We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointing”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

this hotel should not have a 4 star rating, our first morning we were woken up by the room attendant at 8.30 am asking when she could clean our room!!! which was never cleaned properly during the entire stay, the standard of furnishing in the room was poor, just a shame they couldnt have continued the theme of the modern furnishings in the lounge and bar.... the steps up to reception were extremley high and at times very slippery.... the pool was dissapointing really small.... the only good thing about the hotel was the food....... would not go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jet04650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    130
    137
    149
    230
See reviews for
111
289
96
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Many thanks to Mariella and all the team at the Windsor hotel, Sliema ,Malta. This is the fourth visit to the hotel and every bit enjoyable as the first time for the Lane family. Fantastic quality food as always with a great selection of hearty meals. The rooms were spotless and warm and great entertainment provided during our stays. Terrific value for money and a great central location on the island with great links to everywhere. Keep up the good work and we look forward to visiting you again in the future. Many thanks for a wonderful holiday, the Lane family Jan 2013.

Room Tip: most rooms available with juliet balcony with no extra cost !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan Valley, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

although the hotel is in a good location and the food was good, the staff helpful to an extent, the room was very cold and there wasn't enough heating in the bar and lobby.As we were there in december, we didn't want to go out too much as it was very cold and windy - the only programmes on the television were mostly in italian ,after 2 days they put BBC news on for us - how much can you sit in an uncomfortable room in the cold and watch the BBC news ?

Room Tip: make sure you have a comfortable mattress and an A/C that works
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

First of all, it is not a 4 starts hotel at all! We stayed there during January, the heating was not working during the whole week and the staff behaved as if that was none of their business. The staff is rude and unhelpful. They do not clean the rooms properly, and when told to do so they told us (literally): listen, I have many rooms to clean and I'm not going to spend much time in this one. I would never be back, such bad-mannered staff really made our holidays difficult.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 160maria_trip160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stephen and Jackie enjoyed a great time in the Windsor Hotel, the room was perfect, the food was excellent, eating as much as you wanted, really big warm hearted thank you to Theresa, Leno and Joseph for making us feel welcomed and at home. Easy to catch a bus and close to all the shops. In walking distance to the beach loved it. Cant wait to go back there. Couldnt fault it.xx

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelineoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

For a tourist, The Windsor Hotel cannot be better located.  Public transport like buses are within spitting distance! Also close to shopping center and to various good restaurants.
 
The room is well designed, very clean, quiet and comfortable.  The reception desk was also helpful and knowledgeable and ready to assist me with whatever I needed. They are multi-lingual, so no worry about being understood.  We notest other guests were from numerous places outside Malta and all seemed quite happy.
 
The restaurant in the hotel had some of the nicest staff. Delicious buffet breakfast with various options.
 
Hopefully, we will return to Malta in future.  It is a fabulous island and there is no question we will go out of our way to stay at The Windsor Hotel. It have never encountered any problems - could not have been friendlier or more attractive!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Letitia 93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed at The Windsor Hotel in September, we felt very welcome and the hotel had a friendly atmosphere. Breakfast is a help yourself affair, lots of fresh bread, some cheeses, eggs, bacon, jams etc. Also cereals available. No one objects how much you eat so a good start to the day.

Internet access (WIFI) available in reception. They have 3 PC's if you want to use at a cost. Staff reception very helpful and knowledgable. We stay half board. The food was delicious and freshly cooked. The restaurant staff were amazing, so friendly and we felt we were part of a great big family.

Room was bright and functional cleaned everyday with daily fresh towels. The public areas are fresh up to date.

Would we stay at The Windsor Hotel again? Most Definetly!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,080 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#13 of 28 in Sliema
967 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 28 in Sliema
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing