We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments and great location!”
Review of Depiro Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Depiro Point
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice apartments and great location!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at Depiro Point apartments and must say that our holiday in Malta was enhanced as a result of staying there. The apartments are large and it is clear that an attempt to finish them to a high standard has been made; they are located a short walk from the bay, bus stop and restaurants. The staff were helpful and promptly attended to any requests we made.

In order to give a balanced view I must mention two negative points. We found the mattress rather hard but overcame this by sleeping on top of the quilt cover. The other point relates to the fact that the apartments offer free access to Medasia Playa; this information is included in the description provided on the booking.com website but was not mentioned / discussed upon check in and could not be found in any of the brochures provided by the apartments. However, staff did confirm that we could use the facility when we asked, nevertheless there was some confusion relating to the “free” entry when we arrived at Medasia Playa but their manager soon resolved it after making a telephone call to verify this.

Access to Medasia Playa is a unique selling point which Depiro management should ensure they promote, as it sets them apart from other hotels in the vicinity (barring Pebbles apartments who also offer this), as admission normally costs 8 Euro / day. Medasia Playa (http://medasia.com.mt/medasia-playa/) is set on the water front a short distance from Depiro apartments and has a salt water pool, sunbeds; serves food and beverages at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank millieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    71
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
42
111
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The apartment itself was very clean, classy, and well presented. It is in a good location and is only a few minutes walk to the bay and bus stop. The front desk, however, is only open sometimes, and their hours are not stated anywhere that we could find. When we arrived to check in, nobody was there, the phone number we had was not answered, and we ended up waiting around outside for a long time, because we couldn't walk around with all of our luggage. Perhaps situations like this could be avoided in the future by arranging arrival times with guests in advance.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autophagosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vukica V, Front Office Manager at Depiro Point, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

The management is pleased to hear that our staff made the most to ensure that you enjoy your stay with us. I shall personally inform our housekeeping team further to your encouraging comments.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nice clean new apartment. Kitchen not well stocked - but kitchen supplies delivered to room when requested. I think the main thing that lets Depiro Point down is that reception staff do not appear to extend themselves. When l arrived no initiative was taken to ensure l was orientated to the area ie just walk this way and that will lead you to .... I needed to ask them to mark where we were on the map so l did not get lost getting home on first day. Power blackout on one of my stays there - l came home to darkness and couldnt phone staff as couldnt see anything till morning. Food in freezer started to defrost. Informed reception in morning of blackout, was told they were aware of problem but only checked a few units as couldnt check all as too many. A simple torch in rooms with intructions at checkin re power board would have solved this problem

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyApril2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vukica V, Front Office Manager at Depiro Point, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to write down your impressions and personal opinion.

I am really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us and we will do our best to manage these inconvenience caused, for future references. Regarding the black out that happened during your stay, not all the apartments were effected by it therefore the staff was not aware which apartments had no electricity. Thus they kindly explained that for future references you just inform them so that they would be able to help you. I presume there was a misunderstanding and we apologize for that.

As you may know check-in is between 14.30 - 18.00 and we always inform our clients beforehand to inform us their arrival time and if a taxi service is needed. However when our clients do not inform us their arrival time it is difficult for us to predict.

In the apartments there is the information sheet with all the contact numbers needed.

Once again we apologize for all the inconveniences caused and we thank you for your kind response.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have stayed for 7 days in Depiro Point and we enjoyed every minute of it. The place is brand new and very well maintained. I read some of the reviews and I cannot agree with the opinion that it is difficult to find...I managed to do it while being a bit tipsy :)
One tip... book one of the apartments on the top where you will be able to enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Top apartments are must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Remington2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vukica V, Front Office Manager at Depiro Point, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

The management is pleased to hear that our staff made the most to ensure that you enjoy your stay with us. I shall personally inform our housekeeping team further to your encouraging comments.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madliena, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed in depiro point for a week ...it was an amazing experience and i will be back for sure !! Everything about it was good very new and modern ,clean,and spacious they also have a recption which is open everyday which give very usefull information. location wise it is just 2 mins walk to the center of sliema ....Very enjoyfull !!

thanks depiro

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vukica V, Front Office Manager at Depiro Point, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

The management is pleased to hear that our staff made the most to ensure that you enjoy your stay with us. I shall personally inform our housekeeping team further to your encouraging comments.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto-Vecchio, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We only had two nights in Sliema, but would definitely return. The property was very well equipped. We were emailed a couple of days before our arrival to inform us we could check in from 10 am instead of the usual time, which was very thoughtful. There is a little shop about 200m from the property and it is open on a Sunday. Within 5 mn you are on the main artery with many restaurants, bars etc..We thought it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-line L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vukica V, Front Office Manager at Depiro Point, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

The management is pleased to hear that our staff made the most to ensure that you enjoy your stay with us. I shall personally inform our housekeeping team further to your encouraging comments.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It's an apartment to rent, not a hotel. No real services.
Spacious place. We could prepare meals on our apartment, if we wanted.
No room service unless you ask, no cleaning or changing towells unless you ask. No soap, shampoo nor any amenity provided. Location required a twenty-minute, partly uphill walk to reach Sliema ferry. Streets around badly signed, very dark at night. Since DP doesn't give you a map, it was almost impossible to find the way back on the first night. But the worst was the very, very, very strong dust smell, like moldly smell, in the corridors and inside the apartment. I don't know if it was under renovation or construction, if the problem was restricted to our block, but I felt I was inside a building site. For those - like me - who have allergy, take it seriously into consideration.

Room Tip: Be sure not to stay in a room with a moldly smell (Well, in the case it was not the case of all Depi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmaselus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vukica V, Manager at Depiro Point, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to write down your impressions and personal opinion.

I am really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us and we will do our best to manage these inconvenience caused, for future references.
However as you may have seen upon your booking Depiro Point is an apart-hotel, thus it does not include services such as bed and breakfast etc. Therefore, you are provided with all the required facilities and services needed in an apartment during your stay. You can find all this information regarding the facilities and services that we offer on the booking.com website or you can either email me on info@depiropoint.com for any information required.

Regarding the map and location information, they are all available in the reception and our staff would be more than happy to help you in that case.

We will definitely solve the problem of mould, noise and building and once again we truly apologize for that.

Thank you for your comments and feedback, these will certainly help us to strive better and provide a better product and service.

All the best and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Depiro Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depiro Point

Property: Depiro Point
Address: 18 Triq Depiro, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 2032, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Depiro Point 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 250 metres from the sea at Balluta Bay, Depiro Point offers spacious contemporary apartments with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. The property is set in the lively district of Sliema. The popular area of St. Julian's is a pleasant 15-minute walk away.Modern apartments at the Depiro feature a balcony, living area and fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher. They include a flat-screen TV and DVD player, and some apartments have garden views.Guests have free access to the Medasia Playa beach, with restaurants and beach facilities for rent. Supermarkets and restaurants are available within a radius of 500 metres.Private garage parking is available, and Malta International Airport is 10 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Depiro Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Depiro Point Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing