awarded for her hard work.

We have also spoken with Lawrence and stressed the importance of guest satisfaction and how imperative it is that all guests are treated equally.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

And that is just the problem - the small details. How hard can it be for the management to resolve minor issues like the worn and dated bedding, towels etc. The hotel needs a makeover in the rooms, to bring them up to an acceptable standard. The TV in our room must have been 20 years old at least, and the extremely small shower cubicle was probably the same age; myself and my wife are slim, and we struggled!
There appears to be a problem with damp at this hotel - after torrential rain one of the days during our stay, there was a nasty smell in our room which didn't go away. There are also visible signs of damp in the bar & Basilico restaurant areas. Appoint a maintenance man!
Entertainment - there isn't any! some guy was there one night, playing a keyboard and singing out of tune. This competed with the piped music that was still being played in the restaurant - not a good combination! Awful!
Also, we don't understand why the stairs were roped off - why were guests not allowed to use them?
Now for the good points:
This hotel is the better one in the area; this was evident as many locals use it as a meeting point and social focus. Also, looking around Sliema, we could see that we had made a good choice booking the Waterfront. The staff are efficient and friendly, food and drinks in the bar are very good and reasonably priced, whether it is the Basilico restaurant or the Lobby Bar. Breakfast was adequate, with room for a little improvement. The bacon was very fatty, and the eggs were dry, but there was fresh fruit and yoghurt, and cereals, also cheeses and salad, and lovely bread with Lurpack butter. A very good point though was the fresh fruit juice - lovely and refreshing, rather than the nasty powdered stuff that a lot of hotels use.
The hotel is in a great location, central to anything you want to do really. One tip though - take care when you use the ferry service (the blue boat) that goes across to Valletta - completely unreliable! they cancelled the return service during the day, when business was slow, forcing us to either get a cab or take the bus back to Sliema. It's best to buy a single ferry ticket, or alternatively, use the bus - it's only 1.50 euro for a ticket that lasts all day, up to 11pm at night, so you could go back to Valletta for dinner if that is what you want to do. Plenty to do in Sliema, the Point shopping centre is well worth a visit. St Julian's is a 20 minute walk, lovely promenade. There is a very nice café/bar - the Cucina Pulita, on the water-side at Sliema, great to sit and watch the world go by, also fabulous view across to Valletta.
All in all though, we had a fantastic holiday, and if these small issues are addressed, the Waterfront Hotel could be a real winner.

Room Tip: not sure if one exists
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank altitudeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comments. I was happy to read that overall we have managed to make your stay an enjoyable one and that you were happy with our services and products.

With regards to your constructive feedback, I am pleased to inform you that we have started changing the mattresses and bed linen. About the dampness, unfortunately Malta was hit with severe downpours in a short period of time which causes dampness in some areas where water manages to seep through. Our maintenance team are always on hand when this happens but we always have to wait a while until the stone dries a bit before the works on the particular areas can start.

As you might be aware of, The Basilico Restaurant is big and has 2 entrances, and the only reason that we rope one side of the 2 stairwells, is because we want our guests to be greeted and acknowledge when they enter the restaurant.

Please do let me know if I and the rest of the team can ever be of further assistance and we are looking forward to welcoming back

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is my second visit to the Waterfront Hotel, again out of season. Because I found it so good the first time, I was keen to stay there again and I was not disappointed. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food good, and the room simple and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you!! It is refreshing to read such positive review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel Please do let us know if we can ever be of any assistance

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

the hotel is in a great position and has good facilities.

There seems to be a battle between staff in the lobby bar and cafe which may be connected to bonuses.

One end of the lobby has star cafe with 4 tables and a lighter menu. If the tables are full you may or may not be able to use the adjacent tables in the looby. On friday night we were welcomed, ordered from both menus and paid a joint bill. the barman was friendly and efficient.

. Last night the cafe was full but the lobby bar had plenty of tables. A very surly barman in the lobby bar refused to let us eat cafe food in the lobby. I explained we wanted one meal from each menu and had done that the previous night. He then went to the cafe and started to give them a hard time. As the cafe tables were full we had to eat elsewhere.

they obviously don.t need to satisfy customers ?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mpprh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for time in writing this review.

On behalf of the management and team, I would like to apologise about this incident, We have spoken to both persons concerned and action has been taken to prevent this from happening again.
Please do accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to welcoming you back so that we can prove to you that the service you have received during your last visit is not what we are renowned for.
Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We recently enjoyed our fourth visit to the Waterfront, it is two years since our last visit and we were pleased to be remembered and welcomed by several staff members.
A big improvement this year was free wi- fi in all rooms, saving us a walk to a local bar, the promised tea making facilities will be welcome.
We must share the views of others that the televisions are outdated and as most guests apeared to be english speaking two english channels was poor, the bed in our room 613 was in poor condition and the bathroom needed a little refurbishment.
Varied opinions on breakfast have been expressed,where does back bacon go to in europe,the change to fried eggs on demand was welcome but we had to agree that the scrambled egg was not made from fresh eggs.
These are small complaints and we hope to receive the same welcome on our next visit.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seafront facing room,wonderful views over manoel island and Valetta,ask for a high floor though.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldpostieipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, allow me to thank you for your positive comments regarding most of the facilities within our hotel.

Of course, I would also like to apologize for the issues you felt necessary to highlight and for the inconvenience caused.

We are starting to change the mattresses in all our bedrooms and action is continuously being taken to improve our product to meet and hopefully even exceed our guests expectations.

Whilst thanking you for your custom and for your time in sharing your experience online, I am looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and hopefully turn out your perception of our hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any matters that you might need when planning your next visit

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews