We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhelpful manager, absolute disgrace, Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unhelpful manager, absolute disgrace, Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here in janurary, booked through low cost holidays, the first room was terrible, cigarette burns on the bed sheets, also through the sheets were dirty, staff very unhelpful also, didnt want to listen, they have the attitude of treating people as just another customer! 2nd room was just as bad, holiday was ruined by this stage, in the 2nd room there was fag burns on the bed itsself, also out of shape, After all this the manager thought that all of this was suitable, the beds were also put together with ply wood. The manager said that it would be ok for his friends to stay in the room and they would also find it acceptable. Then we arrived home we complained to low cost holidays and the hotel refused to reimburse any money back to lowcostholidays, so we paid for 7 nights stayed 3.

Booked flight home and shall never be returning again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Artie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Artie,

Thank you for your review but I have to point out that you never mentioned that we upgraded you to a superior room after your first night free of charge.

It is unfortunate that we cannot replicate our reply and photos we sent to Lowcost in reply to your claims and Lowcost have vindicated our coarse of action.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    127
    132
    136
    206
See reviews for
100
272
93
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Room not cleaned properly plus cockroaches.... To which the response "we can spray round"
Television not working.... To which the response " the television in your room is less than 12 months old so it is out of our control" (this was after it failed to work the second time in our 5 day stay)
Got to point out we upgraded as soon as we got there at a cost of €15 per night.
The description of 50 yds from the sea front was inaccurate it should have read nearer 200 metres and in a dusty BACK STREET.
The staff had a general couldnt care less attitude and even tried to demand a €50 deposit on arrival.
Malta was great and cannot wait to return.
I would sincerely advise the Windsor hotel to be avoided

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank parkcour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Parkcour,

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry the hotel did not meet up to your expectations

Please note that the TV was in perfect working order when checked.

You made no mention that the room was not properly cleaned during your stay as we would have been very happy to see to any problems that you might have had.

I am very surprised that you found the staff miserable as we do get very good comments about the service they provide from the majority of our guests.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here in january. Great location close to the sea and local buses and shops. Very friendly staff large rooms, clean. Would recommend for a cheap break. Good bus service and for only 6.50 a week it's not worth hiring a car. Valetta a must to visit

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 25debbiejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Debbiejean,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your stay in Malta in January.

We are pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations and we will certainly pass on your lovely comments to our staff.

We do hope to see you again at The Windsor Hotel should you re-visit Malta.

Warm regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Brilliant location...this was our first time in Malta so we had to be in an area that was central to all we wanted......spot on.
Food was fine....we were half board so wanted a good breakfast to set us up for the day, then a good evening meal when we returned....again...spot on.
Room was adequate....twin beds as requested and comfortable, the room was dated and tired looking,but it was cleaned every day and fresh towels supplied. The two plug sockets, available to use, were dodgy but would work sometimes and I am sure they are repairable, so that should not be an issue next time.
Yes I will return to this hotel. You get what you pay for and I felt this was a good deal. You have to pay extra for most things but with the basic price we kind of expected this...taking our own pool towels but prepared to hire the kettle. The manager and all staff were friendly polite and kind.
The dinner chef supplied some very good meals, shame the veg was not fresh but meat was very good.
I would have liked to see the superior rooms for future times as I will come again and for longer than one week.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Maureen,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your first visit to Malta and also for your very kind comments regarding the staff, food and cleanliness. We do appreciate of guests comments as these help us in improving the services offered.

We would have been very happy to show you our superior rooms on the 5th floor. You can though see pictures of the rooms on our website www.windsorhotelmalta.com.

We do hope to see you again at the hotel in the future.

Warm regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. This hotel was rated 5 star by the company we booked through. This is not fair on hotel staff. This hotel is probably 3 star. Rooms are clean, breakfast adequate. We had a couple of issues that were resolved immediately when mentioned. This is not an expensive hotel and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendacansick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Brenda,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent visit to Malta and also for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased that you found the hotel good value for money and we will pass on your lovely comments to our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again should you re-visit our lovely Island.

Warm regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times already - the staff is very friendly and obliging, the location is great (Promenade, busstop, harbour), the quality of food is excellent and there is a large variety and choice for everybody, the rooms are comfortable - and the superior rooms (new Italian Style furniture) are an absolute treat and the supplement is just PEANUTS. I'll definitely be back soon and can only recommend it to everybody, a quality place.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are absolutely delightful - and the supplement is nothing for what you get. Go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank umf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Umf,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is very satisfying to have guests who appreciate the efforts put in by the management and staff in ensuring that our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay at the Hotel. I will definately pass on your comments to all the staff concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Warm regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were two couples. Asked for a double bed each and for our rooms to be on same floor. We happened to be on different storeys. The mattresses are very old and uncomfortable. The water to have a bath was yellow/green. One of our rooms was not cleaned on a particular day, and so had no clean towels. On the first day the jacuzzi and indoor pool were icy cold, when we complained they switched it on the following day. They charge 2 euros for swimming pool towels which you wont get back but you have to return the towel. I got mine back when I complained about the cold water in jacuzzi and pool. Despite this when the rusty shower broke in one of our rooms it was mended immediately. I must say that the receptionist, maids and waiters were all very nice and welcoming however this is definitely not a 4 star hotel!! Beware!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vanessax_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Vanessa,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at The Windsor Hotel.

We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations but would like to make the following comments.

1. We were aware that you did request rooms on the same floor. Unfortunately, we were unable to accommodate your request due to high occupancy.

2. Your booking did not reach us with a request for a double bed but when you requested this during your stay, the beds were pushed together and made up with double sheets.

3. We do appologise if one of the rooms was not serviced.

4. We do incur laundry charges to have our pool towels cleaned, so this is why the hotel charges a minimal charge for the use of these towels.

5. The reason for the indoor pool, and jacuzzi water being cold on one day during your stay was that a hot water pipe broke and had to be repaired. AS you can imagine it takes a few hours to reheat the water.

6. Our records do not show any mention from you regarding the dis-coloured bath water. We are very surprised with your claim as we have not have such claims from any of the other guests.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#27 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#10 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing