We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Standard, with Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Standard, with Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Stayed at the Waterfront Hotel for a couple of nights in January on business, and was very impressed with the level of Staff in the hotel. Arrived very late (after midnight) and was greeted with a friendly smile and checked in swiftly, i also had a lot of equipment with me for work over 100kg and the porters loaded and unloaded this for me throughout my stay from the left luggage.

The room was nice and had a view of the marina/harbour where excursions can be booked, also had a mini bar and air con, actually had the heating on as it was rather chilly. TV had various sattelite channels.

Was booked on a half boared basis (around 50euro special for jan) Breakfast and dinner was a standard buffet no complaints, but as with all buffet could get a bit tiresome over a time. There is a cafe/diner attached to the hotel which does pasta/pizza as well.

WIFI is available in the hotel (chargeable) and ther is a pool and terrace on the roof which was closed open april till oct i think.

Wouls definetly return

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    551
    222
    59
    29
See reviews for
169
699
70
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Second Christmas at this hotel and will go again. Ideal location if do not want beach holiday.
Transport by bus direct or via Valetta to anywhere on the island plus ferry direct to Valetta offers attractive alternative for the reasonably fit. Especially impressed with level of service provided by all staff.
Buffet dinner may pall after a week but no problem with quality which was shown by popularity of restaurant to locals for Christmas family gatherings - but did not detract from service to residents.
Lounge and bar comfortable to relax with book and drink or chat to other guests.
Rooms comfortable and extra pillows on request.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzzYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We booked the Waterfront Hotel through Thomson based on a discount without taking into consideration its location; however when we arrived we were really pleased at how close it was to everything. Across the road is a harbour where you can take a ferry to Valetta (don’t bother with a taxi, a ferry is much quicker and cheaper) and other tourist cruises. There are also lots of bus stops in the same area – we managed to take a bus (one of the jolly old orange buses that jolt about so much it’s like a little rollercoaster!) to the centre of the island to visit Mdina for only 96 cents! It’s also within walking distance to Sliema, where there are lots of great bars and restaurants. Previous reviewers commented on the poor food quality and small swimming pool; this didn’t bother us too much as we only ate breakfast at the hotel, and did all our swimming in the sea in Sliema. Our one complaint would be that the pillows are on the flat side, and our air conditioning started leaking water on the 2nd night of our stay (out of 4 nights) which made it difficult to sleep due to the constant dripping noise! Although we told the reception about it they didn’t fix the air conditioning unit while we were there, probably because it would have involved taking apart the ceiling or something. Other than that the staff were helpful and polite, although we didn’t interact with them often. All in all a great hotel to stay in if you’ll only be using it as a base to sleep and shower, and if you want to explore as much of Malta as possible!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Myself and my partner visited the Waterfront sometime ago but have only got round to writing this now. Great hotel, nice and clean, good food, service fine but most of all a good location. We were a short walk to the ferry to Valetta and other boat trips, buses to all over the island are also just a short walk away. Although on a main road, the location was ideal since it wasn't a noisy resort area but you could still access other places. Best of all was the small but lovely balcony overlooking the sliema bay. It was stunning and we had a great view of ancient Valetta from there. A lovely week spent in Malta.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J2094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Stayed at the hotel over Christmas. The room was a good size and very clean. Bathroom slightly 'tired' but again clean. Would have been nice to have tea / coffee making facility in the room. Why are fewer hotels doing that these days; cost no doubt. Great view from the room looking over the harbour and promenade. There was some road noise from the traffic below. Public areas very pleasant, very good cafe beside the reception area,nice food at a reasonable price. Restaurant very pleasant, again great views if you can get a table by the windows. Very helpful staff throughout the hotel. Secure luggage storage if checking out with a late flight. Great location, you can walk out onto the prom area, other restaurants and shops only a couple of minutes away. Near to the bus stops and ferries.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Ill start with a positive, if you want a relatively cheap holiday in Malta, in great location, you can't go wrong with The Waterfront!

I've read the feedback from other reviewers and some of the negatives are completely warranted. The food isn't fantastic. It's not bad either! I think there is a wider issue here though, we did struggle to find nice places to eat in Slema, and would generally walk into St Julians Bay to eat. It is a really nice walk (about 25 minutes) especially in the evening, with the bay all lit up. We expected a lot of fresh fish on Malta but found none. All the fish, in fact most of the fresh produce is imported from Italy, Malta produces very little of it's own food. So you will find in the Waterfront restaurant the food is bog standard pre prepared probably frozen food.

The hotel is great. big rooms, a fantastic heated pool on the roof and I have to say, the lunches you can get from the bar up there are actually really tasty. If it is ever so hot that you just don't want to go and explore, just relax on the roof terrace, enjoy the amazing view across the harbour and have a dip in the pool.

We thought the location couldn't have been better. We hired a car, and used the hotel underground car park (just let them know you are hiring a car and they will reserve a space for you). The hotel is a great base for either getting around using the huge network of busses, the boat over to Valletta the beautiful old Capital, which sets sail literally on the doorstep of the hotel, or by car to go further. I can't fault the location at all.

Any issues we had, a dripping air con unit for example, were sorted out very quickly without having to mention anything a second time. the staff were helpful, in fact one receptionist spent a whole morning ringing around car hire shops to find us a car, she told us it was her mission to get us a car, and she did, and had it delivered to the hotel, and organised a discount!

Malta is a lovely island, lots of history, despite it's size there is a lot to do and see. The markets in Valletta are great. We had a great time and would recommend the Waterfront very highly. Compared to other hotels where I have paid a lot more, this hotel deserves a pat on the back for going the extra mile and making the very best of the facilities they have. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Malta this year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

This was our first time in Malta I travelled with a friend. We found the Hotel great the only fault was there were no coffee making facilities in the room, however, we were prepared and took a travel kettle it was easy to get coffee milk etc from a nearby shop. There was some noise from the road but we had expected this and it was ok.

We used the tour buses to visit both the North and South of the island and this gave us a free harbour tour which was excellent. We also used the local buses to visit Valetta and St Juliens, we were sad to hear that from next year these truly ancient vehicles will be taken off the road and the service taken over by Arriva. The local people were very friendly and all spoke English, goods in the shops were expensive in comparison to UK in M&S skirts and trousers for instance cost approx 50% more. This must be hard for local working people.

In Valetta we visited the Sunday morning market we also went to the Sunday Market in Marsaxlok in the South of the island.

In all we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samnjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is a leading 4 star hotel in Malta. Situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, the hotel is placed within walking distance from public transport and other services including bars and restaurants, several shopping outlets, The Plaza Shopping Centre and the Sliema Ferries. With stunning views of the Sliema creek, Manoel Island and the unmistakable silhouette of the capital city Valletta, The Waterfront hotel is the perfect choice for discerning travelers seeking comfort in exquisite surroundings. All of the 165 Hotel rooms and Suites are maintained to a very high standard and feature a balcony and an en suite or open plan bathroom. Rooms are also equipped with various amenities including private bathroom, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. Complimentary WiFi is available in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront hotel is also a popular venue for quality events and meetings in Malta. Our hotel is a perfect option for those getting married in Malta or are spending their honeymoon in Malta. The Waterfront Hotel offers dining options such as a buffet breakfast and dinner at the Regatta Restaurant or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Indoor Pool will also be undergoing extensive renovation works, and in view of the upcoming development of our Lido we shall offer complimentary transport and access to a neighboring Lido to ensure that our guests find the facilities they expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing