We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic revisit to Bayview Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We have just returned from the Bayview apartments in Sliema. We originally went there 5 ayears ago and although the apartment was good there were a lot of Italian students in the same block and they made our holiday an absolute misery with their noise and misbehavior.

This time we booked a one bedroom apartment and I had especially requested a nice terrace as we like to sit out of an evening to enjoy the sunset and have a glass of wine. We arrived and were shown to a lovely apartment at the back of the Bayview (actually preferable as it's quieter!) we got our beautiful terrace and a huge apartment with a washing machine in the bathroom.

The reviews on tripadvisor and another website were pretty awful, and they mentioned frequently the bad customer service at the reception. I arrived expecting the worst and could not have been more surprised, the staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful (especially Paul)

All in all, I think the Bayview has taken on board the bad reviews they received in the past and have acted on them. Well done!

We would definitely use them again next time we travel to Sliema.

Room Tip: We had an apartment on the top floor (7503) the terrace was bigger than other apartments. The bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kentisi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

An absolute fantastic holiday. The Bayview was fantastic, staff were great and very helpful. The room my husband and I stayed in was very clean. Going on trips by bus was very easy as the bus stop was right outside. plenty of local supermarkets near by. The only downfall was if you stayed half board there seem to be a bit of a rushed atmosphere, but overall would definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimonde22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had booked three single rooms for one nights stay as we were travelling to Sicily by ferry the next afternoon. We were surprised to be taken outside the hotel and walked a few yards down the street to an annexe building where we entered a small lift which took us up to the penthouse apartment.

Three double rooms, one on-suite, a family bathroom, small kitchen/dining area and lounge area with a huge balcony overlooking the Valletta - fantastic views.

Breakfast was supplied at the restaurant in the main hotel which we found to be of a very poor standard and the only area which lets the Bayview down - it's just not good enough quality.

Otherwise, I'd recommend a stay at the hotel, especially if you can book the penthouse apartment!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Umgababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very good location at the Strand, seaview towards the Sliema creek and Valletta. Near busstops for local bus, hop on -off busses, tours round the island, boat to Valetta. Some noise from the traffic.. The appartment was fine for four persons, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Very well equiped kitchen, diningtable and sittinggroup. Clean, frequent change of towels. Small swimmingpool at the roof and sunbeds - but no parasols - this is a big minus! This area was not attractive. We did not try the food at the hotel, many good restaurants in the area with both maltesian and foreign menu. Did also get god recommendation for a good restaurant by the receptionist. Malta is really a pearl!!

Room Tip: Appartment should be at least at the fourth floor due to the traffic noise from the main road in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BjorgDagny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We booked this hotel as one of us had stayed at the Bayview previously and enjoyed the excellent location overlooking Sliema Strait and Valletta from a sea view apartment. We stayed on a room only basis, so cannot comment on the hotel's other facilities. We arrived on the early flight out of Manchester and so didn't expect our apartment to be ready, so headed up to the rooftop pool area for a few rays and a drink. The views are superb and panoramic. We experienced a few credit card acceptance problems at check-in, due to the hotel systems not being on-line at the time. This was sorted out fairly quickly and hopefully my next credit card statement only show one charge!!!. We were then escorted to our apartment, which is in a new block facing the sea and marina areas, about 200m from the hotel entrance (level pavement by the way). We were initially concerned because this block was not the one that had been booked and confirmed prior to arrival, but our fears were completely allayed when we saw what apartment we had actually been allocated. The small lift opened straight into a brand new penthouse apartment! So new in fact that the builders were just put the finishing touches to a couple of plugs and taps when we arrived! The fully air-conditioned apartment features a small kitchen, a bath/shower/toilet room, a dining/lounge area and a large double bedroom with more than adequate storage. The bedroom and the lounge has access to a magnificent outside 'deck/patio' area plenty large enough for the two sunbeds, table and chairs. This area wraps around the corner of the apartment, meaning that you can sit in the sun all day and shelter from any wind too. The views down the estuary and across the marina towards Valletta are stunning. It should come as no surprise therefore that we chose to spend all our chilling out time here instead of the hotel's pool area. Given that we booked 'room only' we bought our breakfast, snacks and drinks from several of the many little local shops and then ate out each evening in the local restaurants (see my separate reviews for restaurants such as Ta'Kris in Sliema). The only gripes with the apartment were small 'snagging' issues due to it's newness and I'm sure that the hotel management will fix these very soon and they certainly didn't detract from a great stay in a great apartment. Only one fly in the ointment during our stay; which was getting stuck in the lift one evening when the power failed! Best advice is to always take a phone with you (with the Bayview's number in it!) so that you can call Reception to be rescued! Alternatively you can always take the stairs and work off some of that delicious Maltese food and ice-cream! The only other potential downside for some might be the road noise below the apartment. It is, as others have noted, on the main drag and you should be aware that young Maltese have a particular penchant for driving roaring hot hatchbacks and motorbikes through the streets at random times. Personally I found it quite quirky and only regretted not having Bruce Springsteen's 'Racing in the Street' on my i-pod to add a musical note to the experience! But it's worth noting that this location is part of a bustling and busy working city and visitors shouldn't expect the peace and quiet of a dedicated beachside resort. And my highlight of the stay apart from the starring role of the penthouse? Watching a large group of Saga Italians gesticulating wildly at each other in the hotel reception as they tried to get in the lifts in an entirely disorderly fashion! It was like a superannuated version of the Harlem Shake and made my day! So if you think you can stand staying in such a place, make sure you book room 7856 at the Bayview, because that's the only place we're going to be staying if and when we go back to visit this lovely city again.

Room Tip: Sea view apartment 7856 is the place to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a package holiday through Thomsons. It was cheap so we were not expecting five star. However, although we chose the hotel as it was in a good location we were disappointed with the lack of basic room cleanliness. The tiled floor was not swept during our 7 night stay and the marks on the underside of the basic were not removed for two days. There were ants in the bedroom which we managed to remove and ants in the bathroom at the end of the holiday. The bedroom door would not lock as the lock was broken but my husband managed to fix it. The balcony door would not lock. We never understood how/or if the air conditioning worked. The mattresses were most uncomfortable we have ever slept on. The metal springs were sticking out. We turned them over, turned them round, but nothing improved them. In the end we asked for them to be changed. One was much better but the other was not. My husband had to put the spare blankets under the sheet in order not to feel the springs. We have slept in many apartments and rooms around Europe and this is the first time this has happened. Toiletries were not replenished. The food was fine and I know other reviewers have indicated otherwise but it was OK. We did not use the pool but it looked very nice. We had to pay 20 euros for a week of wifi which was not too expensive, although the download speed was excruciatingly slow. We had to pay a deposit for the TV remove and the safe in addition to a 15 euro payment that was not refunded. I can understand that many items were available but for a deposit as there were many young people staying at the hotel who might misuse some of these items. The best thing about the hotel was the reception staff. They were incredibly helpful. One other thing to mention was the incredibly bad service by the Thomson rep. She did not turn up to meet guests when indicated and then for our only trip booked through Thomson, she put us down to be collected from another hotel and so we did not go on the trip. The buses in Malta are excellent and very cheap so it is not necessary to book tours through tour agencies or companies. Getting to Gozo on our own was incredibly easy, just go to the port at the northern end and the ferry is very cheap too. It is necessary to get a tour bus around Gozo which is a very beautiful place to visit. Malta was very interesting with so much history. The Waterfront Hotel just three minutes from Bayview looked a much better hotel and still in a great location.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview room but take ear plugs. If going in the very hot weather make sure you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186338travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We booked an apartment through Mercury Direct, flying from Bournemouth with Ryanair and despite the bad publicity that Ryanair seems to attract, our flight was on time with a clean, modern aircraft and helpful crew. Mercury transfers were over-priced and we booked bus tickets with Arriva for 12 euros, which we collected on arrival at the airport, for unlimited travel throughout Malta for the whole week.

The hotel is in a pleasant position fronting onto the harbour with views across to Valetta and Manoel Island. In addition to the hotel restaurants, there are plenty of other small restaurants, bars and shops within yards of the hotel and a bus stop immediately outside the door.

On arrival at the hotel we discovered that our apartment was some 400 metres from the hotel, up a hill and in a narrow back street, despite the fact that I had requested a harbour view. The apartment itself was very satisfactory but I was unaware that all the Bayview apartments can be up to 500 mteres from from the hotel. This was not made clear or notified on the website or on the booking system. Mercury please note!

After some helpful advice and work by the reception staff, we were given the option of a 6th floor penthouse apartment overlooking the harbour at an extra cost which we paid. This new apartment - 896 - is in an excellent position with a lovely balcony but it requires a lot of TLC. The apartment's equipment and facilities are very limited - one over-large cooking pot and a small frying pan, suspect balcony furniture of one sunbed, two elderly chairs and no table, no tea towels or washing up brushes, badly hung curtains that were almost impossible to open and close, etc.,etc..

What a pity as with just a little effort this could be a really excellent, welcoming apartment in a stunning position.

Despite the above, we enjoyed our week in Malta. Thank you to the lady at reception - her name began with a "D", sorry I didn't catch it all, thank you also to our apartment cleaner, he did an excellent job.

Room Tip: Try to get a room/apartment overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Address: 143, Triq Ix Xatt, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £24 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is ideally situated on the seafront, just 100 meters away from Sliema. It offers a variety of rooms that have balconies with sea views, side sea views and inland views, which can accommodate up to four persons. All rooms have the necessary commodities one would need whilst on holiday. The hotel is just a short walk away from Sliema. Sliema is one of Malta's busiest shopping areas with an array of shops, cafes and restaurants to suit every desire. Just a short drive away from the hotel is the St Julian's / Paceville area, which is the hub of nightlife, which includes various clubs as well as restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing