We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff very friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Staff very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the waterfront Hotel. Room was lovely and clean, all staff were very helpful and friendly, wide variety of choice at breakfast. Excellent location,will definitely go back soon. Good value for money we stayed bed and breakfast. Drinks and snacks very reasonable. The Italian restaurant was lovely we ate there about 3 times.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments and for mentioning the members of our team who contributed to make your stay a pleasant one! It is truly our pleasure to read that stay with us was up to your expectations

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    546
    215
    57
    19
See reviews for
166
685
68
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very good price in november. Very Good breakfast, quite and large room, restaurant with beautiful bay view. A little bit far from the city center, but it is possible to go by bus or by boat. Good service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing our hotel.

I am very pleased with your positive comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. It would be a real pleasure for us to host you again and in the meantime I hope that you will not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance to organise your accommodation when planning your next trip

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire - England
Level Contributor
198 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Waterfront Hotel. The first thing to say is that it is in a a wonderful location on the Sliema promenade. Ideal for the tour buses and the normal buses which run along the front. The hotel reception area and bar are both very nice as are the rooms. Ours was at the front so overlooked the harbour. Nice balcony and a great view. The lady that cleaned the room was very attentive and pleasant although she did look a bit like Peter Kay so I expected her to start singing "Is this the way to Amarillo" any minute. The staff in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful although they are understaffed at times. One of the barmen had a bit of an attitude though. The food was OK but not great. I would rate it as just about average. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were really poor and the coffee machine delivered very small and pretty cold cups of the liquid. I would rate the hotel higher than the food and would have liked to give a four star overall but the food held that back. Having said that we had a great time and I would probably go back but on B&B terms only. There are loads of places to eat at so no problem with that. For the traveller, a bus ticket costs £1.20 for a full day on as many buses as you want to go on. Fantastic service even if the queuing system is somewhat ad hoc. Fabulous island that is easy to get around and the people are great.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImmigrantTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly allow me to thank you for your kind comments about the members of our staff. I have certainly shared those comments with them.

I was sorry to read that some of our breakfast cuisine wasn't up to your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and discussed these with our kitchen brigade.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you ever require any further assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunessan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We visited this hotel in November 2012 for a seven day holiday. Our room was lovely and bright also very clean overlooking the bay. the hotel is in a great location for shops, restaurants and bars also close to local transport. the buffet breakfast was adequate only annoying thing was the coffee machine and small cups, we ended up buying coffee mugs down the town to take back to the breakfast room so we did not have to keep getting up for refills. The hotel entertainment was dire, alright if you wanted to be in a nursing home situation, but there is plenty of night life down the town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor and we would love to welcome you back soon at The Waterfront Hotel

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from our 4th trip to Malta staying each time at The Waterfront, Sliema. It's in a fantastic position overlooking Sliema Creek, Marsamxett Harbour and Valletta, surrounded by restaurants, and shops. Easy access anywhere by bus or direct ferry to Valletta. The hotel itself is very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The food is scrumptious and plentiful. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Seafront views are fantastic but the inside rooms are quieter in the summer as you can leave the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne1086376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks ever so much for your kind comments.

It is refreshing to receive such positive comments. Such comments help to put things into perspective. Please do contact me personally should you ever need to reserve a room or for any assistance you might require

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here recently on a short break, room was very clean and tidy, staff very helpfull, beautiful view from roof top terrace. Breakfast ok, would return to this hotel again. Only minus point wifi did not work in room and if you logged on in lobby person sitting with you couldnt log in

Room Tip: Pay the extra to have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for your review and kind comments. I was glad to read that your stay was an enjoyable one.

Regarding the WiFi issues, I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have met with our service provider and we have discussed the issues with this service and also the inconvenience that is being caused to our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally when planning your next trip and stay at our hotel

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in Sliema last week and ate here on a couple of evenings. The food was very good and everything was lovely and the staff were all very friendly. If we return to Sliema we will try to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and positive comments. Please do contact me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt when planning your next visit

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#7 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location along the Sliema seafront promenade, this new hotel has been developed to the highest standards of comfort and hygiene. Its location provides spectacular views of the Valletta harbour. This 4-star 116-roomed property features two restaurants, a lobby bar, a roof-top swimming pool with snack bar and a guest lounge. Each of the rooms is excellently finished, and features a balcony, an en suite bathroom, mini-bar, guest safe and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing