We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to avoid it, if you can”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stay from 15 to 22 June 2014
Everything about this hotel is a disappointment. Things sound good but aren't really quite right.
- The address is in Siliema, really you are in il-GzÏra. This means that you are 500 meters from the tourist buses, boats and the town centre. There are a lot of building sites to go by to get to the town centre on foot. There is a bus stop at the front door though.
- there are indoor and outdoor pools on the roof - true. They are a bit small, and the water was cold (even compared to the sea!) probably not more that 25°C. Used the jacuzzi but was a bit concerned about the cleanliness of the water.
- the rooms are not bad, as long as you don't look too close. Lots of tiles chipped. don't walk bare foot as you shall have to wash your feet, the bed sheets are thin nearly threadbare, and the quilt things very tired (ripped on the inside). You shall have trouble controlling the air conditioning, as the thermostat is a bit wonky - either too cold or you stifle.
- I would suggest that you not ask for a room with a sea view, sounds nice but : you get all the traffic noise, and make to most of the very noisy fun faire that is on Manoel island. So you are going to be looking at a wall or roof tops.
- The restaurant:
Breakfast - Poor - If you want coffee then you have to pay for a cup, the liquid in the machines is bad, really bad. Poor choice of fruit and yoghurt. Fruit drinks are squash not juice. If you want healthy eating then your out of luck. Baked beans and toast are OK.
** a good point ** the girls who work for free in the restaurant are very pleasant and make up for a lot. Strange I thought that slavery was finished in Europe. Nice to be a trainee these days.
Half-board - don't.
The food is from a bad school canteen.
There is so much choice on the seafront of some really good food, don't waste you time here. You can go over to Valetta and get a banquet for 15 euros, or simply a great pasta dish in a pub for 10 € with a beer.
Oh! and if you have paid half-board, sorry for you mate, the drinks (including water) are extra but not too expensive.
- Everything has to be paid for!
WiFi = 2 € for 60 minutes - 5 € for 24 hours etc, and the bandwidth is slow haven't seen that since a 56k modem!
A safe in your room = 10€ deposit (OK) and 2.5 € per day. Who are the thieves?
Weigh your bag to take the plane = 1 €

Sorry but don't go as a happy couple, who ever didn't chose the hotel will not be happy about it!

Well I haven't written many reviews, but this was necessary.
Get your act together Mr hotel manager. You could have a good product, shame.

Room Tip: Sea view not a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike_Furieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time writing and submitting your review.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies in case your stay in the Bayview was not up to your expectations and we are also sorry if you did not research the Hotel before booking, as the points you have raised regarding the deposits and extra fees for certain facilities are highlighted on our official website and also our location.

The rest of your points have been forwarded for the Management.

We hope you understand that the Hotel is trying to offer as much as possible at affordable rates, however we are offering upgrades to higher category rooms and meals are also available in multiple restaurants in the Hotel building for those who would prefer not eating in the main restaurant.

Thank you for your stay, we sincerely hope that your holiday was overall enjoyable in Malta.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We really just needed a base for a week in Malta, and this hotel offered exactly what we needed.

We opted for the studio apartment, as we didn't really need much other than somewhere for our suitcases and a bed to sleep in.

The room was a nice size and we had a small balcony overlooking the street. There was a bit of a sea view to one side as an added bonus.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, and althougt slightly chaotic at breakfast time due to the restaurant being a bit on the small side for the number of guests, we enjoyed that time spent in the hotel.

I was not expecting cleaning every day, so it was a nice surprise to come back from our days out, to a clean room.
The electric apliances were a bit iffy, but we did manage to get the cooker working so we could have coffee in our room.

Shower was great and there was no lack of water pressure.

We did not use the pool area, as opening times were limited to 10am - 6pm. We were out when the area was open.

The Bayview is close to the ferries to Valetta and there is a bus stop for the airport bus just across the road.
Not too far to walk for restaurants and shopping, so all in all a great base for a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Majbritt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your posting your great review on Tripavisor.

We are glad that you have enjoyed staying in the Bayview Hotel & Apartments, also that you highlighted the location and the facilities of the studio apartment.

Thank you for your stay, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The bayview apartments were very nice. For the cheap price we were surprised how nice and big the apartment was. There were cups and plates missing but we managed fine. The pool is nice with a great view of the Sliema bay! It is quite a walk away from Paceville and the buses aren't that reliable so if you want to go out at night prepare yourself for a long walk! The only problem we had is that our keycards never worked, we had to get a new one every time we went back to the apartments. Other than that it was very clean and we had a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfanatic278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor,

It is very good to read that your stay in the Bayview was great and you have been satisfied with the apartment, location and facilities we offer at reasonable rates Please accept our apologies regarding the keycards.

From Gzira to Paceville, the shortest way is not on the coast but crossing the residential area in between. In case one would like to go or come back without taking that walk, our front office staff is glad to call a cab.

Thank you for your stay and review again.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having stayed at some of Malta's best hotels , over the last 6 or so years , i was a bit concerned about , my stay ,
But everything was fine , the Hotel was in a great location , and its only a short walk to the ferry ,
i would stay again , the room was quiet , the restaurant food (i had breakfast only) was great , i had the misfortune of an early breakfast further down the road in a (Propper Resturant ?) it was cold and foul
WI Fi works throughout the Hotel , shower was good , staff were ok , bit of a crush though at check in time

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and great review.

Your satisfaction is the most important for us, it is a pleasure to read that you have been satisfied with the room, breakfast and facilities we offer at a modest price.

Our apologies in case you had some difficulties during the check-in, the Bayview can get extremely busy during this time of the year.

We are glad that your stay with us was satisfying, even compared to the best hotels in Malta.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We travelled for a short break at the end of November and stayed here on recommendation and it was great for what we needed.
Check in was easy and the room was ok for what we wanted for the 3 nights, the view wasn't great but it was just a base so it didn't bother us at all.
The breakfast room was light and airy and there was a fairly good assortment of food. You can book trips from reception but just did our own in town.
There is a roof top pool and although the sun was shining in November, it wasn't sunbathing weather but it was a sun-trap so would be fab in the summer months.
The hotel is situated about a 20 minute walk to where the main area of Sliema is with all the shops and restaurants etc and then a further 10 minute walk to the shopping mall.

We paid for a 1 day hop-on hop-off bus pass which included a free bay cruise the following day. We visited Valletta, which is really nice and did a tour around the north of the island.
The bay cruise was very good too and you get to learn a lot about the island's history.

Overall a fab little short break but now i've been I don't think id go back

Room Tip: If a view is important then definitely pay more for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beebntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you have been enjoying your trip to Malta, staying in the Bayview in November.

You did well to go on excursions and used the free bay cruise, it is very interesting to learn about the history of Malta.

In case you would feel like returning to Malta for another short trip, do not hesitate to contact us, it will be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We choose this hotel with my sister and her friend, we get a studio apartment where we find all we need. It was pefectly cleen. The staff were friendly. The location was perfect because we found a bus stop at 500 meters. There are a lot of restaurant close.

Room Tip: Studio apartment are very good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helajallali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to hear about your satisfaction regarding the studio apartment and location, also thank you for mentioning the friendliness of our staff members.

Just a quick note, the nearest bus stop is not 500, but 5 meters away from the hotel, just turn right when you step out from the main entrance.

Thank you again for your stay and review, we sincerely hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I booked this trip in advance with friends with the intention of staying at a hotel that was not too expensive and that would give us the quality expected with a very cheap holiday. I was extremely disappointed by the hotel itself- most importantly with the staff. They are incompetent, rude and extremely self-righteous. A basic expectation was communication between staff and guests and none of that appeared to be taking place. I would not suggest it based on that alone. Now, the 2 bedroom sea-view apartment was definitely value for the money with the exclusion of service. It had what you needed, it may have not been fantastic in terms of infrastructure but you definitely had what you need.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniela_N1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you have been satisfied with the sea view apartment you booked, and you found everything you needed.

Meanwhile, please accept our sincere apologies in case you found some of our staff members. The way of communication is often misunderstood between guests and Mediterranean people who live and work here, as we share a different temper. Please rest assured that none of our employees meant to be rude towards you.

Thank you for your stay, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Address: 143, Triq Ix Xatt, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £24 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is ideally situated on the seafront, just 100 meters away from Sliema. It offers a variety of rooms that have balconies with sea views, side sea views and inland views, which can accommodate up to four persons. All rooms have the necessary commodities one would need whilst on holiday. The hotel is just a short walk away from Sliema. Sliema is one of Malta's busiest shopping areas with an array of shops, cafes and restaurants to suit every desire. Just a short drive away from the hotel is the St Julian's / Paceville area, which is the hub of nightlife, which includes various clubs as well as restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing