We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

I used to live in Malta, and therefore know many of the hotel locations. Sliema is the best resort to stay in as it is a working Maltese town, with plenty on offer for the tourist. A regular ferry service crosses the harbour to Valletta which is a cheap and very scenic way to get to the capital. Sliema has numerous boat trips and excursions within a few minutes walk of the hotel. We booked the Waterfront on a special deal, and knew of previous friends who had stayed there. We were very impressed. Our room, at the front of the hotel on the third floor, was large, airy, and with [ strangely for Malta ] a more than capable air conditioning unit. The breakfast is varied and set in a well presented room. Staff were very polite. The only ' moan ' would be that the main lift doesn't stop at level 1 [ for the breakfast room ] meaning that you can have quite a wait for the lift, with no obvious means of using a staircase-we tried and ended up going out of the fire escape at the side of the building! Prices were very reasonable-other friends stayed at the Corinthia St George [ 5 star ] and although it was very nice beer was €5.90 per pint!
I would definately recommend the Waterfront Sliema for location, comfort, faciliies [ a free underground car park needed because parking in Sliema can be a nightmmare ] and cost.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaltaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    546
    215
    57
    19
See reviews for
166
685
68
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

stayed for 10 days not a lot to do locally,need to bus it to st jullians (1 euro return) where most shops and restaurants are. Valetta worth a visit during the day looks dead at night.For a 4 star hotel prices for drinks good including mini bar.quiet pool area always got a bed good views.breakfasts good but we decided to eat out every night. cheap cafes to fine dining available. steady walk back from jullians 40 mins( pleanty benches to stop and rest if needed) good holiday 7/10

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poultons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincs
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We holidayed at the Waterfront Hotel last August, and there was no need to discuss a change of holiday location for this year because we knew it was going to be the Waterfront again. We were not disappointed. We had requested a room on either floor 6 or 7, front sea view, same as before, and had e mailed before our arrival to ask for a bottle of champagne in our room. We even had the same room as last year - 614 - so were very happy. From the moment that Joseph took our cases from us, we were greeted and treated with efficiency mixed with a friendly personal service. We were welcomed back by reception staff, which was just a perfect touch. Every member of staff from the lobby porters, reception, housekeeping, restaurant and pool bar offered the same level of courtesy. The accolade again was the lobby bar and Sandro, Jean Pierre and Lawrence. It did not matter how busy they were, they had time to chat and make you welcome.
Just as a piece of advice - places to eat are the Basilico at the Waterfront, Tre Angeli on the Strand and a restaurant called Serafino just off the Strand. A lot of other places think that quantity = quality.
Well done and many thanks again to everyone at the Waterfront. We shall be back x

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mrs_SNorthLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne & wear
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

hotel room was the only thing nice about this hotel.the staff were the most miserable bunch ever. the food was very bland although breakfast was,nt too bad.i have been to malta 4 times and love it but dont recommend this hotel unless you are 65 or over.if your looking for a great nite out go to the ramblers rest pub , its round the corner from the tower hotel on sliema seafront . you will be greeted by the most welcoming couple Dermot and Corrinna . we had great nites in there, definatley worth while.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureenTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly and we felt like we were returning home every evening. If we had known the food was so good ( dinner was great value) we would have chosen half board. Restaurant has a harbour view which is much nicer than most pavement cafes. Location is very central with easy transport. Pool on the roof obviously has great views and is very peaceful. There are some reviews saying that rooms need a little updating, while this is true, the way the staff look after you more than makes up for this. If returning to Malta I would always choose to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HappyGuestsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Stayed here for 1 week. Had a room on the 2nd floor facing the marina but was not disturbed any time by traffic (or any other) noise, even at the weekend. The staff were very helpful & friendly. Breakfast was ok, the juices were not fresh. The public areas were well maintained although the brass name plaque outside the front door could do with polishing. For a 4 star hotel the carpet in the rooms looks a bit old and worn and paintwork could do with touching up in places but rooms were clean. The ferry terminal is within 10 min. walk as are plenty of shops. Had read mixed reviews before booking hotel but would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eilsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
324 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

stayed here for two weeks four of us and the in laws one of whom has to use a wheelchair. we had seafront balcony rooms the slight downsid eof this is the noise from traffic if you are on a low flooor the rooms are large and the aircoditioning efficient. the breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant ar eboth buffet and good value therte is also a pizzeria on the first floor which offers a reasonably proced alternative. our only concern is that the restaurant staff have been trainefd to remove plates immediately sometimes they dont check u have finished and this can appear rude. though the majority of staff were pleasant and hrelpful some in reception and the restaurant appeared a bit sullen. the bar staff and the maintenance people could not have been more helpful on two occasions minor room problems wete fixed instantly with a smile.being only ten minutes from sliema ferries this is convenient going to st julians is a steep climb so if u have mobility problems best to take the bus.one other minor point the hotel has a computer for guest use but no printer. so if u wnat to do flight check in u cant print out bordering cards ther is an internet cafe along the road however generally these are minor points and we still love malta and would stay here again happily

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is a 4 star hotel situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, overlooking Sliema Creek, Manoel Island and the capital city, Valletta. Newly refurbished to a high standards, the hotel is just 150 meters away from the nearest bus stop and within walking distance from several bars, restaurants and shopping outlets in Sliema, The Plaza shopping mall and the Ferries. All rooms are stylishly designed and feature various amenities including, an en suite bathroom and balcony, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. WiFi is available for free in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront Hotel offers various dining options including buffet breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant, or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Waterfront Hotel also features an indoor swimming pool and outdoor lido. The Waterfront Hotel offers the best location, personalized service, and Maltese hospitality at its very best. The Waterfront Hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere to make your stay in Malta a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing