We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterfront Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Palace(Sliema)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$169
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,365 results
Traveller rating
424
598
244
66
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
598
244
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar caferegatta restaurantjean pierresea viewlobby barthe busroad noisemanoel islandrooftop poolsliema creekthe air conditioningfront facinghalf boardtea and coffeethird floorfried eggshigh floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,001 - 1,006 of 1,365 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last two years as it offers all you need for a stay in Sliema. My only gripe is no tea/coffee making facility in your room and having a twin bedded room for single occupancy. I'm not sure even if they have double beds for double occupancy, worth checking out.
Ideal location for picking up the local buses that are a must for travelling the island (do not bother hiring a car as the buses are cheap and very easy to use).
The boat trips from Sliema promenade are very close and I would recommend the Spirit of Malta trip. This comprises of a half day jeep safari to Gozo then you pick a boat up and go over to Comino to the blue lagoon a fantastic setting. You then meet a larger boat, ours was the Fernandes, a fantastic yacht. We had a superb lunch on board with wine, then an all-inclusive bar all the way back to Sliema. This is excellent value at 67 euro pp for a day trip. I would also recommend the Pebbles restaurant which is about 500 metres away heading towards Sliema centre. I was only over for 4 days and ended up in there every night, excellent food and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbo164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Excellent location as the name suggests. Stayed here for a week and experienced no problems at all. Rooms were clean and well fitted. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with lots to choose from. Only had the dinner once which again was good with lots of Maltese food on offer. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-Poultney-Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The Waterfront is a welcoming friendly hotel with excellent service from all the staff. The location is perfect as there is so much to do in this area. You are able to catch the tourist buses or use the boat trips without walking very far. The breakfasts were excellent and the Basilico restaurant and the Coffee Shop were good value and lovely food although there is quite a wait for food in both. The hotel was kept very clean and the maid service was excellent with the rooms and bed linen and towels being fresh every day. I would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room and I don't really understand why they don't provide this as standard. The free of charge safe in the bedrooms was ideal. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pasty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

This is your typical good quality middle of the road hotel. I think it offers pretty good value for money, has modern, comfortable amenities, is clean and bright, and the staff are excellent.
What it doesn't have is character, or anything hugely individual about it. It's like being in any one of thousands of hotels across the world. Not that I would be hold this against a place, but depending what you are looking for, it might be useful to consider.

Room: Very spacious, light and airy, large veranda doors to private balcony (if you want a view over the harbour you need to ask for it, my room faced an inner courtyard of the hotel, but was quieter than the waterfront rooms). Room had plenty of plug sockets and a modern TV with a fair selection of channels. Free safe was very useful; mini-bar fridge but rather silly notice telling you not to use the fridge for your own supplies. The en suite was small, especially considering the size of the room. The hair dryer is the old fashioned kind fixed on the wall and the toiletries consist of two hand pumps with an all-purpose soap/shampoo product.

Breakfast is served in the large main Regatta restaurant, which is rather soulless, unless it is a lovely day and you get a view across the harbour. The buffet is fairly extensive and the self-service convenient, but the quality of the food doesn't match the quantity. I had dinner here once too, and it was the same story really. It cost €15 and there was a large variety, cold dishes, salads, various hot dishes including one fish and one vegetarian option. But nothing was particularly great, and the desserts were especially uninspiring. Nothing truly terrible mind you. I never tried the other a la carte restaurant.

Location is convenient, at Sliema Strand, where you can catch most of the bus connections and ferries in the Grand Harbour. But I didn't think Sliema was as pretty as St. Julians or one of the other bays. The staff were really great. One lady on reception in particular was super, super lovely and helpful.

Tip: down the road, the Tre Angeli restaurant makes a delicious 'aljotta' fish soup :)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank callisto_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Room excellent, staff excellent, food (we were on Half Board basis) excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevandSueSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews