We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hostel/residence is not good and poor value for money. Do not go !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hibernia Residence & Hostel
Ranked #14 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sliema
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed 6 weeks at the NSTS Hibernia Residence and Hostel.

Good things:

- The rooms were cleaned twice a week.

Bad things:

- The breakfast was served 8am untill 9am, but by 8.30am there was rarely any food left. The staff didn't check the buffet so clients had to ask them to refill everything.

- Some staff were unhelpful and inpolite particularly on reception. Reception should have been open untill 2pm but the staff often left at 11 pm.

- The internet was very poor. Having paid for 4weeks, I had to keep asking the reception for them to look at the internet which didn't work in my room. Two weeks later, after perseverence on my behal, they finally did get it working. No re-emboursement was given. I am still awaiting a return call from the manager to discuss the problem.

- The fire alarm went off three times on different nights. There were no staff at the Residence at night, It was up to clients to inform the firemen/police and the staff. The staff said that they would not come out in the middle of the night and the clients had to deal with the situation!

- The rooms were extremly hot, and having another wall less than a metre from my window,there was no air flow at all. I asked for an extra fan but I was not given one.

- The shower was a nightmare ! The curtain was not long enough and it was too narrow to cover the gap! As a consequence water poured over the floor every time I used it!

- The freezer door would not open!

- There was a power cut for a day and we lost.food in fridge etc. and we had no hot water, lights.

I would never stop at this group of hostels and would recommend it to no-one !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les_Anglades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2010

I was in NSTS Hibernia residence from the end of August to the beginning of September with an organized group and we were so disappointed that we thought to leave the residence and reserve an another hostel.
It is a residence for a language school but there was no 24h reception and if you had any question you had to call a number (obviously a Maltese number, so for you an international number).
In our room there were 4 toilets but only 1 was working (for all the 20 persons in the room): 2 of them where without lock or broken lock, 1 was without light!
There were also 4 showers but no hot water and 2 of them had door with broken closure.
There was no soap in all the residence, in common areas toilets too.
Some of our friends had broken magnetic card and had to wait us to enter the residence during the night.
All our reports were ignored every day from the reception.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonoilpiubono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

this hostel is so clean,kindness staff,and good price!
i stayed there during low-season,so a room of 8 beds was just for me.
the reception opened only morning,but we can use a card-key for front door and our room.so very safe hostel.
if you wanna stay at cheap hotel having private room,this hostel is better for you.maybe you can stay in half price and get more nice feeling.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ymacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2007

I was staying in a room for two, and it was quite nice, clean and the staff was friendly.
I had two experiences that weren't so good...
1. Suddenly there was a lot of smoke in our room, and it was at night, we took our passports and ran out. In the hallways there was alsp a lot of smoke, or what we thought was smoke. We were waiting outside the house and people told us that it wasn't smoke, that was someone was fooling around with the fire extinguisher.
2. Me and two other friends wanted to take the lift to our floor. Suddenly the lift stopped and the door opened between two floors. Then it fell down about two meters. We were ---- in our pants and called for help for about 15 mins before someone heard us and got us out.
Afterall it's a hostel and someone will always make some pranks, but don't use the lift, we heard that a lot of people have had trouble with it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Czyz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Piacenza, Italy
13
Reviewed 14 August 2004

Nice hostel, very near to the sea ( 2min ) even if not the cleanest sea of the isle. If you want a better sea you have to walk only 10min at least. 20min to the nigthlife center ( paceville ) and close to bus stop. The set is very friendly and it's easy know people, expecially at breakfast, but most of guys attends the school so that is the place where people knows eachothers. The owner is freindly ( but less if you contact her not in the reception time! ). The rooms are clean and the service as well. It is safe and quite at night: very good. Enjoy it.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: appartamentini al primo piano sulla destra nn erano male e'c'e' anche un enorme balcone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank visca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chuuupix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
6.8 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 28 in Sliema
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostel 94
Hostel 94
#9 of 20 in Sliema
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Jones
Hostel Jones
#2 of 20 in Sliema
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Malti
Hostel Malti
#5 of 33 in Saint Julian's
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibernia Residence & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibernia Residence & Hostel

Address: Depiro Street, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta (Formerly Hibernia House Gateway Hostel)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sliema
Price Range: £13 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibernia Residence & Hostel is the place for the new generation who seeks hospitality, friendships, intercultural friendships and fun. Its warm, welcoming and caring environment combines well with the freshness and colour of its comfortably furnished rooms to provide a truly memorable stay. NSTS Hibernia Residence and Hostel offers 1 to 4 bedded self-catering studios (each equipped with a kitchenette and a private bathroom) in the Residence, and 6 to 8 bedded dorm rooms in the Hostel - separate male and female wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hibernia Residence & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernia Residence & Hostel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing