We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Depiro Point(Sliema)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Palace(Sliema)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$290
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Granny's Inn Hostel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,696)
Filter reviews
1,696 results
Traveller rating
231
580
464
238
183
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
580
464
238
183
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe bussea viewmanoel islandreception desksun loungerscleaned dailylounge areabars and restaurantscooked breakfastcleaned every dayoutdoor poollocal busesroof terracepublic transportcold meatsvallettaharbour
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 1,696 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2015

We had stayed at this hotel before, and were pleased to be returning. However, due to a mix up with our booking (the fault of our travel agent, not the hotel) we found on arrival that we had not been given the double room booked in the hotel, but had been allocated a studio apartment. Having checked in, we were taken to one of the worst apartments we have ever seen. The bathroom was no bigger than that on an airplane, and you couldn't close the door while sitting on the toilet. There were open pipes in the bathroom and you could hear the pipes from all the other apartments in the building. There was a tiny balcony overlooking the street, and the apartment could have done with a lick of paint. To cap it all, there was a strong smell of petrol pervading the apartment (which actually seemed to pervade the whole building, as a fire alarm went off at 7am the next morning, caused apparently by petrol fumes on the fourth floor). We went to reception immediately after the first night to complain, as we were not prepared to spend another night in this accommodation. We were told we couldn't move into the main hotel as it was fully booked, so we spent the first morning of our holiday traipsing around to look at the other apartments they had available. Eventually, we found, and moved, into one of the newer apartments that they have, and this was fine (apart from the fact that two plugs were hanging off the wall, the telephone didn't work, no hangers in the wardrobe and not enough towels). Plus on our second day, a party of 52 schoolchildren were moved into the apartments and woke us with their noise each morning at 7.30!! So, avoid the older apartments at all costs... in fact, it is unbelievable that the hotel is offering this sub-standard accommodation to its guests.. these apartments really are sub-standard and need complete renovation and refurbishment to make them habitable by humans. Another negative is that the indoor pool is only heated in the winter....we wanted to make use of it, but found that it was freezing cold! On the plus side, the hotel's Italian restaurant is very nice... good food, good staff. But we won't be staying at the hotel again... the reception staff did get us moved eventually, but didn't seem to go the extra mile (and the two gentlemen who checked us in on our first night were rather grumpy)! We spoke to some people who had stayed in the main hotel, and their experience was very different... lovely rooms and good value etc. So, if you are going to stay at this hotel, make absolutely sure that you get one of the new apartments or that you get a room in the main hotel. I doubt we would stay here again though as some of the other hotels along the same street seem to have more modern, and probably better, rooms and apartments available for a similar price.

Room Tip: Room in main hotel or new apartment
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseR205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

what a place three adults 2 teens we had an apartment with a sea view self catering cleaner in every day place well looked after staff were polite and helpful we are already trying to book our stay there this year shops and places to eat all within walking distance transport and taxis always easy to find there is also a lovey restaurant on site plus on floor 7 a small indoor pool and outdoor pool which we found very hard to leave there and go off for the day the kids loved it

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank micko986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Good morning

Thanks for choosing Bayview Hotel for your vacation and we are glad you and your family enjoyed it.

Hope to see you again with us

Thanks
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We paid extra for a harbour view and so we had a spectacular outlook. The room was clean and comfortable. Always had hot waster for the shower. The hotel staff were helpful, cheerful and friendly. The food was very good. I am a good cook and like good food, so enjoying the meals at the hotel meant that it was definitely good enough and enjoyable. The roof terrace on the 7th floor is a good space and the other terrace on the 6th floor is also a good space. although I didn't bring my costume, both the indoor and outdoor pools looked clean and inviting. The wifi was expensive. We paid €40 for two devices to be used in our room. The connection was ok but very poor compared to what we are used to. These days wifi ought to be free.

Room Tip: Definitely a harbour view. The rooms at the back of the hotel didn't look like they had any privacy or the outlook seemed very poor.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear Helen

Thanks for your review and comments well noted. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us while i am sorry for the wifi connection. As no one reported the matter in reception, our maint staff couldn't check it.

Thanks
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

I have just returned for a week staying here with my boyfriend. I booked the place on a deal with BA flights sale. I wasn't expecting great things, from previous reviews, but I found everything to be fine. Yes, it is budget accommodation, so don't go there expecting anything more. You have to pay for all extras, including remote control for TV (refundable deposit) and Wifi - there are plenty of cafe's around, including the one downstairs which have free wifi.

We had a large bedroom, perhaps it was an apartment as it had a little kitchenette area - although it was in the main hotel building, but in a block at the back. It was clean and in fine repair - yes, it could have done with a lick of paint, but this was no bother to us. It was cleaned daily to a good standard. The bed, however, wasn't good. It was 2 singles pushed together (a pet hate) so invariably one of us ended up in the gap between at some point during the night. The sheets weren't fitted sheets and the pillows were bunchy - but we slept fine. It was dark and quiet, except for the air con sound, but you soon channel that out.
Our balcony was nice, with 2 nice chairs and a table, and good views over the houses of Sliema. Good shower power too.
Our booking was bed only, and on the first day we did decide to try to the in-hotel breakfast. Don't. It's much better to go to the cafe next door - Sorrisi - for an iced coffee and croissant to start the day.
Although we didn't use it, the rooftop swimming pool looked amazing. Great views.

One negative - the website says they have parking facilities, but they absolutely don't.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Miranda872015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and nice comments. Around the hotel we have ample space for parking and thus we never said we have a reserved parking space.

Thanks
Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015

On arrival reception was busy but we were booked in pretty quickly. Our first room was on the 5th floor at the back of the hotel. First impressions of the room was that it was large enough for the two of us but could certainly do with redecorating and a deep clean. There was no view (apart from the balconies of the other rooms). However, we didn't pay for a sea view and didn't anticipate spending most of our holiday stuck inside. The next morning we noticed a couple of ants in the bathroom and discovered that the floor in the apartment was infested with them, when moving a pair of shoes from the floor. We mentioned it to the cleaner and she seemed to be fully aware of the problem, as she tried explaining that she was going to spray the room with insect repellant as she had the day before. This was not going to solve the problem because by now the insects were all over our suitcases and anything else that had been left on the floor. We complained at reception who were very helpful and offered to move us to another room. This happened fairly quickly and after repacking staff helped us to move, although we found who we assumed to be the head of housekeeping a little dismissive when she came to check the room we were vacating. To be honest they shouldn't have been using this room if they were already aware of the problem.
Our second room was on the 6th floor and again the room was very tired looking. The bathroom walls were mouldy and floor tiles were either cracked or chipped. The rooms were "cleaned" daily and towels were changed if required but whenever we returned to our room the apartment floor seemed to be scattered with more hair than when we left. We found a majority of the staff to be pleasant and helpful. We used the outdoor pool once which was adequate but busy, so we can only imagine this area to be packed in the height of summer.
The hotel was ideally situated on the strand and within walking distance of most of the cafes and restaurants. If you only use the hotel as a base and can look beyond the average cleaning routine then this is the hotel to suit you. If you have higher standards you should consider elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews