We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Palace(Sliema)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveller rating
425
600
246
66
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
600
246
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar caferegatta restaurantjean pierresea viewlobby barthe busroad noisemanoel islandrooftop poolsliema creekthe air conditioningfront facinghalf boardtea and coffeethird floorfried eggshigh floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
728 - 733 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the waterfront Hotel in Sliema for a week 8th-15th April and we had the best holiday in a long time! Reading other reports on tripadvisor i did feel a little apprehensive about the food but really the food was lovely with lots of choice, the staff in the dining room were also very nice, a special thankyou to anna for providing me with a weather forecast every day.
Our maid did a very good job of our room and I'm only sorry that we did not get to thank her on our last day.
The reception staff were also very good especially Marvic.
We really enjoyed our stay there, our only regret was only having one week instead of two!

Room Tip: we had the disability room, which was facing the courtyard at the back of the hotel, we had no sun on our balcony, but it was nice and peaceful
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 501heleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. These are greatly appreciated as they will assist us in further improving our service and product.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally when planning your next visit to our beautiful island and hotel

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The majority of the bedrooms of this hotel face over the waters of the harbour with partial views of the bastions of Valletta. It is only a short walk to the main shopping area of Sliema and there are numerous buses going to various points of the Island. It is quite a modern building but probably needs a refreshing makeover. It is situated alongside the Strand which is a dual carriageway leading to the main part of Sliema. There is some traffic noise but not too excessive and does not disturb when the balcony doors are closed. The bedrooms and the hotel generally are very clean. All of the staff are most helpful and polite. The buffet breakfast is ample but a little chaotic at times around the tea/coffee machines and the one toaster. Having spoken with the management I understand that these small issues are being attended to. There is a medium sized pool on the roof and plenty of sunbeds. The views from this point are extensive. I would not hesitate in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buttonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and for your time during your stay. It was a pleasure meeting you and hearing your feedback on how to improve our service. I am pleased to inform you that all that we have discussed have been taken on board and we are going to make the necessary changes / improvements.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in our hotel, please do let me know if I can be of any assistance

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Visited the Waterfront hotel last February. This hotel is beautiful with large and very clean rooms. Staff are very friendly especially the Lobby Bar waiters and the reception staff

Looking forward to goin back again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tatiana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments. I have passed them all to the staff mentioned. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you ever need any assistance when planning your next visit to our hotel

regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was so nice and helpful! It was the second time being to Malta and the location was perfect since we really like the Sliema area, and all the cosy Cafés. The cleaning was on time, and they took care of all our requests. We would defiantly recommend the hotel, and we are already planning our next trip. See you soon :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SashiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review and kind comments.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in our hotel

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We are just back from spending 4 nights at The Waterfront. This was our first (and last) visit to Malta so unable to compare with other Malta hotels, but have certainly had better and worse across Europe.

Staff: most of the staff were friendly, but those in the dinning hall were sullen (maybe they were embarrassed regarding the standard of the food?).

However, on checkout.....the 2 staff members behind the desk did not greet us as we approached the desk, did not enquire if we had enjoyed our stay? or wish us a good journey home or say goodbye......big training need here I think.

Room: based on other reports we upgraded to a seaview room with balcony. Nice enough room, plenty of space to move around and fantastic view across the bay to Valletta. However, the hotel sits on the main road in and out of Selina to Valletta so even on the 6th floor, there was still a lot of road noise. It would seem that the windows are not double glazed.
Bathroom was ok, but I can't remember the last time I saw a plastic shower hose attachment in any hotel let alone one professing to 4 stars? And only toiletries supplied are a liquid soap dispenser, not too unsimilar to those found in public toilets or in cheaper hotels.
Hairdryer, as effective as a gentle warm summer light breeze.
Any one thinking 'oh good a minibar'.....there is nothing on the website to say that this only contains soft drinks.
TV, this may be normal for Malta, but very old by UK/Europe standards (not flat screen).
Beds: (we had 2 single) comfy enough, but we were disgusted to see that there were no mattress or pillow protectors which is surely the most basic of requirements in any hotel? particularly a 4 star hotel. Maybe we've been watching too many episodes of Hotel Inspector.
Food: As we arrived mid-evening, for the first night we decided to eat at the hotel given the number of good reports on trip adviser. What a big mistake, and it made us wonder where else other people eat if they thought this was good. It was cheap, yes but not particularly good quality. It was buffet style and undoubtably one of the worst meals we had eaten in any hotel. Needless to say we gave that a miss for the rest of the holiday.
Breakfast: nice bacon, but eggs and bread totally tasteless and to make coffee that bad takes some skill!

So overall, this could be a nice hotel, but they really need to drag themselves into the 21st century and make some improvements.

Room Tip: Any room on the front even at higher level will be noisy. This was our experience of the 6th floor. Maybe the windows are better insulated.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seagull1WestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share with us your feedback following your stay at our hotel.

I was sorry to read that we failed to meet let alone exceed your expectations and I kindly ask you to contact me directly with more details to allow me to look into the matter further. My email address is ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt or on +356 2090 6850

At our hotel we value and appreciate all our guests and as such your comments come as a surprise.

I sincerely hope to hear from you very soon.

Kind Regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews