We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“115 The Strand Aparthotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“115 The Strand Aparthotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great location within Sliema, making it easy to reach all that Malta has to offer. The hotel looks out upon the harbour, with stunning view of Valetta across the water. The customer service was second to none and I truly enjoyed my stay and would recommend 115 The Strand to anyone that wants excellent Maltese hospitality and easy access to everything.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    440
    263
    110
    83
See reviews for
179
520
99
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Having no previous experience of Malta we opted to book with Chevron, the company whose adverts seem to have cornered the market in the newspaper holiday pages. First good choice. The transfers were prompt and efficient and all contacts with their staff were very helpful.
I read the information on the hotels on offer and made our choice on the bases of accessibility to transport (not too far from the airport and close enough to the local transport system) as I don't walk as well as I used to. Second good choice. The trips by bus around the island, the short ferry crossing across the harbour all started within an easy walking distance and the local bus-stop was just across the road. By the way, a day-ticket for 2.60 euros is a bargain.
We needed some sunlight after our grim winter and spring, so a front room with a sea view seemed worthwhile. A brilliant third good choice. We had a double room, but the other two rooms along the front of the building (on each floor) are one bedroom apartments.
From the point of having to go out each evening to find somewhere to eat after possibly a heavy day's walking, we opted for the half-board option. A superb fourth good choice. The dining room up on the 8th floor roof terrace had a very good view out over the harbour with enough shelter from the evening breezes.. . . . and for the cost of the upgrade to half board it was a bargain, as we loved the service, the staff's helpful attitude . . . . . and the food was really good and tasty.
All-in-all a great choice of hotel, but I must agree that the sea view from the front of the building was essential to complete the package.
So, yes, on all counts . . . . a good choice.

Room Tip: A front room with a sea view makes all the difference to your enjoyment of this hotel and its facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

When we arrived in Sliema we were very tired so we really appreciated the kind and helpful way we were dealt with by the receptionist and the manager. The restaurant staff were some of the friendliest and helpful we have met in a long time. Unfortunately the air conditioning was not functioning as effectively as we would have liked. The mattresses do need to be changed as we could feel the springs. The cost was good value so we didn,t complain about the beds. The view from the dining room was amazing.We really enjoyed seeing it as we were eating. The Romanian waiter was pleasant and friendly as were the Spanish waitresses.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view as it can be depressing in a dark room .Also it was hot in ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time you've taken to give us feedback on your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your lovely comments we apologise if the stay was not to your full expectations.

We at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites do our utmost to ensure our guests are comfortable in their rooms, in fact we have just renovated the whole hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Malta.

Kind regards

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

It was the worst hotel i have ever stayed. the first night we received a room with the courtyard, which was like the size of the elevator shaft and above us was 7 floors, so no air or sunshine was coming to our room. Moreover, this "courtyard " was full of culverts with rushing water .Furthermore, we felt the burning plastic stink and the heat from the air conditionier shaft and behind the wall could be heard outside blustering fan sound. Room was changed, but reluctantly. Another room at least was worth the price paid, while still all the time the fan noise was heard, the bed mattress was so old, that we felt the springs, the room was very small and no refrigerator or kitchen tool. However,I could not find any wrong comment about this hotel before going there, but if you want to ruin your vacation, I would highly recommend this hotel. You can find some photos of these perfect courtyards as they call this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nereite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115owner, Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 9 July 2016
Dear Sir / Madame,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We would like to inform you that from 2016 the hotel is now completley refurbished and freshly desgined.

Should you consider to return to Malta, we would be happy to welcome you again at the 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites to exceed your expectations.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have just returned from a short break to Malta (4 nights) as we couldn't get away for longer and we were very happy at 115 The Strand. We booked through Chevron so opted for a sea view room, b & b. We were on the 2nd.floor so had splendid views across to Manoel Island and Valletta. The weather was fantastic so we had breakfast and dinner sitting outside in the roof terrace restaurant on the 8th.floor. We opted to eat in for dinner (9.90 euros less 10% disc.per person) and were more than happy with the choices and the restaurant staff were very friendly and obliging. Our criteria was for somewhere with a sea view, clean and easy to get out and about from, relaxed and informal. We never bother about the t.v. so can pass no comment on that! Spent 3 days exploring the island with the ridiculously cheap day bus ticket (2.60 euros) Tip: - the buses into Valletta direct are often full so it is often easier to get the bus to the hospital (Mater Dei) and then from the hospital to Valletta - better than standing squashed like cattle in a truck!! Hope to go back next year for another short break.I have rated it average for sleep quality only because Sliema never sleeps so there is always some outside noise but that is the nature of a hotel room on the Strand and we especially wanted a sea view!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolkmawther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was a return visit to Malta for us. I was travelling with my elderly Mother and Father. I found the Strand on the internet, and read many of the review, some justified and some not so. From my Vary first interaction with Pauline Paris and her team, I knew I ahd picked the right place. They were very friendly and helpful and indeed assisted us with our booking very smoothly. We arrived late on the Saturday evening and there was an evening shift receptionist on. We had upgraded our original booking from a rear Studio to a front of hotel Sea View Apartment. Unfortunately there had been a mix up and we were in the studio on the First night,.The staff were extremely apologetic. The Next morning we were moved with no fuss and a refund of the cost of 1 nights stay was refunded. When we opened the door and saw the sea view it made everything else seem so trivial. It was beautiful. Pauline and her team were excellent, and really made our holiday worthwhile. 115 the Strand will be a definite destination for us again in the future, we were just sad we didn't book for two weeks. The only negative was the food in the evening, and the food was not great, but then again it was very cheaply priced, Breakfast was great with plenty to choose from. There are two shops and a cafe on site and these provide with you lots of bit and pieces that you might need. We will for sure be staying with Pauline and team again. My mom loved it and she can be hard to please some times, but as she said, she could relax with a glass of wine in the evening on the balcony looking at the Marina of Maneol Island, Valletta and the sea front of Sliema and it made life seem so much better. The hotel can book any tour you want around the island and can sort out car hire and so on and there is bus stops right across the road. My mom got a bit of cold for a couple of day and the staff were very helpful with the pharmacy and so on and each day we were asked how she was feeling. I would say that the bed linen should be changed more regularly also, but this is only a minor thing. I did however manage to over hear a rather load English couple making a complaint over what appeared to be a rather trivial thing regarding the television. The were quite load and obnoxious. However the receptionist handled the matter in a very professional and friendly way and never once reacted to what was an unfounded and apparently unreasonable complaint. I was very impressed by this. It was the only time I heard anyone staying there have any complaint. We had a television in our room and the remote was obtained form the reception with a €20.00 deposit. (there must have been issues in the past) however we never turned the TV on one once, why would you want to with such a beautiful view outside your balcony door. But on the whole, we thought it was an excellent place to stay. Close to bus and the seafront of Sliema, views of Valletta, restaurants and bars in Sliema, great friendly and professional staff, and great value for money. I would however highly recommend only booking a sea view one bedroom apartment. Trust me it is money well spent. Thank you 115 the Strand, we can wait to book with you again and looking forward to a two week stay next year

Room Tip: Book only a Seaview One Bedroom Apartment. That is not to say a rear studio is not comfortable but l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel is very confortable, service is very kind and breakfast as how I was especting, served on a terrance with a fantastic view on the bay.
Its location is at walking distance from bus stop, and buses from there can takes you everywhere on the island.
Really an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Absolutely ask to have a roos with sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,896 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites

Property: 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Address: 115 The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites is perfectly situated on the Sliema Seafront, close to various bus stops and the Sliema Ferries, allowing easy access to some of Malta's hot spots. What's more, this superior three star hotel is within walking distance of Sliema Centre Shopping hub and the Sliema promenade which is very popular for its cafes, restaurants, shops and bars to relax and soak up the sun. Enjoy browsing the web free of charge in our medium sized lobby which offers a 24 hour reception desk, or enjoy a snack and a coffee served from our café between eight in the morning up to late in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
115 The Strand Aparthotel Hotel Il Gzira
115 The Strand Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel And Suites Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing