We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Excellent location as the name suggests. Stayed here for a week and experienced no problems at all. Rooms were clean and well fitted. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with lots to choose from. Only had the dinner once which again was good with lots of Maltese food on offer. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-Poultney-Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2009

The Waterfront is a welcoming friendly hotel with excellent service from all the staff. The location is perfect as there is so much to do in this area. You are able to catch the tourist buses or use the boat trips without walking very far. The breakfasts were excellent and the Basilico restaurant and the Coffee Shop were good value and lovely food although there is quite a wait for food in both. The hotel was kept very clean and the maid service was excellent with the rooms and bed linen and towels being fresh every day. I would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room and I don't really understand why they don't provide this as standard. The free of charge safe in the bedrooms was ideal. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pasty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

This is your typical good quality middle of the road hotel. I think it offers pretty good value for money, has modern, comfortable amenities, is clean and bright, and the staff are excellent.
What it doesn't have is character, or anything hugely individual about it. It's like being in any one of thousands of hotels across the world. Not that I would be hold this against a place, but depending what you are looking for, it might be useful to consider.

Room: Very spacious, light and airy, large veranda doors to private balcony (if you want a view over the harbour you need to ask for it, my room faced an inner courtyard of the hotel, but was quieter than the waterfront rooms). Room had plenty of plug sockets and a modern TV with a fair selection of channels. Free safe was very useful; mini-bar fridge but rather silly notice telling you not to use the fridge for your own supplies. The en suite was small, especially considering the size of the room. The hair dryer is the old fashioned kind fixed on the wall and the toiletries consist of two hand pumps with an all-purpose soap/shampoo product.

Breakfast is served in the large main Regatta restaurant, which is rather soulless, unless it is a lovely day and you get a view across the harbour. The buffet is fairly extensive and the self-service convenient, but the quality of the food doesn't match the quantity. I had dinner here once too, and it was the same story really. It cost €15 and there was a large variety, cold dishes, salads, various hot dishes including one fish and one vegetarian option. But nothing was particularly great, and the desserts were especially uninspiring. Nothing truly terrible mind you. I never tried the other a la carte restaurant.

Location is convenient, at Sliema Strand, where you can catch most of the bus connections and ferries in the Grand Harbour. But I didn't think Sliema was as pretty as St. Julians or one of the other bays. The staff were really great. One lady on reception in particular was super, super lovely and helpful.

Tip: down the road, the Tre Angeli restaurant makes a delicious 'aljotta' fish soup :)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank callisto_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Room excellent, staff excellent, food (we were on Half Board basis) excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevandSueSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Just returned from our first visit to Malta and stayed at this hotel. Having read trip advisor, booked high floor, sea facing. Room was excellent, corner on 5th floor and fantastic view over to Valetta. Some traffic noise. Very clean hotel, staff very professional. Rooftop pool, but too breezy to sit at. Half board and breakfasts good, lovely crispy bacon! Evening meals a bit "samey", but always a roast, other choice, fish dish. Salad, soup and dessert. Buffet style, but served to you. Food was good rather than great I would say.Sliema itself has lovely promenade, big shops eg. M&S, BHS, Next and lots of small ones. Bars along the front. Ferry to Valetta and all buses just across the road from hotel, so very convenient. Buses are frequent and cheap and much better to go yourself than book day trips which were quite expensive. Nearby St Julians has a more upmarket feel and Balutta Bay is lovely with boats and various restaurants and bars around it. Paceville is further on and for the serious night owls! Went over to Gozo, and to Mdina and fishing village of Marsaxlokk--all worth a visit, also Mosta Dome. Weather mixed, very breezy and rained all day on our last day, but was sunny for 3 days out of the week.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shadowHelensburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

This is a good hotel located opposite Manoel Island on the quieter side of Sliema.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable but there are a few niggles. For example, unlike just about any other hotel I have stayed at in Malta (or elsewheer), there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

When I questioned this, the housekeeper gave me loan of her kettle - so I can't mark it down too much, since that act went beyond the call of duty.

There is a fridge in the room, stuffed with drinks at extortionate prices and a note asking you not to put your own things in there - though I kept my milk there to make my tea!

A good night's sleep is not possible if you want t lie in beyond 6 or 7 am if you're in a sea view room, as we were.

The traffic starts early in Malta with buses, lorries and cars thundering past, the noise is unbearable, even with the patio doors closed.

Breakfast selection looked good at first, but the quality of the food was pretty poor for a hotel claiming to be a four star.

Each day varied between sausage and bacon on the buffet - and the bacon was awful steaky rubbish. It doesn't take much to get a breakfast right, but the hot selection was cold on five out of the seven mornings we tried. The furuit salad would have been better called "apple salad with a free game of spot the oranges, grapes etc".

There is a coffee bar on the ground floor. I tried that once. It took nearly 30 minutes to get a cup of tea on a not too busy Sunday morning.

The bar staff, once they know you, tend to be a little more efficient and the bar is very well stocked with drinks that are little more than normal bar prices.

The lift to our 6th floor sea front rooms was very small and stank of food. It was quite sickly really, probably due to the kitchen being vented into the lift shaft. Horrible first impression.

The other lifts didn't go to our part of the hotel, so must serve the side road rooms.

In all it wasa pleasant stay. The noise I mentioned didn't bother us, as we had to be out at work by 8am any way.

The car park! There's an underground car park in the road next to the hotel and as we'd hired a car, we used it. The ramp leading to the slope to the basement is impossible to cross without bottoming your car, so be warned!

The concrete is badly grooved, so I know it wasn't just us. Every day, on the way in and out, we scraped the cills and the exhaust. If you don't have an insurance waiver, use the road opposite.

Because of the quality of the breakfasts, we didn't eat at the hotel in the evenings so I can't comment on the food quality.

In all, it's a nice hotel with pleasant staff. The maids are wonderful.

If you don't mind not being able to make a drink at your convenience, stay here.

Wireless Internet - was only available in the lobby, which is a real disadvantage.

ON the plus side, the TVs in the rooms have Sky and a bigger selection of channel than any other Maltese hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eggbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Having stayed in many poor quality hotels in the Med we were pleasantly surprised by the Waterfront hotel. As you walk into reception it looks a new hotel, we felt we were extreemly lucky to have chosen this hotel. Our room was at the back with a balcony overlooking a courtyard and wall obstructing the view, but the design was very good and no drainpipes or tatty areas.The view from the front rooms was perfect, overlooking the bay. Room was very good standard, mini bar, free safe! bathroom way above average, any complaints would be minor, not worth writing about. Breakfast restaurant had fantastic view, food, very good choice, lovely local bread, We stayed B&B so didnt eat there in the evening buffet 15E. We ate at Giorgio's for large portions of basic fayre, service excellent, great atmosphere. Buses run past hotel, 47c to Valletta. Malta buses are extreemly cheap and an attraction in themselves. Had a great time in Malta, the harbour area is huge and to anyone interested in heritage, eating, shopping, is a gret place to visit

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank schinias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,475 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#10 of 28 in Sliema
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £78 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is a leading 4 star hotel in Malta. Situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, the hotel is placed within walking distance from public transport and other services including bars and restaurants, several shopping outlets, The Plaza Shopping Centre and the Sliema Ferries. With stunning views of the Sliema creek, Manoel Island and the unmistakable silhouette of the capital city Valletta, The Waterfront hotel is the perfect choice for discerning travelers seeking comfort in exquisite surroundings. All of the 165 Hotel rooms and Suites are maintained to a very high standard and feature a balcony and an en suite or open plan bathroom. Rooms are also equipped with various amenities including private bathroom, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. Complimentary WiFi is available in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront hotel is also a popular venue for quality events and meetings in Malta. Our hotel is a perfect option for those getting married in Malta or are spending their honeymoon in Malta. The Waterfront Hotel offers dining options such as a buffet breakfast and dinner at the Regatta Restaurant or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Indoor Pool will also be undergoing extensive renovation works, and in view of the upcoming development of our Lido we shall offer complimentary transport and access to a neighboring Lido to ensure that our guests find the facilities they expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing