We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget experience, good location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed for a budget week's holiday in February 2014 with friends who had stayed here before and recommended that we go for a higher floor bay view room: we were in 509, they were in 502. The room made a difference to the experience - I've posted a photo of the layout and the room. Our room area was OK overall, but it was narrow making it a squeeze past the beds and the balcony was the smallest on the floor. Their room was probably similar area but squarer so felt more spacious and had a much larger balcony. I did ask if we could change but was told there were no alternatives available.
One consequence of the room layout was the bathroom had possibly the most awkward shower I have ever used - there is a photo. There was a mini bath with a fixed shower screen leaving a tight gap to get through. Once you had got in there was a step in the bath exactly where you would naturally want to stand so you'd have to be too close or too far away from the shower head. Very odd.
The staff were very friendly and cleanliness was good, but a lot of the fittings had seen better days (see pic of the bathroom door). Did not detract from the holiday but set the ambiance for the hotel - OK for the budget holiday that we were on. I did tell reception that water leaked from the sink but it was not rectified.
The breakfast was good in quantity with a choice of hot and cold dishes but again clearly at the budget end of the spectrum. The dining area was quite large and just managed to cope, though on the busiest day there was a bit of a scramble to get a table.
The location is good for exploring Malta with loads of buses stopping outside and the outlook from the room was very enjoyable. You are overlooking a very busy road and there was quite a bit of traffic noise, but it did not cause us any trouble.
Summary: OK for a budget break. I would be happy to stay here again but would probably choose to pay a bit more and stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Avoid an '08 or '09 room. Waterfront view is great but do be prepared for traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us in February. Notes have been taken regarding the points you have mentioned.

As you have highlighted multiple times within your review, the Bayview Hotel & Apartments is aiming to provide the best value for low rates. The hotel is offering a wide range of accommodation for all budgets, from standard inland rooms to large newly finished sea view apartments.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in one of the higher category accommodation next time.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

On our last day Sunday 3rd March 2014 when we ordered a taxi to take us to the airport with a slight detour to attend church in msida creek. We paid for this service Euro 12 to church and Euro20 for the taxi to the airport. We were taken to church in the most cigaratte stenched bus. After Service, we waited for over 35 mins for the taxi . We called the reception who said that the taxi was on the way...we waited some more and no taxi. A good Samaritan offered to take us to the airport. HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED
Other issues..no Free WIFI, on two days we had to go to the reception and request for towels.

Room Tip: Sea view is great, but prepare for the traffic noise. Choose sea view rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matongo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely sorry to read about your inconvenience on your departure day. We are going to clarify it with the taxi company and make sure it will not happen again.

Free WIFI is available in Apartments. Being an eco-friendly hotel, the the housekeeping staff of the Bayview is only changing towels which are thrown on the floor – an international sign to change towels.

Despite of your inconveniences you have mentioned, we sincerely hope that your stay in Malta was a great experience and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed for three nights at Bayview Hotel and enjoyed the experience.
Hotel location is great and the staff are very friendly. Very clean and good value for money. Breakfasts were ok and the dining room pleasant. We did not use many of the hotel facilities but they seemed nice enough.
We were put in the hotel annexe which is about 300 yards along the road and up a side street. This was a spacious two bed room apartment which was cleaned daily. The only down side is noise from people living in the block, not sure if the are residents or hotel staff but were playing loud music at around midnight and up banging on doors at 05.30 (one day only) The bells from the church about 100 metres away started at 05.30 and rang each quarter so sleep was limited. These two complaints were not down to the hotel and did not spoil the stay.
Views from these apartments are of local residences so do not expect a sea view when staying.
I would recommend the Bay View to anyone who wants a central location, very helpful staff and good clean hotel.

Room Tip: If staying in main hotel, ask for room overlooking bay if it means paying extra as view is well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenhpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your recommendation.

We are glad to read that your stay in the Bayview was a nice experience. As you can see on our website, there is a wide range of accommodation available, including sea view apartments.

Thank you very much for your kind compliments regarding our staff and the cleanliness of the Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is supposed to be a 3 star hotel & apartment complex. It is NOT 3 star and would struggle to get any stars. The apartment block looks nothing at all like the pictures on the website of both the hotel and the Thomas Cook sites. The place is just a hovel and the staff are rude to say the least. I booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 adults and when I complained about the apartment I was offered 1 room in the hotel part for three adults.They said they would just put 1 extra bed in the room. How many people would accept that.We only stayed in the place less than 1 hour and left. I am now pursuing Thomas Cook for compensation as they in my opinion have misrepresented the apartments on their website by the pictures they and the hotel have to view. I have taken pictures with my phone and although they are not very good you can still see the vast difference between what my pictures actually show the apartment look like to what the hotel and Thomas Cooks pictures say they look like. TAKE MY ADVICE AND IF YOU HAVE BOOKED AN APARTMENT HERE - CANCEL BEFORE IT IS TO LATE.

Room Tip: Rooms that we saw are all awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heartsofoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry to read about your unpleasant experiences in the Bayview.

To get the best information, please visit our website where there are brand new photos of both rooms and apartments. As the name of the accommodation reflects it right, Thomas Cook has booked you an apartment, not a hotel room or one of the newly added sea view apartments.

We are also sorry if you have experienced our staff less patient to you compared to other guests. In general, all our staff members are receiving generous compliments from our satisfied customers.
We sincerely hope that your stay in Malta was a pleasant one despite the difficulties in the beginning.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A very clean brigth and airey hotel, it has a heated indoor pool and an outdoor pool also. the hotel is in an excellent position. The breakfast was good, no complaints there. If I could find any fault the beds were uncomfortable, springs poking in your back but otherwise fine

Room Tip: we had a room back facing, it was very quiet, we never heard a noise all night. A bay view would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review on Tripadvisor. We are utmost glad that you found the Bayview as you just have described. The old mattresses are continuously being replaced by new ones, most probably you will enjoy a brand new bed next time staying in the Bayview.

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I visited the Bayview with 9 other mature ladies in January of this year. We'd booked 3x2 bedroom apartments.
2 of the apartments could be described as basic but clean and contained just enough equipment for the 3 or 4 occupants.
The third apartment however, although clean and with basic equipment had a horrible smell in the bathroom. The window was left open all night, but in the morning the smell hadn't reduced.
We phoned reception and were immediately offered an alternative apartment. Unfortunately some distance from the rest of the group.
The second apartment was roomy, although there were wires hanging from sockets, the aircon in the living area didn't work, we didn't have a kettle, toaster plus other small items.
One thing I must say is that everytime we phoned reception the staff were lovely. A maintainence man/woman appeared on the doorstep almost immediately. They were all delightful, so absolutely no complaints there.
The really sad thing is that with just a little organisation and care this apartment could have been first class.
We were on a 'clean, cheap, cheerful, holiday in January so didn't expect much, but by mid week we were finding it harder to laugh at all the little snags.
The handy men were greeting us in the street like long lost chums :-).
I must stress that 7 of the group had a perfectly good experience given the cost of our holiday.
All 10 ladies agreed that all the staff were friendly, helpful and deserve a pat on the back for good manners.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moyawaterworth47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank all of you sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. It is our delight that you were enjoying your holiday staying in the apartments of the Bayview, meanwhile rest assured that notes have been taken regarding the topics you have raised. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in one of the apartments.

Thank you for your generous compliments regarding our staff, all of us are doing our best to provide the best possible experience during your stay.

We hope hope to see you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Bayview is in the perfect position for travelling around Malta. A lot of the bus and ferry trips start just down the road. The view of the harbour from the top floor (where the small swimming pools and Jacuzzi are) is breathtaking. The main building is facing the Marsamxett Harbour, but a number of the self-catering apartments are behind it and may be a distance away up a steep climb. The disabled should beware! Some rooms have a view of the water, others face back streets but benefit from less noise from the main Strand road. If you can, find out what rooms are available to match your requirements before you book to avoid disappointment. Some new rooms have a sleeping area next to a noisy lift shaft.
The rooms vary from traditional but a bit dated in the main building to brand new. The cleaning is thorough and the rooms are comfortable. Our mattresses were ready for replacement and there were no tea making facilities in the room. Large deposits were required for the TV remote and the safe lock (10 and 20 euros) plus a daily charge for the safe.
Breakfast food was plentiful and varied and the restaurant served a large number of people each morning in a very slick operation. We did not eat lunch or dinner there, the place is surrounded by restaurants. The Oblico café by reception is good for coffee and snacks. The bus service is brilliant, buy a weekly ticket for under 7 euros, go anywhere!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be noisy. Ring the hotel and tell them what you need. The reception staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFTWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you found the location convenient for your activities and also for dining in the area. Thank you for your compliments regarding the breakfast.

As you have mentioned correctly, there is a wide range of accommodation available and the rooms are getting refurbished. Notes have been taken regarding the mattresses, and we hope that you understand why deposit is required for the safe keys and TV remote.

We sincerely hope that your most recent stay in Malta was enjoyable and you will return in the not too far future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Address: 143, Triq Ix Xatt, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £24 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is ideally situated on the seafront, just 100 meters away from Sliema. It offers a variety of rooms that have balconies with sea views, side sea views and inland views, which can accommodate up to four persons. All rooms have the necessary commodities one would need whilst on holiday. The hotel is just a short walk away from Sliema. Sliema is one of Malta's busiest shopping areas with an array of shops, cafes and restaurants to suit every desire. Just a short drive away from the hotel is the St Julian's / Paceville area, which is the hub of nightlife, which includes various clubs as well as restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing