We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visit to Malta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First time visit to Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just back from a 7 day stay at the Waterfront. Found the hotel ideal for our needs, we stayed on a half board basis, enjoyed the food on the nights we ate in the hotel, tried my best not to overindulge but like to try new things particularly enjoyed the stuffed cabbage and the fish pie . Found the staff very helpful and friendly especially Eric.

Also enjoyed chatting to Jean Pierre an excellent barman.

We had a sea view room on the fourth floor and didn't find the traffic noise a problem at all, just keep the balcony door shut, the air conditioning keeps the room nice and cool if you do.

The only thing I found mildly irritating was having to use the lift all the time, particularly after a pre dinner drink in the bar then having to take the lift one floor to and from the dining room, particularly when you kindly hold the door open so other people to get in then they insist that you are not getting in when the lift takes 8 people.

I would recommend this hotel, and Malta

We did use the bus to go into Valletta but by the time it gets to the stop near the hotel it is already packed and you have to stand and hang on for grim death. We found the ferry much more comfortable if you are going to Valletta during the day, far quicker than the bus, but slightly more expensive 1.50 one way or 2.80 return but you can get a 7 day ticket for 10euros. There is a steep hill at Valletta but there is a mini bus service that takes you past the worst of the hill for 1 euro and also to the ferry to the three cities, if you want to visit Fort Rinella which is well worth a visit if you have an interest in military history, They have regular displays of drills with sabres and we also saw a display on horseback with lance drills, If you want you can have a go at shooting a rifle & a cannon both of which my husband did. Real living history

We also ate out at Il Merrill on our last night which was excellent .

Tony's Bar is worth a visit, and handy for the ferry, we avoided the busy places close to the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 352Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments and thank you for mentioning Jean Pierre and Eric for their service. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcome you back

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you need any assistance when planning your next visit

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    546
    215
    57
    19
See reviews for
166
685
68
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Excellent service. My wife needs extra care, and the staff went out of their way to help. Also, we needed a change of room and they obliged us within 24 hours. Excellent food in the restaurant. Reception and wait staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emanuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you. Your kind comments are appreciated and will be passed on. It is refreshing to receive positive comments. Often tiny complaints make more noise than the constant good work that goes on a daily basis…and positive comments help to put things into perspective

Please do contact me personally should you ever require any assistance when planning your next visit to our hotel

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is well located on the sea front; the bus across the street takes you in to Valletta where you can then change at a Bombi stop to get to most tourist locations beyond this. The boat cruise tours go from just across the street too. The lounge bar is reasonably priced and does good cocktails. We ate at the basilico restaurant on the ground floor twice, and the food is reasonably priced and good quality. We stayed with breakfast included, and this has a good variety of options (cooked, continental, fruit/yogurt and toast/ cereal). Our room was quite large and any downsides I can think of are minor niggles; the rooftop bar by the pool wasn't open during our trip, the mini bar isn't restocked daily (a cold bottle of water is handy in the heat) and the top sheet was a little threadbare on our first two days, but this was swapped to a fluffy duvet without us mentioning it for the rest of the stay. The staff were nice, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMW322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your constructive feedback, these are greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

There is nothing fundamentally wrong with this hotel, but it is definitely not a 4*. The positives - the location is very good, right on the waterfront in Sliema, a short walk from the local buses, ferry to Valletta and starting point for boat trips to various parts of the island. Yes, it is on a (busy) main road, and if you want peace and quiet whilst on your balcony, then it is not for you. We didn't mind this and once the patio doors were shut the noise didn't bother us. The room (408) was large, clean and perfectly adequate. The mini-bar was well stocked (with soft drinks) and there was plenty of information about room service, the Basilico Restaurant menu etc. The public areas were fine - there is a bar, cafe, internet service in the lobby and a car park. The negatives - sometimes the room was not cleaned until late afternoon, which was tiresome as this was the hottest time of the day and the time we wanted to be in the room. However, the chambermaid was lovely and the room was cleaned to a high standard. The air-conditioning was noisy and not very effective. It was only on during certain hours, and not at all at night until we complained - our room got full sun first thing in the morning and was very hot and stuffy overnight. It also went off when we were out as it was operated using the hotel key card, which meant that the room was also hot and stuffy when we arrived back each day. The bathrooms are really not 4* at all - plastic shower fixtures, the toilet didn't always flush, the decor was tired and the towels were quite worn. The food was plentiful, but sadly the quality was rather lacking. Nothing had much taste, from fruit and veg to the ice cream...it was just disappointing. Nothing I ate all week really stood out. It wasn't awful...just unmemorable. The drinks service in the restaurant was also very hit and miss. Some nights we were served right away...one night they took our order...I reminded them twice...still no drinks by the time we were at the end of our main course. In the end helped myself to the bottle of wine that we had left over from the previous night that was standing in a corner, and got the distinct impression from one member of staff that she wasn't impressed that I had taken matters into my own hands! We saw this happen to other people during the time we were there - sometimes the staff were excellent and fast, other times tables weren't cleared in time for other guests to use them and drinks were brought late after several reminders. Also we didn't find a set of stairs for general use - there are fire escape stairs of course but guests must use the lifts - there are three, one of which doesn't service the restaurant floor (!) so all guests use just two small lifts. In all fairness, our stay wasn't terrible - there were aspects of it that were disappointing but I wouldn't dismiss this hotel entirely - just be aware that it isn't truly a 4* and perhaps book B & B not half board.

Room Tip: Be aware that whilst the view from the sea-view rooms is fantastic, they may be too noisy for some p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo1Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and constructive feedback. I have taken note of all your comments and these shall be discussed with all the relevant Head of Departments. Such feedback can only help us to strive even better.
Please do not hesitate to contact me on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt should you wish to discuss these issues further or should you ever need any assistance when planning your next stay with us

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had the pleasure of taking my daughter for her 1st visit to Malta and we both enjoyed our stay.

Upon arrival (late due to issues at MIA) we were given a warm welcome and assisted by the reception staff with sorting a couple of, non-hotel, problems.

Our twin bedded room was plenty big enough and had some wonderful views of the harbour towards Valletta.

The hotel is well situated for exploring the island being less than 2 minutes from a local bus stop and only 5 minutes from Sliema ferries where you can book all sorts of excursions.

There were a couple of very minor problems which once brought to the attention of reception were dealt with promptly.

All in all a lovely stay and we hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up or on the side are quieter, best views from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we were delighted to read of your enjoyable stay at The Waterfront Hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is supposed to be 4 star hotel and, I guess, technically it is but I have some advice for people looking at this property. It looks like back in 1990 or 1995 it was a very nice hotel but at this point, it's showing it's age (since the last renovation). In the bathroom, the back of the door varnish was peeling off, poor tile work, chrome starting to break down, etc.. Nothing like bugs or dirt but the pictures are certainly outdated. Tiny pool on the roof and the (I've been to many hotels all over the world) WORST breakfast I've ever tried to eat. If the food was edible, I'd say the selection is good but for example, the bacon and sausages looked like they'd been steamed. Coffee was horrible, etc... Front desk people ran the gamut from useless to helpful. Nearest ATM and bus stop to the beaches is 700-800 meters. Not a short walk but not impossible.

I will say the views from the rooms and dining room were spectacular. The room was clean and the bed firm enough to avoid backache but no Temperpedic by a long shot. Towels and sheets were almost see through, etc.... So, in the end, the claims they make are all true but just barely. But hey, for $120 a night, what do you expect?

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, road noise on 1st floor was distracting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miticodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your time to share your experience with TripAdvisor users your experience at The Waterfront Hotel.

Whilst I note with great satisfaction your comments in relation to our location and most importantly the level of cleanliness, it is disappointing to receive comments in relation to your dining experience. Your comments will be discussed with our Operations team so as to ensure that any necessary corrective action is implemented without delay.

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just got back from our first holiday to the lovely islands of Malta. We stayed for one week at the Waterfront, four-star, hotel. It is situated next to the Sliema harbour with great access to Sliema, St Julians and the capital - Valletta. Hotel was lovely. Very clean and the rooms are larger than expected. Excellent balcony view of the harbour. The room is cleaned EVERY day, and the staff are very polite and helpful. A special thanks goes out to Marvic & Levka from the front desk who helped us with all our inquires and were extremely helpful and smiley. Would definitely pick this hotel again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view of the harbour. The hotel has seven floors, since the eig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Snowwhite357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and Team at The Waterfront Hotel, I would like to thank you for your review and kind comments. We are glad that we have made your stay with us a very pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt should you ever require any assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#7 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location along the Sliema seafront promenade, this new hotel has been developed to the highest standards of comfort and hygiene. Its location provides spectacular views of the Valletta harbour. This 4-star 116-roomed property features two restaurants, a lobby bar, a roof-top swimming pool with snack bar and a guest lounge. Each of the rooms is excellently finished, and features a balcony, an en suite bathroom, mini-bar, guest safe and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing