We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£155
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Go793813
London, United Kingdom

Worst hotel I’ve stayed at in Sliema

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Oct 2023via mobile
Such an awful hotel. Very poorly run. Room was very dated, hallways were awful it had so many doors it was like being in a prison. Very overpriced for the service you receive. The best thing about the hotel was leaving at the end. Food wasn’t all that either
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex Vasilevski, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 24 Oct 2023
Greetings from Waterfront Hotel. We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologize for the feelings you have about your stay at the Waterfront Hotel, your feedback came as a surprise to us considering all recent reviews were 5*. We are sad to know that the best thing for you was leaving the Hotel, but we appreciate each and every comment as they help us to understand where we need to improve, thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £114
  • Official Site
    £112
0.0 miles from The Waterfront Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Tripadvisor
£113
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £113
0.6 miles from The Waterfront Hotel
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool - outdoor
Tripadvisor
£125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 miles from The Waterfront Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Hotel Area
Tripadvisor
£96
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from The Waterfront Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £134
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from The Waterfront Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View from our Seaview rooms
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £176
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Waterfront Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Lavish Suite
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £246
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from The Waterfront Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
The Rooftop Outdoor Pool at the Windsor Hotel
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £47
  • Algotels
0.6 miles from The Waterfront Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Barcelo.com
    £168
  • Expedia.com
    £202
0.6 miles from The Waterfront Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sliema
Reviews (2,523)
Filter reviews
2,523 results
Traveller rating
1,160
868
345
97
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,160
868
345
97
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews regatta restaurant sea view lobby bar manoel island road noise sliema creek lovely hotel the bus third floor plenty of choice fruit juice walk in shower bed and breakfast half board across the road the air conditioning cold meats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 2,523 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2023

This hotel is in a great location on the promenade at Sliema, offering free entry to the Lido just across the (busy) road and is a short walk from where the boats go to Valletta and Gozo. However, the hotel rooms and the allocation of rooms left a lot to be desired. We booked 2 rooms and requested that they be close together, but we were 2 floors apart and on opposite sides of the hotel. Hotels never guarantee rooms next to each other, but this is the first time ever, in many countries around the world, that we have not been given adjoining rooms. When we asked if there was an alternative, we were rudely told that the hotel was full. However, we later discovered that someone else from our much larger party of people was in a room 2 doors from us, so I have no idea why we couldn’t have been given that room. Also, no thought appears to have been given to the size of rooms allocated to people. For example, a group of us all arrived on the same day, yet a couple with a baby were given a much smaller room than a single person. Our room was bizarre – it was a disabled room with one wardrobe which was 3 feet off the ground and the pull-down clothes rail was very difficult to use. There were no shelves at all in the bathroom – we used the stool from the shower to put our washbags on and balanced our shampoos and shower gels on the shower grab rails. The only shelves in the bedroom were the 2 bedside tables and there was not a single drawer anywhere – we basically had to live out of our suitcase because there was nowhere to unpack anything. The bed was very low down and hard and the towels were very small. On the positive side, the dressing gowns and slippers provided were nice and the glass carafe which could be filled at the water machines in the corridor was a great idea. Most of the staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly but more thought needs to be given to the design and allocation of the hotel rooms. I expect we will get a terse response to this review, but this is genuinely how we felt about the hotel.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex Vasilevski, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2023

Greetings from Waterfront Hotel. First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review which is greatly appreciated. We value each and every comment we receive as they help us to understand the guest experience as well in which way we can improve to give even better service. We apologize for the inconvenience you may have encountered with the allocation of the rooms. Our Hotel operates on a high or full occupancy all year around, being business and holiday makers property, hence we do not promise rooms next to each other but we always accommodate this requests when possible. I have brought up your comment to our Reservation department to investigate further. One more time we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel, we are glad that you made beautiful memories on the island and we hope to see you again, if Malta is on your travel agenda. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2023 via mobile

Lovely hotel in great location circa 20mins from airport and right on the Sliema sea front with lots of bars and local restaurants.
Checked in late due to delayed flight but process was smooth,
Rooms well presented with everything you need.
Staff very well presented, courteous, and efficient.
Bars are lovely, clean and great choice of drinks.
Meals, dined at the lobby bar and the Sunday buffet, both were very good and value for money.
Pool access is at the Aqualuna across the road with free access for hotel guests using tickets issued at reception - we enjoyed it
All in all we had a great 2 week stay and would return

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JOHNARLENESCOTLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex Vasilevski, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2023

Greetings from Waterfront Hotel. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review which is greatly appreciated. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us starting from your arrival experience till the departure. We trust Malta will e on your travel agenda again and we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2023 via mobile

Not without anything to improve, but worth the high rating. Stayed in a superior room with partial seaview. The small balcony was perfect for afternoon coffee (provided). Spacious room with safe and fridge. Shower drainage not perfect and switching between showerheads took some figuring out. In general, the room was in perfect condition.

We found the breakfast excellent with omelettes provided to the table and specialty coffees available. Also breakfast staff was efficient and friendly.

We ate twice at the rooftop restaurants. Unfortunately, the summer BBQ’s did not run in October, even though there were still summer temperatures. Pizzas and drinks were good and reasonably priced. We also ate Sunday dinner in the main restaurants, but that was a slight disappointment.

It is worth noting that the hotel has an indoor pool only. Outdoor pool services are provided free of charge across the road, where there is one cross-formed pool, bar service and plenty of sun-loungers, although the ones by the pool get occupied fast.

We used the indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna in the mornings when it was very quiet.

The location of the hotel is better suited for cultural or business travel than a beach holiday. Easy access to Valletta with the inexpensive ferry and to the airport with fast bus TD2. We also used the local buses (e.g. 222) for the northern beaches.

Overall an excellent stay and the best facade on the waterfront nailed our five star rating.

Room tip: Reasonably priced grocery on the side street. Good connections everywhere.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fin_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex Vasilevski, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2023

Greetings from Waterfront Hotel. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review which is greatly appreciated. We are happy to read your feedback as it shows that the hard work we put into our Hotel is appreciated by our esteemed clients! We recently painted the façade and over the summer period we introduced the menu for omelettes. We trust Malta will be on your travel agenda again and we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2023

The Waterfront is a modern purpose built hotel in a convenient position. We liked everything about the hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms are a decent size. We had a room with a balcony to the side of the hotel and it has a very good view across the harbour to Valletta.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex Vasilevski, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Greetings from Waterfront Hotel. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review which is greatly appreciated. We trust Malta was an excellent destination for you and we hope to see you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2023

We stayed a week in sea-view rooms overlooking the harbour. All the staff were very helpful, the room was clean and well-appointed, the breakfast was tasty and plentiful with lots of variety and the bar was excellent value - especially cocktails in happy hour! I was able to book a cake in advance for a special family birthday which was delivered to our room when requested and was of excellent quality.
The hotel is located on the harbourfront, facing Valletta. It's very easy and cheap to either catch the ferry across the harbour to Valletta or the plentiful buses which run past the hotel. It's busy but then that's to be expected staying in a town directly facing the capital. Lots of nice restaurants and bars in the vicinity, also St Julians and Spinola bay within walking distance which are very nice. Trips can be booked in the hotel with their travel advisor or the hop-on hop-off bus runs past the hotel.
We stayed a week but need to go back to do the things we didn't have time for! One of the best holidays we have had in years - thank you!

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex Vasilevski, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Greetings from Waterfront Hotel. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review which is greatly appreciated. What a fantastic feedback! It is truly rewarding for us to read your comments as they show us that we achieved what we strive - to exceed customer expectations. We are glad that u stayed with us for your special occasion and we hope to see you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews