We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people and location!”
Review of Hostel Jones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Jones
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hostel Jones is unique and relaxed. It is the perfect vantage point to see all of Malta. The staff are willing to help with useful advice. I would stay there again when in Malta. Even though i arrived knowing no one, after a week it already felt like a second home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Quiet place, there are in the residence area. Staff is friendly and always caring for guest. They are very helpful. But you'd better to bring mosquito repellant. I stayed second floor but I was stung more than 20 points by mosquito. I can tell you, mosquito in Malta was horrible. Except that, I had a good time in Hostel Jones.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Atsue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lockers were busted. Showers and toilets dirty, kitchen basic.
Staff was underpaid and overworked, argued with owner all the time, clearly could not wait to get the hell out of there. Really long waits to get anything done, once no one was around and I had to call a number on a sign in reception and they drove down from 40 minutes away.
If you get past these problems or don't care, then the location is great and decor in corridors and rooms is really cool, it's cheap and there is places where you can get cheap food all around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D, Owner at Hostel Jones, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hey Ugo,

Sorry to hear about your stay with us :(

Yes you are right, your booking was at the very start of our hostel journey and admin was a bit of a disaster at that point.
We had just opened the place and our idea of how we expected it to work and the reality, did not quite meet.
After a Summer of tweaking and upping our game we are now proud to say, that the points you mentioned are no longer an issue for us. We have now tripped our manning of the place and are getting a lot of encouragement and great memories for our guests.

Allow us to offer you 3 free night at our place the next time you visit Malta, we would like you to be the judge of our improvement..;). Email me on info@hosteljones.com to hook you up with this.

Peace x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Dirty, poor service, rude people, hot, dirty bed sheets, no reception at night, not the best location, dirty kitchen, old building, dark rooms, bad lockers. I had the worst hostel experience at Hostel Jones, would never recommend to anyone and am not coming back! A Mess!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vgss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D, Owner at Hostel Jones, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hey Vgss,

It saddens us to hear this from you :(. Truth is we just opened the hostel last December and at first, although our intent was always to offer the best experience possible, we did not have the knowledge and systems that we have now. Your booking happened to be at the start of our journey into offering hostel Jones to travellers (in fact that is why you got it at a very cheap rate ;)).
Since your stay with us, we have upped our game in the cleanliness department and are now so clean, you could eat your breakfast off our toilet floor :P

We would like to invite you to stay at our hostel again and see for yourself . I personally would like to offer you 3 days of free accommodation as a gesture of goodwill. If interested kindly contact me directly on info@hosteljones.com to get this in place.

Again we apologise if we did not meet your expectations, though we raise our head up high in knowing that the service we are currently providing is one that our guests are loving ;)

Keep on travelling,
Trev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have travelled all over the world but never have I seen such a warm host as Trevor, the hostel owner. I felt at home immediately and loved all the great advice and suggestions he gave us to truly explore the real Malta and Gozo.
If you are staying on Malta it would be absolutely nuts not to stay at his place. It is cheap and the value you get is much more. There is a lovely backyard and the whole hostel is covered in awesome street art. Its clean, it has great bathrooms, the beds are good and you can use a kitchen if you want to cook.
Just go and experience it yourself! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina_Meil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I can recommend this hostel to everyone who is looking for good location and excellent atmosphere. Walls of building are decorated by very talented artists. Owner is incredibly kind and helpful person. I loved that place.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It's the best place to feel at home and to meet new people. The position is perfect because it is close to all main places. The best period to go is during the low season, the hostel and the island are not too much crowded. The staff is very friendly!! Absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: higher floor is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valeria9877890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.1 mi away
Corner Hostel
Corner Hostel
#4 of 20 in Sliema
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Jones

Address: Sir Adrian Dingli Street, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sliema
Price Range: £12 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If we were to tell you that you were going to stay in the coolest house, on the nicest street right in the middle of the most central town just 2 minutes away from a sweet beach would you come?Welcome to Hostel Jones :)You are on your way to making your Malta Hostel experience great. We offer quality accommodation with a personalized touch and a unique taste of the Mediterranean. A house you can treat as your home! We go beyond what a standard youth hostel offers: the location, environment and vibe we’ve created is what makes us different.From double rooms to dorms and everything in between. You will be charmed by the level of comfort and homeliness. All our rooms are really spacious and have each been designed by local artists with a unique flair for design and color. Whether you want to take it easy in our lounges, read a book in our shaded outdoor gardens, pop down to the beach or head off to the clubs, it’s all within walking distance. We’ll see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Jones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Jones Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing