We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. We last visited ten years ago at the very end of September and we had good memories of a wonderful holiday there then. We again requested a side twin room high up and we were delighted to get a corner room on the fifth floor. Our adult son had a twin room to himself (at extra cost) a few floors below facing the inner courtyard. The corner room was very spacious which was great for us having our son often relaxing with us. The balcony had good views and there was no traffic noise when the doors were closed

The room could do with a revamp - the long wall of the room on the left side looked a bit like it had been scraped for painting and then not done, or else it was damp, we were not sure. The beds were comfortable and had welcome top sheets and covers and blankets if you needed them (not needed!) The bathroom was certainly adequate but not up to what one expects of a four star hotel, but everything was working well and we appreciated continual hot water. The inner bathroom door needed re - varnishing and the room lacked toiletries. In the bedroom there was a small fridge to store our water in and a kettle, cups and small selection of tea bags, coffee sachets etc. We were glad to have brought our own teabags as there were only two tea bags put in there daily. The free wi-fi worked very well in our room and that of our sons', so maybe intermittent wi-fi that other reviewers have mentioned depends upon where one's room is situated. It was appreciated that the wi-fi was free. There was also a roomy safe in the wardrobe and again that was free to use, and that was very welcome.

We were looking forward to excellent air conditioning again but unfortunately this was not the case this time. We arrived in 28C heat and during the course of that afternoon the air con was lack lustre to say the least, although we had set it at the maximum. It was not lovely, cold air conditioning that we had had ten years before. During that night we all woke up in a sweat, the air con was pumping warm air into the room and we could not sleep for the heat. We reported this next morning to reception who sent an engineer to check it, but it was no better that night. Only then we found out that the "cool" air con was switched off at about 10.30pm and then it just pumps out general air, which made the room temp to the mid 20'sC. (We had a small thermometer with us) Obviously this is to save costs, but it is during the night that one needs it. If the hotel wants to save costs, it would be better to switch it off for a few hours during the day when most people are out. So our sleeps were not at all good during our stay. Our son had exactly the same problem in his room. and could not sleep for the heat.

Housekeeping was better - I requested different pillows and this was arranged immediately. The rooms were cleaned well and the staff were quiet in the corridors.

The staff at reception were exceptionally friendly and helpful as was the porter who helped us with our bags when we arrived. They are a credit to the hotel and one of the hotel's best points, apart from its position.

We were on a B&B basis and did not rate the breakfasts as up to scratch for a four star hotel. The fruit juices from the machine were hit and miss, sometimes very watery and awful, sometimes fine. The tea and coffee were OK from the machine. Mostly I was disappointed that there was no-one on duty behind the hot food. Usually in a hotel there is someone to cook fried eggs, omelettes etc on the spot but this was not the case. I had to go looking for a staff member to request a fried egg, and the first time my order was forgotten and I had to re-order while it was done in the kitchen and altogether I must have waited about ten minutes. I didn't think the staff at breakfast time were on the ball, but maybe there was a staff shortage at that time? The hot food was exactly the same every day and not very appetising, except the chicken sausages which I loved. The fresh fruit salad was not inviting to eat at all, a lot of it apple swimming in juice. I did enjoy the big bowl of yoghurt though. Not eating wheat, I did not try the small cakes/biscuits but they did not look very nice and my son confirmed this.

In the evenings we ate out three times and the rest we ate at The Basilica. This was a lovely, attractive restaurant with great views and the staff were attentive. The food was excellent, nice generous portions, very tasty and reasonably priced. We loved this restaurant. We did not try the main restaurant for the evening buffet. One afternoon we had tea and cake in the ground floor cafe and this was very good too. We were served by two very friendly foreign girls and the cakes were delicious. It is bought in but is very good, worth a visit.

As everyone else has mentioned, the hotel is so well positioned for the buses, ferry, shops, eating places etc and this is really its selling point. We had booked months in advance to visit the Hypogeum and were worried we might miss our expensive, timed slot. However, a short work from the hotel to one of the bus stops and we caught the airport bus to within a few yards of the place.

All in all we enjoyed our holiday as we love Malta, but feel that the Waterfront needs to address a number of things to bring it up to what one expects from a four star hotel - mainly the air con, the quality of the breakfasts, and the revamping of the bedrooms and for this reason I give it only three stars.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brittnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and constructive feedback. These are greatly appreciated by all, as they will certainly assist us in improving both our product and service.

Please do not hesitate to get in contact with me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.,com.mt or on + 356 2090 6850 should you ever require any assistance

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Waterfront on a b/b basis. We had a full sea view which meant we were overlooking the harbour and stunning views of Valetta, although you were looking onto the main road we didn't really get much traffic noise once the windows were closed. The hotel and rooms was spotlessly clean. The staff were efficient. The breakfasts were the normal hotel buffet menu, ok but nothing special. Tea & coffee was provided in the rooms which is great but I would have liked to have more than one milk each per day. On the whole we had a very enjoyable stay and would return if ever in Sliema.

Room Tip: Opt for a full sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback, these are greatly appreciated as they will assist us in striving to provide a better product

Please do let me know if I can ever be of any further assistance

Regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just come back from 10 days at the Waterfront.Our second visit in 2 years.The staff are always very friendly and helpful but there are one or two issues which need sorting out.Although there are now tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms,which is a definite improvement,the bathrooms are still not equipped with proper toiletries,which is a shame.The rooms are very clean and comfortable but the Wifi(a new addition to the rooms this year) is very erratic and most days we were only able to get a connection in the foyer/bar and not in the room itself.Breakfast is adequate with enough choice to suit most tastes but the dinner menu choice is not very wide and a bit disappointing,though it is very reasonably priced at 15 euros for 3 courses.The staff in the main dining room were great,however some of the staff in the Basilico restaurant were very unprofessional and the service left a lot to be desired.We had a poor dining experience there last year but gave it the benefit of the doubt this year but were unimpressed with the service and the food. It s a pity,because it could be a very nice restaurant and has a lovely view over Sliema Creek.
We are thinking about coming back to Malta next year but may well try another hotel in Sliema.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCB623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I was disappointed to read that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas. I have taken note of all the negatives comments listed and some are already in our plans to update.

Thanks again for your feedback and comments, these will assist us to continually strive to provide a better service. I would greatly appreciate it if you can contact me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt to discuss these issues further. We would sincerely love to have you back at our hotel and see the improvements we have planned

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require further assistance
Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff is great and helpful. Breakfast is very good!
The view from the rooms with balconies toward the seaside are just super! Easy to get to the busses and boats.
Negative: the internet was not that good and the TV on the room was from the 80's.

Room Tip: We got room no 309, it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island and hotel

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife & I stayed here for a week in June. From email questions I sent before going to checking out on the last day nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were
friendly & helpfull. We had room 504 which was a side sea view room towards the front of the hotel with great views from the balcony, the room was clean & comfortable & cleaned each day although on two occasions dirty towels were not replaced although the first time this was remedied after a call to reception, ghetto second time they never turned up but as this was our last evening we didn't bother asking again. The breakfast selection was very good, something for any taste. We ate at the star cafe a couple of times & the food was good but one evening our order was taken after 40 minutes waiting the waiter came to apologise that our order had not gone through to the kitchen, asked if we would like more drinks while waiting which we did. The food eventually arrived which was nice but not worth the wait or the price. On receiving the bill we were charged for the second drinks which I thought would have been complimentary given that we waited over an hour for our meals.
Overall a very nice hotel & would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you. Your kind comments are appreciated and will be passed on. It is refreshing to receive positive comments. Often tiny complaints make more noise than the constant good work that goes on a daily basis…and positive comments help to put things into perspective

I do however apologise for the mishap during your dinner and we hope that we are able to rectify this issue when we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at our hotel

Please do contact me personally should you ever require any assistance when planning your next visit to our hotel

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have recently returned from a fantastic 2 weeks staying at the Waterfront, all the staff are very friendly yet truly professional. We have stayed at this hotel before and have noted each time the added items to make our holidays extra special, this year they have included tea and coffee facilities in the bedrooms which has been lovely enabling us to have a coffee when we want, one not many hotels in Malta offer this service without charging we did appreciate. We asked for different pillows as we have neck problems and they were delivered right away without any problem by the staff.
We will be staying again at the Waterfront when we visit Malta as we have stayed at others in Sliema but not one comes near the Waterfront Hotel for location, very easy to get anywhere on the island, staff who all treat you as someone special and also great value for money.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are well worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback. It was such a pleasure reading your comments and a great satisfaction to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Please do let me know if I can be of further assistance when planning your visit

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and things have not improved.
The lifts in the hotel are very slow and since there is not easy access to stairs, the journey down one floor to the restaurant could take 10 minutes at peak time.
My tariff was B&B but I must comment that the breakfast fare was not up to other 4 star Maltese hotels. There was a poor choice of hot items and no choice of pastries at all.
I always thought that Malta was famous for its breakfast pastries but somebody has forgotten to tell the Waterfront Hotel Chef.
Come on Waterfront...your location is superb, but your service is not!
One last thing, the WiFi is slow and you have to reset it every time you move from one area in the hotel to another.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for you for your review and feedback on your stay with us, this is greatly appreciated

I would like to apologise for the small downfalls mentioned in your review and I can assure you that we will do our very best to amend accordingly.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to hosting you again at our hotel and hopefully all the negative points listed will be a plus in your next review

Kind regards
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,573 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,200 reviews
0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £59 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is a leading 4 star hotel in Malta. Situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, the hotel is placed within walking distance from public transport and other services including bars and restaurants, several shopping outlets, The Plaza Shopping Centre and the Sliema Ferries. With stunning views of the Sliema creek, Manoel Island and the unmistakable silhouette of the capital city Valletta, The Waterfront hotel is the perfect choice for discerning travelers seeking comfort in exquisite surroundings. All of the 165 Hotel rooms and Suites are maintained to a very high standard and feature a balcony and an en suite or open plan bathroom. Rooms are also equipped with various amenities including private bathroom, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. Complimentary WiFi is available in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront hotel is also a popular venue for quality events and meetings in Malta. Our hotel is a perfect option for those getting married in Malta or are spending their honeymoon in Malta. The Waterfront Hotel offers dining options such as a buffet breakfast and dinner at the Regatta Restaurant or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Indoor Pool will also be undergoing extensive renovation works, and in view of the upcoming development of our Lido we shall offer complimentary transport and access to a neighboring Lido to ensure that our guests find the facilities they expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing