We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the waterfront hotel from the 12th July to the 26th July we had a fantastic time ,we were in room 310 amazing views.we were made very welcome especially by marvic on the front desk what a very lovely lady very professional her kindness was very much appreciated,we would also like to mention the very kind and caring bar man Jean Pierre who made our time at the hotel also special thank you so much the hotel business is very lucky to have lovely people like marvic and Jean Pierre .Xxx

Room Tip: Room 310 good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 75susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at The Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for sharing your comments and for mentioning Marvic and Jean Pierre for their service. We are very proud of them and all the team.

We are certainly looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    546
    216
    57
    25
See reviews for
166
688
69
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Superb hotel we had a great room 109 facing the bay , the staff very friendly , good breakfast a mix of full English and continental , the help yourself buffet evening meal couldn't have been better a selection of roast meats and fish was avalable every night and a vast selection of gateau and ice cream and cheeses for desert , a fantastic roof top pool with amazing views across the bay with a bar selling drinks and light snacks , I would defiantly go and stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting such a positive review about your recent stay at The Waterfront Hotel. Your comments will certainly motivate and encourage us to strive even better and always aim at providing the highest standard of service to our esteemed guests.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

From checking in to checking out we had a really good stay at this hotel. Our room No. 212 on the 2nd floor overlooking Selima harbour. The receptionist was very welcoming, gave an overview of the hotel. The double room (twin beds) was very clean, with everything needed for a comfortable stay - small fridge with small bottles of drinks, chocolate, and water, all on a pay as you consume basis - kettle, tea, coffee,milk,sugar - the bathroom (shower over bath) provides shampoo, conditioner, soap, moisture cream, shower cap, and hairdriver, towels are replenished when required.
The buffet breakfast was the same each day, but with such a varied selection - cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurt, juices, salad, bacon, sausage, several types of bread, eggs - fried/boiled/scrambled/omlette, pancakes,biscuits, cakes,tea,coffee,chocolate, and much more.
The dining room waitresses were very attentive and efficient.
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to future guests, we look forward to visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: Front room overlooking harbour - sun in morning through to late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and team I would like to thank you for your kind comments. These are greatly appreciated and they will for sure help us to strive even better

We are looking forward to having you again with us. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance when you are planning your next visit

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have recently stayed at the Waterfront Hotel, and found it to be of a good standard throughout, with comfortable rooms, and a really good location along the seafront of Sliema. I was fortunate to be given a side room with a fantastic view across to Valletta, and although this Hotel is situated on the main road, I wasn't disturbed by traffic noise, Staff were efficient and helpful, and I hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you! Thank you for your time writing the review and for your kind comments.
Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from a week in this hotel on a b&b basis. The hotel was clean, the location good and despite other comments we had read we found the air conditioning to be perfectly adequate. As others have said the bathrooms could do with updating but the rather basic shower over the bath had good pressure and there was constant hot water. We had an inside room on the 5th floor and did not hear any street noise. Breakfast was fairly standard and we did not have any evening meals in the restaurants. Our main issue was the wi-fi which worked very well in our room for the first two days and didn't work at all thereafter. Judging by the number of people in the lobby at any time with various electronic devices I assume this was a common problem! Our other minor niggle was that the tea and coffee tray was not replenished on a daily basis. On one occasion we rang reception and in fairness someone was up within 10 minutes but the next day again no coffee!
Overall a good clean hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and comments, these are greatly appreciated

Kindly note that the replenishing of the Tea & Coffee is done daily when the housekeeping service the rooms but I can understand if on rare occasions this was overlooked and for this I apologise.

With regards to the WiFi, with the assistance of our provider we are looking into the best possible solutions to make this service a better one

We are looking forward to welcoming you back, in the meantime please do let me know if I can be of further assistance

Kind Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. We last visited ten years ago at the very end of September and we had good memories of a wonderful holiday there then. We again requested a side twin room high up and we were delighted to get a corner room on the fifth floor. Our adult son had a twin room to himself (at extra cost) a few floors below facing the inner courtyard. The corner room was very spacious which was great for us having our son often relaxing with us. The balcony had good views and there was no traffic noise when the doors were closed

The room could do with a revamp - the long wall of the room on the left side looked a bit like it had been scraped for painting and then not done, or else it was damp, we were not sure. The beds were comfortable and had welcome top sheets and covers and blankets if you needed them (not needed!) The bathroom was certainly adequate but not up to what one expects of a four star hotel, but everything was working well and we appreciated continual hot water. The inner bathroom door needed re - varnishing and the room lacked toiletries. In the bedroom there was a small fridge to store our water in and a kettle, cups and small selection of tea bags, coffee sachets etc. We were glad to have brought our own teabags as there were only two tea bags put in there daily. The free wi-fi worked very well in our room and that of our sons', so maybe intermittent wi-fi that other reviewers have mentioned depends upon where one's room is situated. It was appreciated that the wi-fi was free. There was also a roomy safe in the wardrobe and again that was free to use, and that was very welcome.

We were looking forward to excellent air conditioning again but unfortunately this was not the case this time. We arrived in 28C heat and during the course of that afternoon the air con was lack lustre to say the least, although we had set it at the maximum. It was not lovely, cold air conditioning that we had had ten years before. During that night we all woke up in a sweat, the air con was pumping warm air into the room and we could not sleep for the heat. We reported this next morning to reception who sent an engineer to check it, but it was no better that night. Only then we found out that the "cool" air con was switched off at about 10.30pm and then it just pumps out general air, which made the room temp to the mid 20'sC. (We had a small thermometer with us) Obviously this is to save costs, but it is during the night that one needs it. If the hotel wants to save costs, it would be better to switch it off for a few hours during the day when most people are out. So our sleeps were not at all good during our stay. Our son had exactly the same problem in his room. and could not sleep for the heat.

Housekeeping was better - I requested different pillows and this was arranged immediately. The rooms were cleaned well and the staff were quiet in the corridors.

The staff at reception were exceptionally friendly and helpful as was the porter who helped us with our bags when we arrived. They are a credit to the hotel and one of the hotel's best points, apart from its position.

We were on a B&B basis and did not rate the breakfasts as up to scratch for a four star hotel. The fruit juices from the machine were hit and miss, sometimes very watery and awful, sometimes fine. The tea and coffee were OK from the machine. Mostly I was disappointed that there was no-one on duty behind the hot food. Usually in a hotel there is someone to cook fried eggs, omelettes etc on the spot but this was not the case. I had to go looking for a staff member to request a fried egg, and the first time my order was forgotten and I had to re-order while it was done in the kitchen and altogether I must have waited about ten minutes. I didn't think the staff at breakfast time were on the ball, but maybe there was a staff shortage at that time? The hot food was exactly the same every day and not very appetising, except the chicken sausages which I loved. The fresh fruit salad was not inviting to eat at all, a lot of it apple swimming in juice. I did enjoy the big bowl of yoghurt though. Not eating wheat, I did not try the small cakes/biscuits but they did not look very nice and my son confirmed this.

In the evenings we ate out three times and the rest we ate at The Basilica. This was a lovely, attractive restaurant with great views and the staff were attentive. The food was excellent, nice generous portions, very tasty and reasonably priced. We loved this restaurant. We did not try the main restaurant for the evening buffet. One afternoon we had tea and cake in the ground floor cafe and this was very good too. We were served by two very friendly foreign girls and the cakes were delicious. It is bought in but is very good, worth a visit.

As everyone else has mentioned, the hotel is so well positioned for the buses, ferry, shops, eating places etc and this is really its selling point. We had booked months in advance to visit the Hypogeum and were worried we might miss our expensive, timed slot. However, a short work from the hotel to one of the bus stops and we caught the airport bus to within a few yards of the place.

All in all we enjoyed our holiday as we love Malta, but feel that the Waterfront needs to address a number of things to bring it up to what one expects from a four star hotel - mainly the air con, the quality of the breakfasts, and the revamping of the bedrooms and for this reason I give it only three stars.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and constructive feedback. These are greatly appreciated by all, as they will certainly assist us in improving both our product and service.

Please do not hesitate to get in contact with me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.,com.mt or on + 356 2090 6850 should you ever require any assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Waterfront on a b/b basis. We had a full sea view which meant we were overlooking the harbour and stunning views of Valetta, although you were looking onto the main road we didn't really get much traffic noise once the windows were closed. The hotel and rooms was spotlessly clean. The staff were efficient. The breakfasts were the normal hotel buffet menu, ok but nothing special. Tea & coffee was provided in the rooms which is great but I would have liked to have more than one milk each per day. On the whole we had a very enjoyable stay and would return if ever in Sliema.

Room Tip: Opt for a full sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback, these are greatly appreciated as they will assist us in striving to provide a better product

Please do let me know if I can ever be of any further assistance

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in Mid 2017 The Waterfront Hotel is a 4 star hotel situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, overlooking Sliema Creek, Manoel Island and the capital city, Valletta. Newly refurbished to a high standards, the hotel is just 150 meters away from the nearest bus stop and within walking distance from several bars, restaurants and shopping outlets in Sliema, The Plaza shopping mall and the Ferries. All rooms are stylishly designed and feature various amenities including, an en suite bathroom and balcony, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. WiFi is available for free in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront Hotel offers various dining options including buffet breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant, or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Waterfront Hotel also features an indoor swimming pool and outdoor lido. The Waterfront Hotel offers the best location, personalized service, and Maltese hospitality at its very best. The Waterfront Hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere to make your stay in Malta a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing