We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterfront Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$145
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Palace(Sliema)
US$256
US$238
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Suites(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$281
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$340
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
US$152
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$168
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$153
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,366 results
Traveller rating
424
599
244
66
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
599
244
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar caferegatta restaurantjean pierresea viewlobby barthe busroad noisemanoel islandrooftop poolsliema creekthe air conditioningfront facinghalf boardtea and coffeethird floorfried eggshigh floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
959 - 964 of 1,366 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2010

The bus from Valleta stops virtually outside so no need to get a taxi from the airport, just get the number 8 from the airport then the 62 from Valleta. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable though the TV was dated. Breakfast was full English if thats what you like or plenty of other options. The bar area in the evening was inviting and friendly (prices very reasonable) great 'Calypso Coffee', also the 'Star Cafe' great snacks and service. Altogether a great choice of hotel and reasonable price. Would certainly recommend for couples wanting a relaxing time in a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suemarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I have just returned from a week's stay at the Waterfront with my very elderly parents who have stayed here several times before. I have to say that it exceeded my expectations.

We had two seaview rooms and the views from the balcony are breathtaking. The hotel is on a noisy road but this is an advantage for my parents who love watching the bustle and constant activity from the comfort of their room. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and sheets are changed every day, they could do with investing in some new pillows though!

The food in the Regatta restaurant is palatable and well cooked with a choice of starters and main courses and a wide range of delectable puddings, as well as cheese and fruit. Breakfast is perfectly acceptable. It would have been nice to have had low fat spread available as well as butter but that's a tiny thing. The coffee is excellent.

The stunning views apart, the thing that really stands out about this hotel is its staff. They're friendly, helpful and provide fantastic service - you could give these great people a job anywhere and they wouldn't be out of place in the most expensive and luxurious hotel. We are so grateful to them for making our stay so pleasant and comfortable.

My main criticism is the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, an early morning cup of tea on my sun drenched balcony would have improved things no end but, on the whole, I was more than satisfied with the Waterfront.

If you stay here do treat yourself to the island open top bus tour which comes with a free harbour cruise ticket - both are fantastic experiences and a great idea to see as much of Malta as possible. At 15 euros per person, they're a bargain too.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambridgeShoequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Overall this was a very good stay. The hotel is rated as a 4* but, as with all hotels in Malta, you need to deduct one star for a more accurate idea of what to expect. The staff were all consistently friendly, helpful and polite. Public areas are attractive, clean and pleasant although the sofas are not sumptuously comfortable! The view from the breakfast room across the water to Valletta is gorgeous in the mornings (this becomes the Regatta restaurant serving mediocre buffet meal by night - salads are very good though). Pasta & Pizza in Basilico restaurant were good, but it is hard to get these dishes wrong. Portions as everywhere in Malta are huge - a starter portion serves more than enough as a main course. The rooms - well, we had a non-sea view room which meant we looked out onto a marble-floored courtyard which was pleasant enough but unfortunately it made the room so depressingly dark that, even with all the lights on and curtains open, it was difficult to distinguish colours of clothes when getting dressed in the morning. The room itself was spacious, clean, none of the problems listed in other reviews about scrappy sheets or thin towels, although the pillows were a bit lumpy. On arrival we found the TV didn't work and the bathroom bin lid was broken. We reported both to reception who said they would be fixed next day. We insisted on TV being sorted immediately and, to their credit, the manager came within minutes and investigated problem and replaced TV,with charming good grace. The bin was never fixed or replaced for the whole week. With a minibar and safe in the room it was well equipped for our needs. We didn't use bar in hotel, we had drinks elsewhere. The wi-fi access in foyer incurs a charge of 15 euros for 3 days, but the Pomodoro cafe in the next door Milano Due hotel is free (except the price of a drink). We booked through Thomson holidays and all in all, for the price of £265 pp per week flights and B&B, we were very happy with the Waterfront and would go back there. Buses were convenient , cheap and frequent from a stop about 100 yards away. Most journeys (whether 2 stops or to end of line ) cost 47cents, but we preferred the convenience of unlimited travel for a week for just under 14 euros. 1 , 3 & 5 day tickets also available. Get ticket from driver on first trip or at booth at Valletta bus station. For just under 1 euro, the ferry ride from very nearby on Sliema seafront to Valletta takes about 5 minutes and is very pleasant on a warm day. Would strongly recommend a Grand Harbour cruise -we went with Luzza Cruises for 10 euros - 16 in high season. Several others available in the same small area. Also recommend cheap, good food at King's Own Band Club in main street (Republic Street ) in Valletta. This was our second time in Malta and compared to the 4* hotel in Qawra, this by location, quality of room and staff was infinitely preferable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelqueenDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Located on very noisy road only slept with aid of ear plugs,windows should be double glazed,unplesent on the balcony.
Corridors & lifts smelt of food,room did not smell.
Roof pool area also smelt of food from surrounding takeaways & cafes,badly!!!.
There was no entertainment.
The sheets & towels were clean but tatty.On the plus side good views &pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

A very well placed hotel for sightseeing. Chose this hotel as it is one of the few in Sliema area with own parking, since we had hired a car which I feel is the best option for seeing the islands. Parking in the underground garage was included in the price.
Service was excellent throughout. Staff were always friendly and very helpful.
There was no problem when my husband asked for a soft-boiled egg at breakfast -as this was not provided in the buffet (scrambled, fried or hard boiled were the choices).
Buffet breakfast was very good with cooked English breakfast, fresh fruit, choice of cereal, cold meats, bread etc.
Our room was sea facing with a great view over Bay. It was spacious, air conditioned and comfortable with curtains blocking out light effectively in the morning.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BCSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews