We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Hotel in Sliema Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I have been going to Malta every year for ten years. In fact we got married in Valletta eight years ago. Most of the holidays we stay in the Waterfront unless it is fully booked. It is a beautifully clean hotel with the most friendly staff I have found and I have travelled extensively. We have already booked a week in May and two weeks in September (our wedding anniversary). We have made lots of Maltese friendsand this adds to the enjoyment of each holiday. We normally book an upstairs Seaview room which is greatly recommended. There is nothing nicer than to sit on the balcony in the evening with a bottle of nice Green Label wine.
The hotel food is good although we like to be adventurous and have dinner at different restaurants of which there are many. The Reception, bar and porter staff are all exceedingly helpful and the room maids keep the rooms in immaculate condition.
We hope to have many more holidays there.
Jim & Christine Watson, Oban, Scotland.

Room Tip: High level Seaview is less noisy from the traffic which can be noisy at lower levels at rush hour ti...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Jim & Christine,

Thank you for the review, it is greatly appreciated.

We have received your email with your requests for your next visit and we will do our utmost to accommodate you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in May and in the meantime please do let me know if I can be of any further assistance

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have just returned from a 5 day break at the Waterfront Hotel and had a wonderful time and could recommend it totally.
I researched comprehensively where to stay as it was my 1st visit to Malta and I wanted to be somewhere where I could do a lot of sight seeing from and it is the perfect place , in my opinion.
I stayed in room 713 - a top floor room with a fantastic view of Valetta. It was large and kept very clean . I would suggest taking your own toiletries , there was soap in a pump but no shampoo, conditioner etc .
I ate and drank in the Star Café and The Brasilico and can recommend them both , the prices were very reasonable and wraps , baked potatoes , salads , pasta and afternoon tea -sandwiches, cakes, scones were delicious. Though the prices of the cans of beer and cider were very expensive compared to the rest of the drinks prices.
I went on Malta Sightseeing hop on/off bus as though more expensive than the red bus Sity Sightseeing bus they went to many more parts and therefore as a 1st time visitor I did see way more - each tour is 3 hours long. Also went to Gozo and did the hop on/off bus tour there . Definitely recommend . The free harbour cruise that came with the tours is great . All the bus stops including the terminus and the ferry to Valetta are a very short walk ie about 5 minutes from the hotel. Local buses so cheap and run on time all over the island - 1.5 euros a day and the same for the ferry crossing to Valetta
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a stay in Malta .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view , high floor . It is definitely worth it as the views are amazing
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your writing the review and sharing your experience with other readers. I am glad that our met and hopefully even exceeded your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here for a week last year - first time in Malta and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The Waterfront is a great location from which to explore this lovely island, our room was clean and well serviced, the staff helpful and friendly and the restaurants really good value. There are also lots more places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you! It is such a pleasure to read and share such review with our Team. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with.

Please do not hesitate to contact any of our team, or me personally should you ever need any assistance when planning your next visit

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I find this a difficult hotel to review, as I could justify 2 stars, or at a stretch 5!

On the positive side, this is a mainly comfortable and friendly place to stay with good facilities, clean with excellent room house housekeeping, and conveniently located. It was also very competitively priced. We've enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

The problem is that the hotel boasts 4 stars, which sets an expectation around facilities, furnishings, service and food, but falls short of meeting those expectations.

To illustrate:
- on three of the seven nights we stayed, there were no breakfast tables laid, no staff obviously available to assist. We ended up laying our own table.
- the liquid soap offered was really only suitable for hand washing, we bought more suitable shower toiletries.
- the room furnishing was a little tired, with some of the woodwork in need of re-varnishing.
- the mattress felt more school dormitory than the soft comfort of a 4* hotel
- a lack of tea making facilities, which I understand is to be addressed
- the food was of a good standard (we breakfasted daily, one buffet dinner, and two a la carte), but not 4*
- there was a leak in the bathroom ceiling with heavy rain
- on one occasion a bath towel was not just worn thinly, but was holed (subsequently changed)

BUT I mention these things to help manage expectations, and perhaps explain why some others have rated the hotel lower.

When I consider the price we paid, and the facilities we have enjoyed, including the spacious room with good views, it was not just good value, but an enjoyable stay, and significantly, we would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors for lower noise and better views
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and constructive feedback. I have taken note of and discussed all the points listed will all the team. We are hoping that on your next visit we shall exceed all your expectations.

Please do contact me should you need any assistance when planning your next visit to our hotel.

Regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is definitely worth staying at location,staff and value for money . You get a very nice welcome from attentive staff who go the extra mile to help and advise during your stay. Good and rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. Your review has been shared with our Team Members! Such comments will certainly help us strive to do even better

We are looking forward to your next stay with us

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellent hotel,well situated on Sliema promenade,close to the Ferry across to Valletta. Plenty of Buses pass close by to Valletta and St Paul's, Buggiba etc.
Hotel has a pleasant atmosphere and staff are only too happy to help. This is our second visit and we hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sugarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure for us having you with us and please do not hesitate to contact me personally when you are planning your next visit to our beautiful island and hotel

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

have recently return from our stay at the waterfront our room with seaview was huge. staff very helpful and friendly. good selection on the menu both in the restaurant and basilica. room was cleaned daily again very helpful staff.
disappointed that i had to return home and missed the carnival, hope to make it next year. wifi connections spadmodic.

Room Tip: definately seaview
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and kind comments. We are glad that we have contributed in making your stay in Malta an enjoyable one. Please do let me know if I can ever be of any assistance

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,475 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#10 of 28 in Sliema
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £78 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is a leading 4 star hotel in Malta. Situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, the hotel is placed within walking distance from public transport and other services including bars and restaurants, several shopping outlets, The Plaza Shopping Centre and the Sliema Ferries. With stunning views of the Sliema creek, Manoel Island and the unmistakable silhouette of the capital city Valletta, The Waterfront hotel is the perfect choice for discerning travelers seeking comfort in exquisite surroundings. All of the 165 Hotel rooms and Suites are maintained to a very high standard and feature a balcony and an en suite or open plan bathroom. Rooms are also equipped with various amenities including private bathroom, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. Complimentary WiFi is available in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront hotel is also a popular venue for quality events and meetings in Malta. Our hotel is a perfect option for those getting married in Malta or are spending their honeymoon in Malta. The Waterfront Hotel offers dining options such as a buffet breakfast and dinner at the Regatta Restaurant or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Indoor Pool will also be undergoing extensive renovation works, and in view of the upcoming development of our Lido we shall offer complimentary transport and access to a neighboring Lido to ensure that our guests find the facilities they expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing