We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
tyne & wear
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice hotel friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

this hotel is set back from main road so its very quite rooms are clean and basic . stayed on b & b , food a bit bland but ok ,has 2 pools on the roof and jacuzzi lots of restaurants nearby Ta Kolina is very good. there is a bar a couple of streets away called Ramblers Rest run by irish couple Dermot and Corinna where you will be warmly welcomed . If you go tell them maude sent you i promise that you will have a great nite.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    127
    132
    136
    206
See reviews for
100
272
93
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

I was a bit scared after reading some reviews of this hotel, but I had to book a cheap hotel in a convenient location, and among other choiches I prefered the Windsor.
It turned out to be a rather acceptable option.
I booked a twin room for 40€ per night including breakfast.
The room was basic but always kept clean, with a small balcony, air conditioning, satellite TV & minibar. Bathroom amenities were very basic, so it's better that you bring your own.
Staff were nice and helpful.
The breakfast buffet was adequate, with several types of bread, jams, cereals, cold cuts & cheese, and you could also have a full english breakfast, with bacon, sausages, beans and eggs.....
Location was really good, 2 minutes walk to Sliema's promenade (Tower road) wih plenty of restaurants and a bus stop nearby.
A taxi from the airport costed us 20€ (pay before at the taxi booth in the arrivals hall).
I would recommend this hotel if you're on a budget and want convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBZVLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I went on a pilgrimage back to Malta and stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks. The staff were great and most accommodating. A big thanks to Theresa front desk and Tommy on night shift who always went out of there way to make you feel at home .

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

Cheap hotel but it was not the worst I have stayed in. Definitely not 4 star, just about a 3. Rooms clean and comfortable beds. I thought the food was good. I stayed at a 5 star in Valetta and the food there was disgusting and expensive!!!
Not enough attention is paid to detail.......bar opens when anyone can be bothered, public notices are lies......(there is no Maltese night on a Friday and no Bingo or Quiz nights!!!!)
No facilities for early morning tea/coffee in the room and try getting a bar of extra soap if you dare.
Cheap hotel, frayed at the edges. Could be greatly improved with TLC.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PragueGodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathathowells@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

Spent one night at the Windsor. Liked the location being right by the coast and a short walk to the Valletta coastline. Got very lost even with a map walking through the old town of Sliema which is a maze of streets with blue sea to your right and left at junctions!

Room and hotel tired and worn. Aircon free, but safe in reception 15E set price so we didn’t bother for only one night. TV, washing line, hairdryer, small balcony with furniture, fridge only works when card in slot (driving licence worked). No kettle. Hot water in bath, but water extremely hard - we noticed a vast difference when we stayed in the Fortina Hotel.

The indoor pool is worn around the edges too and the jacuzzi may have been a good one in its day. Very small indoor pool which was cold. Sauna didn't get very hot. Nice rooftop area with outdoor pool.

Bar downstairs seems to have done up recently and is modern and bright with good entertainment the night we were there (Sunday). Leather sofas to sit on in small reception lounge.

The only two things that made me very grateful not to be staying in this hotel any more than a night were the fact the indoor pool was so cold and the walls of the bedrooms were so thin that the guests might as well have been sleeping in one big dorm. Thankfully noise didn't start until 7 am.

Breakfast was in a pleasant dining area, but was rather basic and the cooked sausages were very strange tasting.

Unfortunately, having read reviews about every hotel in Sliema I fully appreciate that there do not seem to be any decent hotels!! We walked past the Victoria Hotel which looked fabulous outside, and the only reason we didn't stay there was the single supplement rooms were so expensive for my brother. We stayed 7 nights in the Fortina 5* Hotel, and spent one extra night in the Windsor.

Cathy & Kevin Hughes

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

After backpacking around various countries for months and staying at hostels I thought I'd treat myself by staying at what is advertised as a 4 star hotel...this is definately not the case. The special "deal" turned out not to be a deal at all. My room was in the far bottom corner up 2 floors in one elevator, then a walk though the winding corridors, then down another floor in a different elevator. Bed comfortable, however sheets were ill-fitting and very worn and the pillows were very old and lumpy. The bathroom ceiling was covered in mould and the shower flooded the floor every time no matter what position it was placed in - even if I held it in my hand. No exhaust fan in bathroom. I have no idea if all rooms are the same. Towels were replaced daily and room clean enough however in the week I stayed soap was not replaced at all unless asked for at reception. Restaurant very small and difficult to move around in. Breakfast of toast, cereal, coffee, & awful juice..the hot buffet usually only had one spoon so the baked beans were mixed in with the scrambled eggs..not a pretty site. I ate there only 2 out of 7 mornings. The younger male receptionist was impertinent, however, another receptionist was very friendly and gave good advice on tourist attractions. WiFi connection poor but free. I was quite disappointed overall and expected better from a 4 star hotel in Malta. I'd say at most this is a 2 star hotel with a 3 star lobby/bar.
The only good thing about the hotel is its location which is just off the promenade and only about a 10 minute stroll to the ferry and bus station. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

lifts frequently breaking down!no rails on steps to each floor, high steps to enter hotel, not for disabled. restaurant poor, staff not trained, food half cooked and juice and sauce watered down.cutlery old and mismatched. not for people with mobility problems. entertainment poor at weekends and waitress should not be dancing and drinking with guests when people are waiting to be served!! rooms clean but maids cleaned bath with my underwear, reception girls friendl
y and helpful.hotel not recommended and there were a lot of disgruntled guests.not a good advert!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neveragainlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#27 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#10 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing