We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my best accomodations ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I just arrived home a half an hour ago and I am writing my review for an accomodation - a first for me:) I wanted to do this right away, since I promised Rita I would write a few words and I wanted to keep my promise, as she kept her promises regarding this charming boutique hostel! Having an excellent location - a walking distance to shopping center, pharmacy, restaurants, bus/taxi,ferry station, and, of course, the sea - yet situated on a very nice and calm street, Two Pillows is really the place to stay when in Sliema. Intimate, very clean and charming, the hostel attracts, it appears, only good quality people, which for me, as a first timer in a hostel, was quite a nice surprise. One of my best accomodations ever - really liked it:) simona, Romania

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Simona,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and your tips for travellers. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay.

I wish to particularly thank you for describing us being a charming boutique hostel, intimate and attracting great guests.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly if you are ever coming back to Malta, so we can offer you our best rates!

Have a Great Day,
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a lovely stay at two pillows. We had the orange room at the top of the property which was a large studio apartment with sufficient space for two people to stay comfortably. The kitchenette facilities in the studio allowed us to eat breakfast and make up snacks which was an added bonus. The room itself was clean, fresh and bright, with lovely big windows which allowed us to watch the fireworks displays in the evenings which were part of local celebrations for a feast. The hostel is only a 5min walk to restaurants on the promenade and a 15m walk to St Julians. Staff are friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. Would highly recommend and will definately stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We thank you so much for your lovely feedback, and we hope that you will come back to visit us again in Malta.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful city!

Have a Great Day
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I really enjoyed staying at two pillows. The property was very clean and well decorated. The kitchen area and patio were especially awesome! The location is walking distance to nice restaurants and the sea. The staff were very helpful when I needed laundry done, new towels etc. Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Shaun,

Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We especially appreciate your comments about the common kitchen and the patio area to which we have recently added more flowers and herbs to enjoy while having a BBQ or simply lazing about in our comfortable hammock.

We hope to welcome you back in Sliema very soon.

Have a Great Day,
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The goods:
During my vacation I stayed in one of the private apartment at the top floor.
The apartment was big and well decorated - everything by Ikea.
The location was good, 200 meters from the Ferries bus station - which you will have connection everywhere on the island.
The personnel was very nice and helpful with my questions/requests.

The bads:
Although I stayed in an apartment, this is still a hostel and the services are the same.
During half of the nights stayed here I was not able to have a comfortable sleep during the night due to the outside and inside (stairs) noise. The windows/doors are not isolated. Also, during the last night someone wanted to repair something in the hostel at midnight and he/she made a lot of noise.
In the bathroom all you will be able to find is some liquid soap - no shampoo, no shower gel, no hair dryer, no skivvies.
The towels' age was similar with mine - they will definitely need to change the towels with some new ones.
They charged +3% of the total bill because I wanted to pay with the credit card.
Although on the reservation the breakfast was specified to be 5E/person/night, they charged 13E/couple.
I was not able to use the WiFi during the entire stay.
For the amount of money (~290 Euros for 3 nights + 1 breakfast) paid for the apartment I am not finding it value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SorinRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Sorin,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, your opinion is very useful for us in order to improve.
We are glad you enjoyed the short distance from the ferries, which in reality is even closer than you stated, the design in each studio, which again is not all Ikea as you again stated and finally the very helpful staff.

However we are always extremely disappointed that any issues are not brought up to our attention during the actual stay as we have so far always managed to deal with any genuine matters that are bound to happen.

Some other clarifications are that the large windows are in fact double glazed with argon to improve insulation and the dividing walls also have rock wool insulation.
We also double checked if any emergency works had to be carried out at night during your stay and also found that this was not the case. Nonetheless we again apologise if you may have heard some noise from outside like fireworks which sometimes do carry on late at nigh during the Summer period in Malta.

With regards to Wifi, again we always receive extremely good comments about the signal and have recently upgraded the bandwidth. This is a matter which would have definitely been dealt with should you have let us know about the difficulties you were having like maybe trying to connect to the signal of a different floor.

Breakfast is advertised at €6.5 not €5 as you stated. We remember asking you whether you wanted to have breakfast after confirming the price of €13 for the both and also pointed out the 3% surcharge on card payments to which you confirmed.

You also decided to complain about the price you were charged. This was clearly advertised that way of course while you booked. The price you paid which is just under €90 a night clearly is excellent value when you consider you had a 54 square meter apartment including a small terrace, your own kitchen, queen size bed, private bathroom, air-conditioning, a large sofa, 42 inch LCD tv with over 90 free tv channels, free wifi...etc all this in a prime location in the heart of Sliema.

We really appreciate your comment and we would like to welcome you back at Two Pillows.

Have a Great Day
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was virtually enchanted by every aspect of Malta in general (it was my first time there), so you might find my review of Two Pillows a bit over-enthusiastic. Nevertheless, I must admit that as objective as I can be, this hostel is one of the best I have ever stayed in. They have a very friendly staff who'll leave a welcoming note for you if you get there late and are very helpful if you wish to e.g. check out a bit later. Rooms are clean, the kitchen is modern and well equipped, and you can meet very interesting people there. Plus the patio area is nice and cosy. Definitely recommendable!

Room Tip: The brown room is located close to the common area, which gets noisy late at night and early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radoslaw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent review and your tips for travellers, we are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly if you are ever coming back to Malta, so we can offer you our best rates!

Have a Great Day,
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in two pillows last week with a large group of friends and family. I've never stayed in any kind of hostel before and had no idea what to expect. It was a pleasant surprise- charming owners, super comfortable beds for us all and our friends in the penthouse had a fabulous room with a gorgeous roof terrace and stunning views! Great value for money and a really lovely place to stay- a beautiful old building with stone walls and original features too.
Will be returning there when we go back to Malta for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for the penthouse with the double bed and terrace- amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetters72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are always thrilled to read such positive feedback from our guests, especially in cases of larger groups like yours.

Thank you for recognising our bedroom qualities, excellent location, value for money and the fantastic building itself into which we put so much pride and energy to transform into what you experienced during your stay.

Again, thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us.

Have a Great Day,
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed at Two Pillows with my friend and soon we go again. The owners are very, very friendly, helping us each day with places to visit. It is very easy to travel from Two Pillows. By walk we went to the beach, to restaurants, shopping, and to visit cultural places it is also easy with the bus station very close. In the evening we enjoy staying at Two Pillows with other guests to cook and enjoy some wine. One day, we stay there during day, it is quiet but we enjoy that too and sunbathe alone in the terrace. After we go to Gozo, but we will be going back for some more days. See you soon Two Pillows!

Room Tip: Ask owners which is best room they have available and they help you. For us, the 'red room'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Elsa,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and your tips for travellers, we are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you also had time to sunbathe in our common patio.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly if you are ever coming back to Malta, so we can offer you our best rates!

Have a Great Day,
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,038 reviews
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Pillows Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Address: 49 Triq San Piju V, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1423, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sliema
Price Range: £12 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Two Pillows Boutique Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the centre of Sliema and right opposite Valletta Harbour, Two Pillows Boutique Hostel is a 100m walk from Sliema Ferries the best place to eat, drink and shop in Malta. Two Pillows Boutique Hostel has access to 4 beautiful beaches and lidos all within 5-10 minutes walk. Just in front of the hostel you can find a traditional baker and also a grocer situated in the picturesque street full of Maltese balconies. If you want bigger supermarkets there are 3 to choose from all within 2-6 minutes walk. All our rooms offer free Wi-Fi.This tranquil traditional Maltese Town house has been professionally converted to offer modern-style rooms feature free silent air-conditioning, kitchenette, LED TV and private shower. Some rooms have a terrace with sea and city views. A fully equipped common kitchen is available to all guests and also breakfast is served daily in the breakfast room. Hostel guests can socialise in the patio, complete with BBQ facilities, or relax in the chill-out room. From Sliema Ferries, Valletta is a 5 minute boat ride away or 10 minutes by bus. Buses from the ferries can take you directly to almost all destinations in Malta making for best hub on the island. Direct buses also operate to and from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Two Pillows Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing