We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in september”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were in Malta for a few days and we choose The Windsor Hotel despite the wrong comments on this site, so we went there open minded and we were absolutely not disappointed at all. The hotel is very well located in Sliema, near shops and bus stop to Valletta or Cirkewwa to take the ferry to Gozo. Because of the cancellation of our flight we arrived one day later and when we arrived we were upgraded.
The hotel staff was wonderful and welcoming : 10/10
The room with a small balcony is modern and very clean, beds are good. The bathroom also very clean and modern. Just two negative points : it seemed to have problems with the satellite TV so we could only watch Rai 1 and Eurosport Germany that's all. The other point is that there is single glass on the windows so we can hear some noises from the street.
The sundeck is cool, there are two pools and a jacuzzi.
For the breakfast you just have to leave the hotel and go to the restaurant beside the hotel. Hot drinks, english breakfast, toasts, fruit, cereals,... it was good for me. I only missed croissants that I always have in each hotel I went to during my last holidays in other countries. The staff here is very nice and welcoming.
Conclusion : if I go back to Malta I will defenitely go back to The Windsor hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polux-1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Jan,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Windsor Hotel.

I am very pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations and that you found the staff very helpful and very good, we will certainly pass on your comments to them.

We will be looking into the problem with the TV reception.

We do really hope to see you again should you come to Malta again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

not recommended for grown ups. It is mainly for 'school kids from overseas on a holiday. they will keep you up at night with their partying. Plus management prefers cash payments for stays. Same old breakfast every day.After the third day we refused to have breakfast.But it is only 5 minutes to the sea.Only good point. Won't be returning.

Room Tip: the higher the better to avoid school kids making noise on front steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Robert,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We offer a wide and varied choice for breakfast which includes English Breakfast, Cereals, Yoghurts, Cold Meats, Cheese, Fruit Salad, Breads, Dry Cake, Juices and a choice of Hot Beverages.

The Hotel accepts payments in cash or by credit card but if clients avail themselves of any special offers available, cash payments are requested.

The 'young kids' you mention in your review are actually in Malta to study English and are here in summer due to school holidays.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We visited Malta during the month of August and booked our lodging at The Windsor Hotel. The hotel was impeccable, the rooms were very clean; the bedding was justvlike home; the bathroom was very spacious.

The buffet breakfast was very welcoming and adequate. Very nice pool facility and sun deck. Staff was polite and made sure we had everything we needed.

Would recommend this place to anyone

Room Tip: Best choice to stay in Malta. You will not disappoint and easy to get around.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuiauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at The Windsor Hotel.

We are very pleased that you found our services to your satisfaction, rooms clean and the staff very responsive to your needs.

We do certainly hope to see once again at The Windsor Hotel when you next visit Malta.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I researched quite a few hotels when considering that our stay in Malta had a limited budget because this year we had 3 vacations. We were unsure whether we should book this hotel, but the price was very good. The Windsor Hotel was a definetly a good pick, we were satisfied in our decision. There are so many positive things about it, but the location was the number one. Location couldn't be better, Our rooms was nice and cozy, great beds with comfy pillows. Modern and clean bathrooms. The breakfast was great. The hotel staff a concierge were all friendly and helpful.

I would definetly stay at The Windsor Hotel and have already recommended it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

9th September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting the nice review and we are honoured that you have chose our hotel for your visit to Malta. We are delighted to hear that you've had a wonderful stay in our hotel and that you have enjoyed the modern rooms.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us, and hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

It is a Maltese 4 star, not British 4 star. I had read the comments on Trip advisor. I went with an open mind. It was basic. Our room was cleaned daily. If you want the towels cleaned, then leave them on the floor in the bathroom.
We had to hire a Kettle, but was able to buy tea, coffee, milk and bread and spread and cheese. Which we kept fresh in the mini bar. TV did only have 3 channels working on our set. The balcony is small and overlooks the hotel opposite. but we hung our sarongs up and felt private again. The air conditioner only works when you remember to close the balcony door shut. The wifi is not free, you have to pay 1 euro for 20 minutes but due to it often freezing up, you could not do much online. We liked the staff. They were polite and we found the guests to be rude to them. Breakfast was continental and English. You can eat as much as you like. The lifts at the front of hotel were working. but lift to restaurant was out of order.
The pool on the roof was great and a sun trap. The only bad reviews I would give. We were not told about the summer Foreigner students who were noisy, boisterous and sometimes drunk. they did break glass and we sometimes felt we were being spoken about. They also gathered around the front entrance alot, which can intimidate some people. The Restaurant staff were brill. polite and helpful. Over the road from entrance is a useful small supermarket. the local buses charge 2.60 euro to go anywhere around Malta. Have fun. we will go back there.

Room Tip: Rooms on front entrance side, can be noisy. Side street of hotel better and view of sea great to loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brummie27b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

28th August 2013

From all of us here at The Windsor Hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Malta. We are msot thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests meets and wants.

We would love to see you again next time you are in Malta. So please, feel free to contact us anytime.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here 10 awful days in aug.
The good points are good central location nr beach. The pool area was small but ok however very noisy from the building site next door.
Standard buffet breakfast but nothing special.
The bad points:
We arrived & were given room key to find room uncleaned from previous occupants. Staff couldn't find another room so we had to wait over an hour whilst cleaning staff came in to sort.
The hotel was generally very old, tired & dirty.
The lifts were knackered & badly need replacing. The stairs were often slippy & a hazard.
The bathroom had a rotten smell which didn't clear.
The shower cubicle was very tight/cramped.
The balcony was so tiny only one of us could use it at a time but it overlooked tall buildings/pipes/aircon units & the building site next door!
The aircon in the room did not work. I complained to Valentino behind the desk. She was incredibly rude & dismissive to me & clearly had no respect for customers. She eventually agreed to send handyman to look. She later told me it was working fine & refused to listen when I said it wasn't.
I barely slept the whole time I was there as it was sweltering without aircon plus the hotel was very noisy (paper thin walls, noisy lifts & full of noisy students).

This hotel is definitely not 4 star! Maybe a 2 star at best. There are some friendly staff but some incredibly rude (Valentino especially) with no concept of customer service.
Every single time we came through the reception there was a guest complaining about something or other at the reception desk.
I would never ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hbpaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

28th August 2013

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We apologize for the shrotfall during your recent stay with us.

It surprised me though to hear that you perceived our staff members at the front desk as not friendly as I hear so many positive feedbacks about friendliness. I will discuss this with them (expecially Valentina) to make sure that we do everything possible from our side to prevent this from happenng again.

Dear guest, I feel sorry that we were not able to see you leave our property with a positive impression. I would very much like to convince you to have another try and please contact us in advance so that we make sure that all goes well. I know we can take care of you in a better way.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel is ideally suited to both business and tourist users. It´s central location and ease of access is 10/10. The price was great.
The rooms are air conditioned, the beds are very comfortable and very clean. Breakfast are buffet style with plenty of options. The pool is adequate with shaded seating. Comfortable deck chairs and umbrellas.
The staff were all friendly and eager to please. We will definetly stay again next time at The Windsor Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

27th August 2013

Dear Guest

First of all we would lik to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Geusts is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilites and services.

I would like you to take this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 28 in Sliema
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#24 of 28 in Sliema
260 reviews
0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#14 of 28 in Sliema
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £26 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing