We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay View, Sliema”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have recently returned from a 5 night holiday staying at Bay View hotel. I must say we were surprised when we were told about staying in a seperate building but it is only a 2-3 minute walk and a very slight slope (if any) up the street to the side of the hotel.

Our first room was on the ground floor of this newly built building and was absolutely huge and sparkling clean although it only had a small window in the kitchen area looking out to a wall so it was very dark in the room and we found it was quite noisy the following morning due to workmen building on the level below us. We took ourselves to reception who were more than willing to help and arranged for us to see 3 rooms and choose one we liked the most. We chose a room on level 6- with a large terrace looking over the pool area (the annex building has use of a seperate pool as well) which was lovely, not as big but everything we could need and i found the cleaners were amazing-
Being self catering we knew there would be no washing up liquid etc as this is the whole point of going self catering but there are plenty of shops to buy things at a good price and on our first morning after cooking breakfast and realising we had forgotten washing up liquid we begrudgingly left our washing up only to return later that day after buying some to see the cleaners had already done it for us! They were there every day with fresh towells and one lady even brought me a sewing kit to borrow from her home!

Overall we were very happy, we found a great film channell on the tv- in english! And i don't think asking for a deposit for the remote is unreasonable after working in a hotel myself i know how many go missing as silly as it sounds!.. So i would definitely recommend to ask for rooms in the new building but make sure you are up high and with a terrace if possible. There are lots of lovely bars and restaurants 2 minutes walk away so it's in the perfect position.

We are going back in September!

Room Tip: higher floor with terracce
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna_lewis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We were glad to read about your positive experiences staying in our apartments. You did very well to ask for another apartment, our aim is to give the best what we can for all our guests.

Also thank you for mentioning the courtesy of the housekeeping and front office staff of the Bayview, your feedback means a lot for us.

It was our pleasure to welcome you in our Hotel this time, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
There are newer reviews for Bayview Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had booked a studio apartment with balcony. We arrived to find not only did we not have a balcony, we only had one very small window over the kitchen sink! We complained and were moved to a better room. However, what was not stated when we booked is that the apartment building is not on the bayside, it is a 5 minute walk into another street. So no views from there anyway. That also means a 5-minute walk every time you want something from reception, such as the remote control for the TV (for a €10 deposit!!!!!) - they also failed to mention that to us when we checked in, which would have made it slightly less ridiculous. What kind of people steal remote controls? The building is brand new and clean, but other than that, the best thing is the proximity to the bus stops and ferries to get away from this disappointing area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nancynoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time publishing your review.
We are disappointed to read about the inconveniences you are mentioning.

First of all, please accept our sincere apologies in case the problems were caused by our shortcomings but meanwhile we would like to inform you that all the points you have raised are mentioned on our official website.

Comprehensive information about the apartments and any room type we are offering is available on our official website.

We are very sorry that your booking agent made a mistake and booked a different room what you have paid for. Please rest assured that in case you book directly with us, these inconveniences are avoidable.

Despite your negative experiences this time, we sincerely hope to welcome you again and you give us another chance to provide the same great guest experience that others get.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Booked 2 bedroom 2 bathrooms with sea veiw 18 months in advance. On arrival we were given other apartments which were NOT what we booked and payed for, after a long battle receipton staff we got what we payed for. THE APPARTMENT ARE NOT VALUE FOR THE MONEY YOU PAY they need a lot of TLC .Breakfast terrible do not pay for it say money and go out side and buy it. Will not stay at this place again!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure what you book you get even if you have to fight for it as we did!!!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Please take your sincere apologies for the inconvenience regarding the room allocation.

We are truly sorry to read that the breakfast did not meet your expectations but we hope we had a chance to recommend the Oblico Café where full English breakfast is served every morning.

Aside of the points you highlight in your review, we sincerely hope that your holiday in Malta was enjoyable. Thank you for your stay.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Imagine my surprise when arriving to what I expected and had seen on-line, to find our apartment was a 15 minute walk away, up a hill and away from cafés and restaurants!
As well, there was no tv remote (available only by paying a €10 deposit), no towels and certainly not the views across the bay that I was promised.
After complaining that my friends were not capable of walking up and down the hill to find places to eat, we were offered alternative arrangements.

This second offering still had no towels or tea towels. The tv remote was again only available on deposit and neither was a hairdryer (available except on €10) deposit.
This is an apartment where we planned to stay 8 days!

The maintenance people were called to fit globes, fix the water leaking under the kitchen sink, bring towels for all four of us and still all was not done.
Regarding washing up liquid and washing powder, we had to supply that as well.

When booking this facility I took care to establish that the accommodation was suitable for a group of four with one couple over 70.

To be fair, we were given a complimentary meal at the in-house restaurant for the inconvenience but be clear about what you expect because what we got looks nothing like what was described on-line!

Room Tip: Good luck with it all. Most of the staff are pleasant but English is a problem for many of them.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank coach4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your experiences. We are very sorry to read that your stay in the Bayview did not meet your expectations.

In the most humble way we would like to inform you that the points you raised regarding deposits and the location of the apartments are described in details on our official website.

What might had confused you is that multiple apartment blocks are belonging to the Bayview Hotel & Apartments, some are offering sea view, some are not but detailed information can be found about each and every room type on our website and booking engine.

The Bayview is offering a wide range of apartments from budget priced ones to newly finished sea view apartments. One can find very recent photo series of our rooms and apartments also on our website.

We are sincerely sorry for the disappointment you have experienced but meanwhile we hope that your stay in Malta was an enjoyable one.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and myself have just returned from a week in Marvellous Malta, and the Bayview Hotel we had an excellent seaview room which was a great view and sounds of life. The room was a 3 star hotel room, anyone expecting more for their money should have spent more and gone somewhere else! OK wardrobe doors were stiff and the shower didn't suit anyone with a slight disability! But hopefully some of these things may be improved in the future? The breakfast were good unless you wanted fatty English cooked breakfasts but the dinners were sometimes a disappointment but there was always something you could eat. We found the staff everywhere very friendly and accommodating , and as for the swinging doors in bathroom you usually go on holiday that you know so what's the problem? The hotel was very well situated and with a weekly bus ticket you could get wherever you wanted to and see a lot of the scenery. The main thing is only to expect what you have paid for the accommodation which is worth the cheaper prices.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lorbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind review and also thank you for highlighting the values and features we are offering to our guests.

We are utmost glad to read that your stay in Malta and in the Bayview was a great one, meanwhile rest assured that notes have been taken regarding the points you raised.

Thank you for your stay, we sincerely hope to welcome you again in the not too far future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel seems quite modern and the bedrooms are quite comfortable, and the staff quite friendly but:

the breakfasts were very disappointing, the buffet was unappetising, cheap cuts of bacon on alternate days, baked beans every day, mushrooms swimming in a liquid and mushroom omelette the same day. The one day that they served fried eggs, the yolks were solid and they were like leather. The orange juice tasted as though it was reconstituted from powder. In spite of being on a B&B basis, I actually had breakfast on one occasion in the coffee bar next to reception (which did serve an excellent full English)

The pool on the roof was tiny; with 5 guys playing ball in it, there was no room for anyone else and the roof terrace was subjected to winds - so not particularly good for sunbathing.

The sofas in the lounge area off reception had torn arms.

I borrowed a hair dryer - but it was totally ineffective it half heartedly provided a slight breeze of barely warn air - not enough to be of any use.

The TV had only one English channel as far as I could find - Sky News.

The en suite was small. The shower door only opened part way before being obstructed by the sink; as someone else noted, the doors were like those in western saloons (except full height) and didn't lock.

My bed cover was stained but as I removed it and just slept under a sheet, I couldn't be bothered asking for it to be changed.

My room was at the front of the hotel with a sea view which was nice - but meant it was quite noisy, especially in the evenings, with traffic on the main road outside. When I sat on one of the two plastic garden chairs, the leg buckled underneath me (probably softened by the sun).

I'd be inclined to book a different hotel next time - with decent size pool and area for sunbathing.

I did point most of these things out on the hotel's own feedback form when I left.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience staying in the Bayview Hotel & Apartments. It was disappointing to read about your inconveniences and we sincerely hope that your holiday in Malta aside of the raised points was enjoyable.

As you noticed correctly in the beginning of your review, both staff and management are trying to give as much as possible for relatively low rates to always increase the value that our guests are receiving for their money.

With modern and comfortable rooms, professional staff and excellent location, the Bayview Hotel is one of the top rated hotels 3-star hotels in Sliema and Gzira.

For our guests with higher expectations for breakfast and accommodation, full English breakfast and a large choice of room upgrades are available for a small price.
We are truly sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations, however we hope that you will return in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Bay-view hotel from 6th -13th May 2014. We paid extra for a sea view which came up to our expectation, the view from the balcony was lovely. We had ups and downs during our stay and I will start with the pros:
The room was clean but very basic
It was cleaned every day and clean towels replaced every day
The waitresses in the dining room were very efficient clearing away finished meals etc
The cons were as follows:
The bathroom didn't have a lock and the bathroom door was a swing type, it reminded me of a Western saloon.
The bath was very small and narrow and the shower screen was fixed to the bath. The only way we were able to get to the shower was to climb over the sloping part of the bath to get to the fixed shower. As I am slightly disabled and in my 70's this was quite a dangerous procedure.
The lifts were very slow
The food was very disappointing. Fresh fruit salad consisted of slices of bananas, grapes and melon. As I don't like melon, I had to fish for the fruit I liked. The cooked breakfast consisted of baked beans, cooked mushroom which didn't look very appetising, fatty bacon and an egg dish. When asked for a fried egg we were told there is a different egg dish every day. When the fried egg appeared a few days later. It was overdone. The orange juice had been watered down so much, it tasted like coloured water, the apple juice was ok. The evening meal was no better. The soup was tasteless and the meat on several occasions was tough and inedible. The vegetables were overlooked and didn't taste fresh but either tinned or frozen. The dessert was the same every day. A small cake with ice cream in several colours. I asked for a drink of water and was told "no" but I could buy an alcoholic drink (I don't drink alcohol ). There was no tea or coffee supplied at the end of the meal, we had to go to the place next door and pay for a pot of tea.
We went up to the swimming pool but it was so small and crowded so we didn't bother.
Sorry to be so critical, we enjoyed Malta and perhaps we will return again but not to the Bay view hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time submitting your review and sharing your experiences with other travellers.
Please accept our sincere apologies for your inconveniences you mention.

At first, thank you for mentioning the values you found to be good during your stay.

We are very sorry that the breakfast and dinner served was not up to your expectations and you found the meals unappetizing. Notes have been taken and each will be discussed by the management to introduce improvements accordingly.

It would had been our pleasure to show you alternatives rooms maybe with showers that might be more convenient.

The opinion of our guests is more than important for us, thank you very much for sharing all these in such details.

Aside of the issues mentioned in your review, we hope that your stay in Malta was overall enjoyable and we also hope that you give us another chance and return in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Address: 143, Triq Ix Xatt, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £27 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is ideally situated on the seafront, just 100 meters away from Sliema. It offers a variety of rooms that have balconies with sea views, side sea views and inland views, which can accommodate up to four persons. All rooms have the necessary commodities one would need whilst on holiday. The hotel is just a short walk away from Sliema. Sliema is one of Malta's busiest shopping areas with an array of shops, cafes and restaurants to suit every desire. Just a short drive away from the hotel is the St Julian's / Paceville area, which is the hub of nightlife, which includes various clubs as well as restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing