We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Regular visitor to Malta (in the blood!) but with husband always stayed up North (as a youngster in Sliema). As friends with us this time decided to stay more central, nearer to Valletta and relatives. The reviews of this hotel decided for us. We were not disappointed. Wonderful staff and lovely rooms. Ladies (and gents!) if you wear contact lenses (like me) and need a magnified mirror to help you see them take one with you - I always carry one wherever I go. This is the ONLY thing missing from the rooms and most hotels I've stayed in don't provide one! We ate in the hotel restaurant a few times and were not disappointed. If you like salad, as I do - heaven! Only went to the pool a couple of times and only a few people there so none of the usual problems with sunbeds. The hotel is near to a great choice of restaurants (five minute walk) but just far enough away not to be noisy - which some of them are! Yes, I must be getting old! I just can't fault this hotel or it's location. Well done Char (Annetta!) x
.

Room Tip: Sea view room gives a lively view but make sure it's a clear view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments. We are really glad that we have managed to make your stay a memorable one.

We are hoping to see you again at The Waterfront Hotel. Please do contact me personally should you require any assistance when planning to do so

Warm Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    546
    216
    57
    20
See reviews for
166
685
68
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

First time we have stayed here but it will not be the last! Great position in Sliema, so close to the ferry to Valletta, the shops and restaurants with easy to access the boat trips and the buses, lovely views over Valletta. The hotel itself is lovely with the staff very friendly and helpful. We had room 311 with a seaview and balcony - spent our early evenings there with a bottle of Maltese wine just watching the people and the boats come and go! Good sized room, very clean and well decorated - fridge useful for the wine and bottled water. Breakfast in restaurant was great - plenty to choose from each morning and never really busy. We ate once in the Basilico restaurant and the meal was very nice with great service from the staff. We also went to the barbecue which is on a Friday and Saturday night on the 8th floor near the pool - lovely food and a great place to see the fireworks in the night sky. We indulged in cocktails in the lobby bar on some evenings and again the service was excellent. Thanks to everyone at the Waterfront for making our first holiday in Malta so special! We will be back....

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a seaview - some road noise at the front but not too much of a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie504032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you!! Thank you for your time writing the review and also for your kind comments. These will certainly assist us at The Waterfront Hotel to strive even better

We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I
have stayed at this hotel 7 times now and can not fault any aspect of the hotel and ils services
the staff are always polite and helpful.i hope to stay there the next time i am in Malta.The hotel is opposite the city walls of valletta which is a short sea ferry ride away

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review and for your loyalty towards our hotel. Everyone here at The Waterfront Hotel are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Please do let us know if we can be of any assistance when planning your next visit.

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxtel, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Very goord hotel with good personel. we stayed there for two weeks in July/august. The rooms are claened every day. The restaurant is very good and have a lot of different kinds of food. There is free wifi avaible in the rooms and the lobby.

Room Tip: we had a room at the inside of the hotel with a smaal balcony. we call it our sunshade room. a litll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gijs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Waterfront Hotel is situated right next to the water and shopping district with a direct view to Valetta. Hidden away in side streets are wonderful local restaurants. In other words, a perfect spot for all your needs and wishes. There is also a beautiful beach nearby. Tour buses stop right across the street and the receptionists will help you on every step of the way. They will also fix you a taxi if you wish to go anywhere specific, with drivers employed by the hotel.
The staff are very helpful, professional and friendly. The rooms are nice and cleaned every day.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a very good hotel to a good price!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andebyen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your kind and constructive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you ever require any assistance

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

It's really good hotel. Very clear and nice rooms with beautiful view. Service is very pleasure. Atmosphere is relaxing. Lodging of this hotel is also so comfortable, beach and centre isn't so far and transport is available.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank appleomsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are glad that we have been able to make your stay a very enjoyable one

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you ever require any assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights (29 July - 5 August), on a half board basis and were not disappointed. Spotlessly clean with polite, attentive & helpful staff. The only slight criticism is that I have had a better food choice for evening dinner in other 4* hotels, however that said the food was very good.

The hotel is in a good location within easy walking distance to bus stops and also the ferry to Valetta. Plenty of café bars and little shops also within the immediate vicinity.

The acid test within any review is to whether or not you would return & we would certainly go back to this establishment.

Jim, Dundee.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors as the main road can be busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimdundee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you fro your review and feedback. I was happy to read that you will choose our hotel as your accommodation for your next visit. For us that is a huge compliment

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you ever require any assistance

We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is a 4 star hotel situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, overlooking Sliema Creek, Manoel Island and the capital city, Valletta. Newly refurbished to a high standards, the hotel is just 150 meters away from the nearest bus stop and within walking distance from several bars, restaurants and shopping outlets in Sliema, The Plaza shopping mall and the Ferries. All rooms are stylishly designed and feature various amenities including, an en suite bathroom and balcony, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. WiFi is available for free in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront Hotel offers various dining options including buffet breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant, or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Waterfront Hotel also features an indoor swimming pool and outdoor lido. The Waterfront Hotel offers the best location, personalized service, and Maltese hospitality at its very best. The Waterfront Hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere to make your stay in Malta a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing