We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wine and nibbles!!!”
Review of Balluta Bar

Balluta Bar
Ranked #88 of 189 Restaurants in Sliema
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
256 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“wine and nibbles!!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

what a brilliant local!!! great little place for just wine or alcohol or food!!! the food is pretty amazing, always something different. have had lasagna, chilli, chicken fried rice and platters. all have been really nice. this is a great place for food if u want something less formal than a restaurant. service is seriously good!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveMay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    4
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bar”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

What can I say, this bar is great, Brian the proprietor is exceptional, he has years of experience in the hospitality industry and he knows how to make you feel right at home. Great selection of wines and nibbles and the food is fab. We had a few bad experiences before we found this place and we ate here every evening after.

A good mix of people, from locals to holidaymaker. Everyone was very friendly. We attended the table quiz, which is on every Thursday, and is good craic.

The bar shows alot of the sports but this isnt intrusive, its not a typical sports bar!

I have to say if you want something a little different with good company, fine wines and good food which is very resonably priced this is a place not to be missed!

A big thank you to Brian, you and your bar really made our holiday!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle7312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I was recommended to visit this bar after a bad experience at another "bar" in Balluta...... WHAT a difference!

Although the bar is small, the service, atmosphere and friendliness of both the staff and customers was a very welcome - a good mix - maybe only 20? people .. but from all over .. England, USA, Malta ... great conversation and lots of fun ... Free WiFi, GREAT "nibbles" and although I did not eat the snack menu looked very tempting!

Recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
As, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Special thanks to the OWNER Briannnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!!!!! As a very big NFL fan, I found this bar....That was like a dream! very friendly, you can find a lot of american people and
NFL(NHL, NCCABB...)fans. As me and Brian basketball fanatic, DUKE BLUE DEVILS fans, we
have a very very good time!!!!!!!!!!
Greatings to Brian
Fabio(Italy)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larry33_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice LITTLE bar but not #1 in sliema by far”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

First time in Malta so we used tripadvisor to find some local bars and this one came up as #1 it is situated down a very small side street not from sea front when we eventually found the bar we didn't expect it to be so small and quiet not many people in there at all , there were a few tables with bar stools and a small sofa set thats it ..we was stayin in the palace hotel and I believe our hotel room was bigger than this bar....on the upside it was a nice bar and drinks were very reasonably priced we never did try the food but it did look good in the cabinet.....there are a lot of other bars in sliema not quite sure how this bar has been voted #1 very strange ??

Helpful?
1 Thank biscuitlover89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balluta Bar also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Balluta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing