We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a bargain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Tumbulgum, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“What a bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel via Agoda with a sea view room for $30 AUD, breakfast $6.50AUD each, internet 1st device $11AUD, 2nd device $3.50AUD per day. Great location, no parking on site, you have to park on the street, heaps of bars, restaurants, public transport, mini market for food, water, etc. Clean, great value and friendly staff

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    410
    244
    107
    75
See reviews for
162
486
94
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was really a last minute trip. Booked on Monday 21st to arrive Wednesday 23rd. Booked direct with the hotel. They responded in minutes and confirmed shortly afterwards. From their response we booked a taxi from the airport due to our late arrival. Again, confirmed immediately. On arrival at the airport the taxi was waiting. The hotel were great when we arrived. The room with sea view was just what we wanted. It was good to wake up to the next morning. We had breakfast every day and it was good and varied. The dining room staff were very friendly and sitting outside overlooking the bay was a pleasure. The room was very clean and everything was changed every day. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The TV was useful for catching up with the news and the deposit was not a problem for the specialised remote control. The two shops attached to the hotel, BooknBites and gift shop are good and have a good selection of all you will need. Gifts, snacks and a nice coffee to drink outside and watch the world go by. There is a sightseeing stand across the road run by Caroline who is very helpful and will keep you right on the best tours and local attractions. She really knows her stuff. All in all it was a great long weekend and I look forward to going back to Malta and will definitely stay at this hotel. Full marks to all at 115 The Strand. The Wi-Fi worked well.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with the bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived late the evening before we were to check in our main holiday hotel. Having not stayed this part of the island I thought it would be a good taster of the area. We only paid €35 for three in a triple room with breakfast included so an absolute bargain. We got to bed just after midnight and was woken up suddenly to a full musical male version of Adele's 'only the best for you' can't remember the rest of the song as this was the part he seemed to sing over and over and over again. It was also accompanied by a multitude of showering, visits to the toilet by fellow hotel visitors of which we could hear every effort they made in their morning duties. On further inspection it seems the unlock able patio door was ajar the whole night and we faced out onto a 6ft square of walls which housed about 8 story's of bathrooms with one very loud communal down pipe. We had an earlier breakfast than planned. Staff were friendly, we were provided a place to store our luggage and they ordered a taxi for us to move on to our next location.

Room Tip: Not a room in the middle of the hotel and make sure everything works before settling down for the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liketoholidayBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time you've taken to give us feedback on your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your lovely comments we apologise if the stay was not to your full expectations.

We at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites do our utmost to ensure our guests are comfortable in their rooms, in fact we have just renovated the whole hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Malta.

Kind regards

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Strand Aparthotel from 23 October - 28th October although the hotel is situated in a good location to travel around Malta the hotel itself has poor facillaties the beds were very uncomfortable, the AC only came on at certain times, the TV was very small and you were required to pay a deposit in order to watch it and breakfast was basic and repatitivie. On a plus side the waitors at breakfast - Jason was very friendly and helpful!! He always made an effort to talk to you and ensured you were ok. The room was kept clean daily.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash12199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you very much for taking your time to review your experiences.

We are very sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I will pass on all your comments to the prospective departments so that we can work out all the issues mentioned in your review.

We do hope that we are given another opportunity to proof a better service especially since we have recently renovated our hotel.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I returned yesterday from a week here and the review by Brenda W is totally spot on. The lack of a bar anywhere for guests to sit and chat to each other is the only let down. Surely they only have to watch their own guests using the services at The Waterfront Hotel to realise how easy this is to rectified. The roof terrace has stunning views and would have been lovely to use if you could get coffees or a drink (like the guests through the fence on the roof top of the Hotel Kennedy Nova). The jacuzzi looked so tempting as the weather was much hotter than expected but there were always a lot of large dead insects on the surface and no means of clearing them. There is an old drink vending machine on the roof which despite asking about several times remained turned off for 5 days before loading it with about 12 cans. Even then there was no provision of plastic glasses to use.
They advertise Free WiFi but everyone I spoke to found the same as myself that you could only get a connection when at the reception but it was so poor it disconnected within about a minute. We had a side room on the 6th floor in the annexe which I requested and had a larger balcony than some of those at the front. The room was cleaned daily and staff were really friendly. Some of the apartments have only internal windows which won't be to everone's taste but at least this is mentioned in the hotel write ups. At the end of the day this is only classed as a 2 ** and with a cheap flight I would have no hesitation returning.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise; I asked to be situated away from lifts which meant we had very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegean_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel has a fantastic view of the Sliema harbour. Plenty to see from the sea view balconies. Well worth paying extra for sea view rooms. Hotel was very clean with comfy beds. Breakfast was very acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room on upper floor as traffic is busy in front of hotel. 403, 503,603
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy777Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

The room and whole hotel in general was spotless but there's nothing to make you want to spend a day there really.
We got a studio equipped with 2 ring hob, fridge and a sink. None of the studios have sea views, only the apartments and a few rooms have the views of Valletta. Housekeeping are good and clean daily.
The roof terrace is lovely but strangely and poorly operated. It says it's open from 9am-5pm but there's nothing to "open". There's a lovely plunge pool/cold spa, seats and tables for 60 crammed in but only 5 sunloungers. You walk through the breakfast and dinner area to get to it. There is a bar (for the evening meals I assume) but none of this is open during the day, so if you want any drink or food, even water, you have to go the ground floor where there is a cafe dominating the pavement, squeezed between the hotel entrance and road. The terrace is nice but the cleaner comes out between 11am and 1pm and does a great job if cleaning but stacks all the furniture in the corner so if you're there before them you're left feeling like you're in the way on your own sunlounger/chair island while they go around for 2 hours. I don't know why it's advertised from 9am. Then the rest of the staff come out for lunch cooked by the chef who us in there all day preparing dinner and staff lunch but unable to even make a toastie for guests. They sit for an hour chatting away again just making you feel like you're intruding on their cafeteria. Then at 5pm you're asked to leave so the restaurant indoors can open. You only have to look over the barrier to the next hotel 2 feet away that has a well run roof terrace with pool, plenty of loungers, a staffed cafe/bar, a manageable number of tables and ambient music. It's not difficult to get right and it's a shame as if they did this well the place would feel much more welcoming and would be giving a much better review.
We didn't eat in the restaurant because it was a very limited set menu.
Sorry if that seemed abit if a rant, the place isn't bad at all but I would have been very disappointed if I'd paid more, it was an average, at best, base for our holiday. We left with a feeling if what it could have been so I gave it an average 3 out of 5.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brend W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time you've taken to give us feedback on your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your lovely comments we apologise if the stay was not to your full expectations.

We at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites do our utmost to ensure our guests are comfortable in their rooms, in fact we have just renovated the whole hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Malta.

Kind regards

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites

Property: 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Address: 115 The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR1027, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites is perfectly situated on the Sliema Seafront, close to various bus stops and the Sliema Ferries, allowing easy access to some of Malta's hot spots. What's more, this superior three star hotel is within walking distance of Sliema Centre Shopping hub and the Sliema promenade which is very popular for its cafes, restaurants, shops and bars to relax and soak up the sun. Enjoy browsing the web free of charge in our medium sized lobby which offers a 24 hour reception desk, or enjoy a snack and a coffee served from our café between eight in the morning up to late in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
115 The Strand Aparthotel Hotel Il Gzira
115 The Strand Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel And Suites Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing