We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for those on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good hotel for those on a budget”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed for a total of 9 nights. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment but when we checked in they gave us a hotel room instead. Spoke to reception and they said the room was not available until tomorrow. We moved to the 1 bed apartment the following day (they moved our luggage for us)... it was basic but spacious, and good for our needs and budget. Was clean except for the floors which were quite dirty (we know this as we have an infant daughter who was crawling around everywhere!)... Decent location, close to the ferry for Valletta and buses around the Island. Foodie tip: eat at the Basilico restaurant (part of the Waterfront hotel just down the road) very good pizza and pasta!!
I would recommend staying here if you want a decent budget option.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    520
    401
    206
    161
See reviews for
292
666
112
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I stayed this hotel for 3 nights, and let me dislike Malta. When I arrived at first night, I'd like to rent a motocycle, but I didn't know how to get it, so I asked the stuff of hotel, the staff said they have service for help customer to rent the motorcycle, he said I'll get it tomorrow. In second day,because this hotel gave me a smoking room,not I ordered the non-smoking room, so second day morning I spent my time to change room and washed my clothes~ so I didn't have time to check the motorcycle.Finally I went out and rode the motorcycle in the afternoon,I found out the motorcycle didn't have backsight mirror, I told the staff of hotel, she said is NOT HER PROBLEM, she said I must call the rent store by myself~ When I was angry and yelled in the lobby, and other customers came in, she finally call the rent store came to hotel arrange it~ Another thing is the quilt in the room is very dirty~When I went out or came in the hotel, I always saw their pate, not their face, they never said hallo, good morning something like that~ In the hotel in Italy, I never see this situation~And the hotel doesn't have Parking service~

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeyers1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Having read the reviews of this hotel, I was fairly confident that we had found ourselves a nice place on the Strand, Sliema. Unfortunately, what they don't tell you when you book the accommodation is that they have a stinky little "dungeon" a couple of streets back where you will be taken on arrival. Our room absolutely stunk to high heaven of damp. The curtains, the wardrobes and the bed were all smelly. Even after keeping our clothing in our suitcases to protect them from the smell, it still managed to seep through. On arrival our towels were stained and ripped. After politely mentioning this at the reception, we returned to our room to find they had been replaced with even dirtier towels. To top it all off, we had no way of opening our curtains as the only window in our room was an internal window that faced directly into the main foyer. Anyone still wishing to visit this hotel following this review, please ensure your accommodation is in the actual hotel and not in the "dungeon".

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wires_R_Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontivy, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

After reading the website reviews for this hotel appartments we were very surprised at the size and quality of the 2 bedroomed apartment we stayed in. It was equipped with air con,2 bathroom/shower rooms, massive balcony, tv, full cooker, microwave, fridge freezer and a washing machine. The linen was changed every few days, beds, cleaning and bins were dealt with every day of our stay. Everything we booked through the hotel went very smoothly - i.e. cot for the baby, airport taxi included baby car seat etc.
We would not hesitate to recommend the facilities to friends and family, or anyone else.
Big thank you to Bayview!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leo2010562712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We booked a Studio with kitchenette and balcony, but were taken to a large apartment five side streets away with two double bedrooms,kitchen/diner, huge lounge, and an appalling bathroom; toilet very badly stained even the seat, disgusting, hard to flush and slow to fill. When we complained we were asked to see Manager in morning, which we did. The Acting Manager did not comment on our complaint but showed us to another room in the main hotel which had kitchenette and side seaview balcony. Apart from the "side seaview" it was exactly what we had booked, BUT WE HAD TO PAY 120 EUROS extra for the upgrade.
Restaurant and breakfast ws fine, our room was cleaned nearly every day and everything worked
On our return to UK our Travel Agent applied to the hotel for a refund of 120 euros but the hotel refused.
It is my opinion that this hotel makes extra profit by allotting visitors incorrect accommodation when they arrive and then upgrading them at an extra charge when they complain.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Booked this through Travel Republic who we had used previously 3 times. We booked a studio with kitchenette and balcony. When we arrived we were escorted to a 2 bedroom apartment 5 streets away that we had not booked. The apartment was dirty and the bathroom was horrible. After complaining it was not what we had booked we were forced to pay 120.00 euros to upgrade to a sea view room at the hotel. This room was great but we would have been happy without the sea view. Once moved we enjoyed our holiday, but would not have enjoyed it if we had been forced to stay in the apartment. I would not book this hotel again for fear of having the same situation. Toilet photo attached is from the apartment - need I say more. Travel Republic have washed their hands of our complaint on our return when we tried to get reimbursed.

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank soniagibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

this is a nice hotel central to all of malta worth paying extra for balcony i've stated superb value for money which it is but, you must remember this is a 3star hotel not 5star some people complain but you must remember the cost of your holiday if you want 5star service then you need to pay a lot more at this hotel the staff are all friendly and very helpful all our needs and reqiurements were met nothing was too much for them the room was ample for our stay cleaned daily clean bedding and towels when required we stayed half board our only gripe with the food was everyrhing had some form of spicey sauce added to it but they cater for all nationalities NOT JUST FISH AND CHIP BRITISH the same goes for breakfat which is continental but, we never went hungry we spent 2weeks and had a very enjoyable holiday the hotel does not have any sort of entertainment except for music played daily at poolside which is based on the roof of the hotel for those who are self catering the apartments are not based in the hotel but up side roads so do not be disappointed though we did find out they are equiped with everything including washing machine from what we could hear during conversations that people staying in them appeared to be quite pleased having said all this we do feel duty bound to let you know this hotel appears to be one that is popular to people from germany more than anywhere this did not spoil our holiday (apart from having to eat our meals with people that have bad dress sense LOL!!!!!) during your stay in malta we advice you tour on the yellow buses very cheap not the sightseeing buses as when you get off them it's difficult to get back on the jeep safari is a must it costs 50euro's and is fantastic value you get to see the whole island a 3course lunch and if you get alfredo fantastic company from a guide who knows the whole island and will show you all points of interest (book this through captain morgan cruises ) sliema is very quiet at night if you want more entertainment head for st julians which is very lively only expense are taxi's which seem to be 20euro's at any time hope this info has helped you...............enjoy your hol's and remeber this is not a country for those who want beach holiday this is more of a quiet historical country that you must respect has strong religious beliefs but not overpowering

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suedave50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Property: Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Address: 143, Triq Ix Xatt, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is ideally situated on the seafront, just 100 meters away from Sliema. It offers a variety of rooms that have balconies with sea views, side sea views and inland views, which can accommodate up to four persons. All rooms have the necessary commodities one would need whilst on holiday. The hotel is just a short walk away from Sliema. Sliema is one of Malta's busiest shopping areas with an array of shops, cafes and restaurants to suit every desire. Just a short drive away from the hotel is the St Julian's / Paceville area, which is the hub of nightlife, which includes various clubs as well as restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing