We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's worth doing again !! Relaxed and Enjoyable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's worth doing again !! Relaxed and Enjoyable.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our first visit to Malta was a very postive experience. Partly due to a significant contribution of our stay at the Waterfront Hotel ! (15th-22nd April).
Excellent location and surroundings; Views from the balcony; cleaniless and service is extraordinary; friendly staff; good food and service in Regatta Rest. as well in Basilica Rest.

We really enjoyed our stay and we don't have a difficult choice when we visit Malta once more !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you your review and kind comments. These are greatly appreciated and will certainly assist us to strive even better.

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    546
    216
    57
    25
See reviews for
166
688
69
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Always a pleasure to stay at the waterfront hotel. Its cleanliness and service is extraordinary. revisiting the waterfront hotel and enjoying the view from the balcony with friendly staff and excellent surrounding

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karlasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, these are greatly appreciated. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you ever require further assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the waterfront Hotel in Sliema for a week 8th-15th April and we had the best holiday in a long time! Reading other reports on tripadvisor i did feel a little apprehensive about the food but really the food was lovely with lots of choice, the staff in the dining room were also very nice, a special thankyou to anna for providing me with a weather forecast every day.
Our maid did a very good job of our room and I'm only sorry that we did not get to thank her on our last day.
The reception staff were also very good especially Marvic.
We really enjoyed our stay there, our only regret was only having one week instead of two!

Room Tip: we had the disability room, which was facing the courtyard at the back of the hotel, we had no sun o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 501heleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. These are greatly appreciated as they will assist us in further improving our service and product.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally when planning your next visit to our beautiful island and hotel

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The majority of the bedrooms of this hotel face over the waters of the harbour with partial views of the bastions of Valletta. It is only a short walk to the main shopping area of Sliema and there are numerous buses going to various points of the Island. It is quite a modern building but probably needs a refreshing makeover. It is situated alongside the Strand which is a dual carriageway leading to the main part of Sliema. There is some traffic noise but not too excessive and does not disturb when the balcony doors are closed. The bedrooms and the hotel generally are very clean. All of the staff are most helpful and polite. The buffet breakfast is ample but a little chaotic at times around the tea/coffee machines and the one toaster. Having spoken with the management I understand that these small issues are being attended to. There is a medium sized pool on the roof and plenty of sunbeds. The views from this point are extensive. I would not hesitate in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and for your time during your stay. It was a pleasure meeting you and hearing your feedback on how to improve our service. I am pleased to inform you that all that we have discussed have been taken on board and we are going to make the necessary changes / improvements.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in our hotel, please do let me know if I can be of any assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Visited the Waterfront hotel last February. This hotel is beautiful with large and very clean rooms. Staff are very friendly especially the Lobby Bar waiters and the reception staff

Looking forward to goin back again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tatiana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments. I have passed them all to the staff mentioned. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you ever need any assistance when planning your next visit to our hotel

regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was so nice and helpful! It was the second time being to Malta and the location was perfect since we really like the Sliema area, and all the cosy Cafés. The cleaning was on time, and they took care of all our requests. We would defiantly recommend the hotel, and we are already planning our next trip. See you soon :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review and kind comments.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in our hotel

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We are just back from spending 4 nights at The Waterfront. This was our first (and last) visit to Malta so unable to compare with other Malta hotels, but have certainly had better and worse across Europe.

Staff: most of the staff were friendly, but those in the dinning hall were sullen (maybe they were embarrassed regarding the standard of the food?).

However, on checkout.....the 2 staff members behind the desk did not greet us as we approached the desk, did not enquire if we had enjoyed our stay? or wish us a good journey home or say goodbye......big training need here I think.

Room: based on other reports we upgraded to a seaview room with balcony. Nice enough room, plenty of space to move around and fantastic view across the bay to Valletta. However, the hotel sits on the main road in and out of Selina to Valletta so even on the 6th floor, there was still a lot of road noise. It would seem that the windows are not double glazed.
Bathroom was ok, but I can't remember the last time I saw a plastic shower hose attachment in any hotel let alone one professing to 4 stars? And only toiletries supplied are a liquid soap dispenser, not too unsimilar to those found in public toilets or in cheaper hotels.
Hairdryer, as effective as a gentle warm summer light breeze.
Any one thinking 'oh good a minibar'.....there is nothing on the website to say that this only contains soft drinks.
TV, this may be normal for Malta, but very old by UK/Europe standards (not flat screen).
Beds: (we had 2 single) comfy enough, but we were disgusted to see that there were no mattress or pillow protectors which is surely the most basic of requirements in any hotel? particularly a 4 star hotel. Maybe we've been watching too many episodes of Hotel Inspector.
Food: As we arrived mid-evening, for the first night we decided to eat at the hotel given the number of good reports on trip adviser. What a big mistake, and it made us wonder where else other people eat if they thought this was good. It was cheap, yes but not particularly good quality. It was buffet style and undoubtably one of the worst meals we had eaten in any hotel. Needless to say we gave that a miss for the rest of the holiday.
Breakfast: nice bacon, but eggs and bread totally tasteless and to make coffee that bad takes some skill!

So overall, this could be a nice hotel, but they really need to drag themselves into the 21st century and make some improvements.

Room Tip: Any room on the front even at higher level will be noisy. This was our experience of the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seagull1WestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share with us your feedback following your stay at our hotel.

I was sorry to read that we failed to meet let alone exceed your expectations and I kindly ask you to contact me directly with more details to allow me to look into the matter further. My email address is ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt or on +356 2090 6850

At our hotel we value and appreciate all our guests and as such your comments come as a surprise.

I sincerely hope to hear from you very soon.

Kind Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,353 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in Mid 2017 The Waterfront Hotel is a 4 star hotel situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, overlooking Sliema Creek, Manoel Island and the capital city, Valletta. Newly refurbished to a high standards, the hotel is just 150 meters away from the nearest bus stop and within walking distance from several bars, restaurants and shopping outlets in Sliema, The Plaza shopping mall and the Ferries. All rooms are stylishly designed and feature various amenities including, an en suite bathroom and balcony, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. WiFi is available for free in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront Hotel offers various dining options including buffet breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant, or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Waterfront Hotel also features an indoor swimming pool and outdoor lido. The Waterfront Hotel offers the best location, personalized service, and Maltese hospitality at its very best. The Waterfront Hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere to make your stay in Malta a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing