We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 11 December 2011

my wife and i went to malta for my birthday this december and stayed at the strand service was good food was very good couldnt fault it would go again any time

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband and I went to Malta on a quick weekend getaway, and we so pleased with this hotel. We paid 60 euros for two nights booking on the hotel's own website. November is a low season in Malta, so the hotel was not completely booked, so when we arrived, the friendly staff upgraded us to a large suite with a kitchenette and a view overlooking the harbor and Valletta across the water. The view was BEAUTIFUL.

As for the accommodations - the bathroom was quite small, and the room was clean but could have used a little pick-me-up. The hotel breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was included in the amazing price.

The friendly staff speaks Malti, English, Italian and French impeccably! For the price we paid, we were so happy with our choice and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room to make this hotel worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelotz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We spent a week on Malta mid November looking for a very cheap late break and we found it here. The hotel is basic but we had a good sized double room with en suite showerroom and mini balcony. The breakfast was adequate and we could eat out on the 8th floor rooftop terrace with fantastic waterfront view. All in Euro 12 per night! What can you expect for that price? Malta comes in 3 parts: the "Costa" style resorts of Sliema, San Giljan and Buggiba; the undeveloped and beautiful south coast and then Gozo. In the height of season the Costa resorts must be appalling but off season they are quiet though theer are few decent restaurants unless you are into fast food or pub grub. Don't expect Maltese tradiional food..everything comes with chips! The bus service is fantastic linking every part of the islands for €2.60 a day but beware the timetables are fictitious!!
On balance if you want a very cheap break in an interesting place you should be happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor. There are mini apartments which looked OK but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time you've taken to give us feedback on your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your lovely comments we apologise if the stay was not to your full expectations.

We at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites do our utmost to ensure our guests are comfortable in their rooms, in fact we have just renovated the whole hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Malta.

Kind regards

Bridget Bonavia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Awful! Too many things to write here, lifts not working and the breakfast is on the top floor, we asked how to get to the airport and was told we would have to catch a bus into the capital and then another bus to the airport, when we asked could we organise a taxi or shuttle they said "No, not through us" even though there was a sign next to them that said organise your taxi through us to the airport, and then when we went outside there was a bus stop right outside that had a bus straight to the airport, on one of the nights there was a party in the room next to us at 2.30am I rang the desk who just said I will try and look into it, 3 phone calls and 1.5 hours later at 4 in the morning they bothered to come up and tell the people to be quite
The first day they didn't clean our rooms till 7pm! so the next day we slept in till 12 (due to the loud noises next door all night) and the cleaners came at 12 and were rude to us about us still being there when they wanted to clean our rooms!
Please don't put yourself through staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Exploretravelphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115owner, Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Dear Sir / Madame,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We would like to inform you that from 2016 the hotel is now completley refurbished and freshly desgined.

Should you consider to return to Malta, we would be happy to welcome you again at the 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites to exceed your expectations.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have just come back from spending a week (18-25 Oct) at this hotel. I booked via easyjet holidays and frankly after reading some of the reviews on here did not expect too much for the price we paid. We had requested a seaview room and we were put in one on the first night (we arrived late- 10.30pm) on the third floor. It was cold and very noisy and was on the same floor as the green neon sign on the hotel's facade. I told the night desk clerk that we had requested an upper floor and he told me to see reception in the morning as at that time there wasn't much he could do. Next morning after a disturbed night (traffic noise etc) I went down to reception and was offered not just another room but a choice of two. One on the 5th floor and one on the 6th floor. We took the one on the 6th floor- room 613 with a 'side' sea view. I preferred it as the view was better, looking along the strand and over to the capital Valleta. The room was much bigger also and had a sort of corridor which meant the room itself seemed much larger than the standard seaview rooms. We also has a fridge (although you have to pay to use it). Seemingly this is normal in Malta where you get a basic price for a room and then all the extras are added like fridge,room safe, tv control etc. We only paid for the fridge and did not use the other 'amenities'. I was impressed by the way the room change was handled. The breakfast on the top floor is in a large bright room with an impressive terrace with a view towards Valleta. It had all the usual continental breakfast offerings and the highlight was the coffee machine which was first rate. The staff were friendly and polite but the speed at which they replaced the food, cups and plates meant that many people ended up having to drink coffee from small glasses on occasion. Simply having more cups would be a simple way to avoid having to wash them up while breakfast is being served!!! One thing that needs to be mentioned is the behaviour of the kitchen hand who occasionally would come out to the breakfast room and change trays. He had the unpleasant habit of picking his nose when he thought people were not watching and on one occasion picked up both ham and cheese with his (dirty) hands. As you can imagine I stopped eating these after I had seen this happen twice. He needs to stay in the kitchen in his stained t-shirt and leave the changing of trays to the waiting staff. The room was changed daily (sheets and towels) and we were very happy with the housekeeping even if they need a mould remover for the bathroom. The lack of proper ventilation in some of the rooms is the main problem and in bathrooms an extractor fan is essential when two people are using the toilet!!!!!!! In the first room we were in there was no fan and it was most unpleasant. The front desk staff were always polite and very efficient even the man who works at night who incidentally was having a screaming match with some Italian teenagers when we arrived. He chucked them out of the hotel and we still don't know why that happened, but immediately afterwards dealt with us in a courteous and efficient manner if a little gruff.. All in all it was much better than I had read on this site but I think your experience very much depends on the room you end up in. My top tip is room 613 in the side extension it is not as noisy and has a better view than the standard rooms which actually look at Manoel island not Valletta which is behind the island. The location of the hotel is perfect as it is within walking distance of everything you would need for transport-buses ferries etc. I would recommend this hotel for a budget holiday even though it could do with a little updating- it was fine for a week's stay.

Room Tip: For the hotel-upper floors seaview rooms especially room 613
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robsurmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I went to Malta without expectations but assuming that an EU country in the middle of summer season (July 2008) would be at least good for the price we have paid via online booking. Then it came a very disappointing surprise. Very impolite front desk personnel, 3 star hotel where the third star is definitely not deserved, extremely untidy rooms, and low level of cleaning service throughout the entire stay in the hotel, mold in shower cabin and single air conditioning device from early 80's, loud and very inefficient considering the outside temperatures. Come on, invest 200 EUR per air-conditioning device and clean the rooms properly... this is the minimum you can do for your guests...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marko-Caco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your experiences.

We are very sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I will pass on all your comments to the prospective departments so that we can work out all the issues mentioned in your review.

We do hope that we are given another opportunity to proof a better service especially since we have recently renovated our hotel.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Spent four nights at the Strand in September 2011 and found the room we had to be small, especially the bathroom but clean, if a little dated. We had a basic room, which overlooked a dingy ventelation shaft but considering the amount of time we spent in the room, that didn't matter too much. What did matter was being situated right under the dining room and being woken up very early by a series of bangs and clatters as they prepared the room for breakfast. On the subject of breakfast, it was fine but not a great choice.

Silema itself is very lively, plenty of late night bars open and this hotel is in a good location, right by the harbour and with easy access to Valetta. I would stay here again but this time I'd make sure we had a room with a view.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjjjjjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time you've taken to give us feedback on your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your lovely comments we apologise if the stay was not to your full expectations.

We at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites do our utmost to ensure our guests are comfortable in their rooms, in fact we have just renovated the whole hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Malta.

Kind regards

Bridget Bonavia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,080 reviews
0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites

Address: 115 The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £28 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites is perfectly situated on the Sliema Seafront, close to various bus stops and the Sliema Ferries, allowing easy access to some of Malta's hot spots. What's more, this superior three star hotel is within walking distance of Sliema Centre Shopping hub and the Sliema promenade which is very popular for its cafes, restaurants, shops and bars to relax and soak up the sun. Enjoy browsing the web free of charge in our medium sized lobby which offers a 24 hour reception desk, or enjoy a snack and a coffee served from our café between eight in the morning up to late in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
115 The Strand Aparthotel Hotel Il Gzira
115 The Strand Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel And Suites Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing