We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“book a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“book a hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Wanting something different I booked an apartment talk about basic with no service. I will book a hotel from now on much more of a personal touch and staff on hand. Apartments that are self catering are fine if you like to do all the work while on holiday and have no thrills and the endless white apartments all look the same.
Dull and everything a holiday should not be.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clara072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    527
    405
    209
    161
See reviews for
293
674
112
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

It was very basic. Even though the reception desk was always crowded with staff they never seemed to have time for the guests. Not very friendly.

Only one veeeeery slow elevator. We could wait for minutes.

We had a great view overlooking the harbor. Morning sunset. very nice! If you have a balcony, eat breakfast there instead of the hotel buffet.

It was well worth the money, a busstop right across the street. Great if you don't plan to stay in the hotel during your trip.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We have just returned from a month at the Bayview apartments round the corner in Triq Belvedere and were extremely comfortable in a one bedroomed apartment. The accommodation and furnishings are basic, but comfortable and clean. The three star rating is obviously given for the facilities which we found to be fine, I swam for an hour in the indoor pool most afternoons and was usually alone so although it is small, I was never crowded. Turn left from the hotel and walk for about ten minutes and then go up the hill and you will find a Carrefour supermarket, there are lots of little shops in the warren of streets behind the hotel for fresh vegetables and fruit and stuff. An excellent wine merchant in Triq Ponsonby (next street if you turn right out of the hotel) sold the Lindemanns 65 Chardonnay for E2.95 and I have to pay about £6.50 here in UK for it.
We were in Malta for the culture and the architecture and were not disappointed, the Bayview is the perfect location and we had a wonderful time. The receptionists never failed to sort out my queries and when I requested a teapot because there was not one in the apartment it appeared within an hour.

We intend to return to Malta in about three years for another winter month (we don't like hot weather) and will have no hesitation in booking the Bayview again. It was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bardsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights, The location is excellent, There is a bar nearly called The Waterfront and that was excellent, it has all sorts of drinks and light snacks. There is a few shops either way of the hotel and if you walk along nearer the end that is where the better shops and restaurants are. We had a hire car and there was always plenty of parking.

I would say avoid Newmans Place, its an italian but the food is terrible. The pizza instead of having sauce had cheap tin tomato chunks, and hardly any cheese, it wasn't cooked properly. My other half had the surf and turf and he said that was awful as well as being cold.

The hotel check in took ages as the receptionist didn't seem to know what he was doing so I had to wait for another receptionist to be free. I never felt the staff were that friendly and on check out we were not asked if we enjoyed our staff or anything. The hotel has a small bar which has the basic selection but it is nice to sit down there on the sofas away from your room. We didn't have the breakfast as we have previously heard it was rubbish so we decided to eat elsewhere.

The room was spacious, in need of updating but it was mostly clean except the floor which really needed a good sweep, I didn't like taking my shoes off as the floor was so dirty. The bathroom is outdated. The beds were not the worst I had slept in, but not the best either. There is plenty of space to hang your clothes and a TV in the room. Our room was next to the lift and generally it is a noisy hotel so don't expect a great nights sleep.

I wouldn't stay here again, I would stay at a hotel further down the sea front. Oh and finally if you have a hire car beware of the Maltese drivers as they can't drive very well, they do not indicate and they pull out in front of you all the time. We had a few close calls.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzzie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. We booked a sea view room and didnt get it as they seem to take bookings for rooms they havent got. Rather than move mid stay we settled for a room with a side sea view.

The air conditioning didnt work at all, luckily it was reasonably good weather.

The breakfast isnt very good, we booked it for all 6 days but gave up on it after 2 and went to a cafe down the road instead. Same thing every day and not good quality.

Most people staying seem to be with tour operators and I think would be happy. We booked direct and paid more but it was relatively unsatisfying. Its is clean and all the basics are there. The area behind the hotel is a bit seedy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdAM0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The hotel is in a fantastic location right on the Sliema waterfront & only an hour walk, 5 minuts boat trip or 10 minute bus trip to Valletta. Very handy for bus routes all over the island. The hotel itself was great for us, very clean & tidy and the staff were lovely, all so friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice & plenty of it too. Great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandbwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

On most counts the hotel was average for its class - staff were reasonably helpful, the room was cleaned etc. However we thought that the hotel infrastructure and management was very poor. Both of the two lifts (elevators) were out of action on three of our seven days - and we were on the sixth floor - so not suitable for elderly people unless they are good at walking up stairs. The hotel handymen would effect a temporary fix - until the next breakdown. The flush on our toilet failed to work, which caused us a lot of inconvenience. On one day there was heavy rain and water got into our room while we out. We arrived back drenched and cold to find the room flooded. After several calls to reception we managed to get someone to mop the floor up.

On the plus side the Bayview has bus stops outside and is in a good location for bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wojer590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#9 of 28 in Sliema
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Property: Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Address: 143, Triq Ix Xatt, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is ideally situated on the seafront, just 100 meters away from Sliema. It offers a variety of rooms that have balconies with sea views, side sea views and inland views, which can accommodate up to four persons. All rooms have the necessary commodities one would need whilst on holiday. The hotel is just a short walk away from Sliema. Sliema is one of Malta's busiest shopping areas with an array of shops, cafes and restaurants to suit every desire. Just a short drive away from the hotel is the St Julian's / Paceville area, which is the hub of nightlife, which includes various clubs as well as restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing